Knee pain has subsided!

15 Mar

After my failed run on Saturday, I was so afraid I’d have to bail on the NYC Half Marathon this Sunday because of some unexplained knee pain. But I headed to the Y tonight for a short treadmill run. I warmed up first then stretched as John suggested. I think this worked well. I always thought my ten years of stretching then warming up was a good thing, but I shall try this from now on as it seemed to help.

I did 2.74 miles in 35 minutes (5 minute warm-up, 25 minute run with 2 walk breaks, and 3 minute cool down), a 12:54 pace, which I don’t think is too bad considering that pace includes my warm-up and cool down. I completely forgot to check my mileage after the warm-up to see how far the run actually was. Whoops!

Tonight was also my first run with my Princess race shirt

I obviously produce a ridiculous amount of sweat. My review of this shirt- itchy and short. But I liked the v-neck after all. I can see myself in the mirror in front of me while I run, and it was rather cool to see my collar bones for once. They used to be kinda non-existent.

It seems as though my knee pain has subsided. Crossing my fingers it does not return. I’ll be icing it a little before bed tonight.

6 days until the NYC Half Marathon. My friends Ellen and Holly are coming with me, and we’re leaving on Friday afternoon. Holly found an amazing deal on our room in the city! I’m so excited to spend the weekend in the city with my girlfriends! I’ve only taken day trips, so this is a first! But I’m stressing out.. I need to revise my packing list, go grocery shopping for snacks and such, and start packing. Leading up to the race, I’m going to spend 20 minutes every night before bed doing some hip openers and stretches.

Ok, time to hit the hay. I need to start getting to bed earlier!

11 Responses to “Knee pain has subsided!”

  1. John March 15, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    I’m so glad your knee is doing well. Hopefully you have no more problems!

  2. Caren March 15, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    Glad you had a good run today. I sweat that much too… I like it! The shirt looks cute, sorry that it wasn’t comfortable. I’m excited for you for this weekend. I’m getting scared for my Broad Street Run but I keep hearing it’s easy as far as 10 mile runs go… I guess we’ll see!

    • runeatdatesleep March 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

      You’ll do fine! I hope I can sign up for Broad Street with you. I’ve heard it’s an easy road race too… or as easy as 10 miles can be, right?

  3. Caroline March 16, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    Nice shirt 😉 I took mine out on Sunday and kept having to pull it down in front. It kept riding up!

    • runeatdatesleep March 16, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

      I find it so weird how companies make womens’ shirts so short!

  4. Tiffany March 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Good luck with the NYC – you will have a blast and the ol’ knee will hold out!

  5. lindybug March 16, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    nice shirt! i like how it has short sleeves. the marathon weekend ones have long sleeves.

  6. Robyn March 16, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    This weekend is going to be so nice in NYC too! What do you have planned? Goodluck, you’ll do great.

    • runeatdatesleep March 16, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

      Oooh! The last time I checked it was going to rain. Yay for good weather. We really have nothing planned. My only plans are the expo and the race. Other than that, I’m game for whatever the other girls want to do.

      Thank you! 🙂

  7. Cassie March 17, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    I miss my collar bones! For some reason they’re one of the main things I use to judge my weight loss and gain-I’m always feeling them to see if they’re still there-lol!

  8. Dillon Oder May 12, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Wonderful website, I recently came across it and I am already a fan. I just lost thirty pounds in 30 days, and I am excited to share my weight loss success with as many people as possible. If I can lose the weight then any one can. No matter what you do, never give up and you WILL accomplish every one of your weight loss objectives!

Leave a Reply

