Book Review…

17 Mar

I finally finished The Non-Runner’s Marathon Guide for Women written by Dawn Dais.

Out of the 150 or so pages of this book, Dawn recants why she hates running so much for about 140 pages, and only 10 pages are filled with encouraging words that “you can do this too”. This crazy woman decided one day to get off her recliner and spend four months training for a marathon. I don’t even think she attempted a 5K before. The thought of climbing the stairs in her house was an intense workout for her. But whatever, she started training…

The book is mostly a “guide”, but it is also sprinkled with some of her journal entries, in which she details chafing nightmares, how much she hates the way she looks in spandex, and the blisters which have grown on her feet. The last journal entry is all about her marathon experience in Hawaii, in which she walked most of. I’m of the thinking her poor attitude throughout the entire training process had a little bit to do with the fact she started walking the rest of her marathon at mile 11.

Her friend Jen, who she refers to as “Chipper Jen”, is more like us runner bloggers. She actually enjoys running and encourages Dawn. Dawn dislikes Jen’s perky attitude.

I don’t think I learned anything new from this book that I haven’t learned from blogs I read every day. She does give helpful advice to newbies, like the fact you shouldn’t take ibuprofen before or during a run.

It took me a long time to read this book because she made me so mad. Why run when you hate it so much? Go swimming or something instead.

This book was reviewed on Amazon as humorous, but I think I maybe giggled once. I just couldn’t relate to her.

If you’re looking for a real training guide, this isn’t it. And if you’re looking for a funny read, this isn’t it either.

5 Responses to “Book Review…”

  1. Robyn March 17, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Hmm, thanks for the review. I’ll pass on this book hehe

  2. sonjaaislynne March 17, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Thanks for the review! It sounds lame. I don’t like Debby Downers and I’m with you. If you don’t like it, don’t do it,. Duh.

    & why can’t you take ibuprofen before a run? is it bad? I did this the other day lol

  3. Jules March 17, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Yea, why can’t you take ibuprofen? Can you take aleeve if you need to? Just curious 🙂

    • runeatdatesleep March 17, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      I’ve read it can cause renal failure. We were warned in our Disney packets not to take any NSAID pain-reliever such as Advil or Aleve. Tylenol only.

  4. Caren March 17, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Your last sentence was my favorite. I too will pass on this one.

    I never heard of the Advil thing either, being a 40 year old runner, I take a lot of Advil. 😉 I guess I’d better rethink that.

Leave a Reply

