Girls Night Out

14 Mar

I decided around 12:30 yesterday I was not going to run the Run to the Plunge 5K. We were having downpours and heavy winds here, and I decided my health was more important for next week’s race in NYC. Around 2, the sun came out but one of my friends told me it had been canceled anyway, so no regrets!

So I headed out for a solo 5K run since the sun had come out. I thought I had spent a lot of time stretching beforehand, but my hamstrings were really tight for the first mile, and then by 1.5 miles, my left knee started giving out. I slowed down my run to a shuffle to see if it would go away, and it didn’t. I started walking for a bit and tried running again several times, and my knee kept giving out every time. So I started walking all the way home (another half mile). By the time I got close to my house, I started another run, and my knee felt fine and didn’t give out. But when I got home, I still elevated and iced it for about a half hour.

I had plans of meeting my friends Missy and Ellen at a local Mexican restaurant at 5:45, but I wanted to make a quick stop at the running store to pick up a 13.1 magnet for my car. It’s well deserved, I think!

I also wanted another pair of socks, so I picked up this pair of pink-lined Balegas.

Dinner was delicious and an excellent time to catch up on life with my girls. We caught the 7:10 showing of Alice in Wonderland afterwards.

I must have been really tired because I ended up closing my eyes several times and took a few naps. The movie was good, but I felt like I was on sensory overload. Johnny Depp was excellent as the Mad Hatter! I missed the Hatter’s squeaky voice though. I really expected a lot more from the movie… not sure what though.. just more?! I much prefer the made-for-TV 1985 version. Do you all remember this one?

Ok, time to clean the house!

6 Responses to “Girls Night Out”

  1. John March 14, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    You stretch before running? I hope after warming up first.

    I was told by our running coach(multi-marathon runner) not to stretch before running as when your body is cold or tight the stretching can injure you. She said to stretch after running or at least after warming up a bit.

    Just some info for you to ponder as I know lots of runners do stretch before and do fine with it.

    I hope your knee isn’t anything serious!!

  2. JC March 14, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Must’ve been one of those running days… do you normally ice after a run or just when injured/ not up to running 100%? I’ve read on a couple blogs that they always ice after running.

  3. Jules March 14, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Nice sticker! I can’t wait to get one when I finish my race πŸ™‚ We were at the running store today to pick up some gu and body glide and Bob said he saw you yesterday πŸ™‚ He is so nice and helpful! I hope your knee doesn’t hurt anymore. And I can’t wait to hear how you do in NYC after running a half already! πŸ™‚

  4. Caren March 15, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Balega socks are my favorite! I need some more. I am enjoying all your posts about the half-marathon. I want to see Alice in Wonderland but my sister and dad said they though it might be too much for my son so I might have to wait for video.

  5. Cassie March 16, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    Congrats on your magnet! You definitely deserved it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Knee pain has subsided! « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 15, 2010

    […] 15, 2010 by runeatdatesleep After my failed run on Saturday, I was so afraid I’d have to bail on the NYC Half Marathon this Sunday because of some […]

Leave a Reply

