NYC Half Marathon Recap~ Part One

23 Mar

Ellen, Holly, and I packed up Ellen’s car on Friday and headed out of town around 6pm for our trek to NYC. It was a short 3-hour drive to Weehawken, New Jersey, where we were staying. Staying in New Jersey rather than NYC has one big advantage… you can see the city!

Ok, so my camera doesn’t take the best nighttime pictures, but deal with it, ok?

We were all checked in by 9 and headed up to our room to check things out. We stayed at this hotel last year when Ellen and I were auditioning for the Biggest Loser, so we were already familiar with the area.

And pictures of us girls…

No idea what that dot is

Holly and Ellen

Side note- this was us last year at this time the day before auditioning for The Biggest Loser. A year sure does make a different, doesn’t it?

So anyways, we were off to our favorite place to eat in Weehawken, The Malibu Diner! We had dinner there last year, and we got the giggles there so bad then that we had to come back to our favorite hang-out! Hehehe 🙂 I ordered a house salad and the portabello mushroom and veggie panini with a baked potato. Yum!

When we got back to the hotel, Ellen suggested we have a 20-minute stretching session. The girl is obviously brilliant! I totally forgot I needed to stretch.

We didn’t sleep too well, but we all naturally woke up around 7:30ish on Saturday.

Good morning, New York!!!

They both knew I was nervous about race morning transportation from New Jersey, so we did a trial run. Thank goodness we did because the plan we had worked out did not work out. The light rail from our hotel to the PATH (the subway from NJ to NYC) did not leave until 6:30ish on Sundays, so that was out. We then decided I needed to get a ride to the PATH. Once we were on the PATH, the girls decided they would just drive me to the PATH station and come with me race morning so I wouldn’t be nervous.

My first time on the NYC Subway!!!

Once we were in the city, I knew I wanted to hit up Jack Rabbit, a running store suggested by Megan. I had tweeted about whether or not I should stick my Gu down my bra or not on race day since I didn’t want to run with the hydration belt again, and she had suggested I go to Jack Rabbit for a SpiBelt. She was also very wonderful in giving me directions on how to get the city on race day! She was a tremendous help!

Once I was there, I decided against the SpiBelt and purchased a Wrist Runner by Nathan. (picture from Nathan Sport’s website).


We also did some shopping in Wet Seal, which was right next door. I scored two summer bags for $2.50 each. Woo! Next, it was time to find the expo!

I actually ended up buying a SpiBelt at the expo. I loved the pattern, and the sales girl showed me how much stuff I could fit into it. Sold!

Next was lunch at Famiglia Pizzeria…

Our delicious slices!

And then… we all decided it was time to go to China Town! I had never been, and Ellen and I both really wanted bags. I spotted these “D&G” sunglasses and this “Guess?” bag, and I knew I had to have them! How fabulous!

After China Town, it was time to head back to the room. I could finally go through my swag bag and check out my goodies, which were much better than Disney’s, in my opinion.

I actually liked the race shirt, and I can’t wait to wear it out running. They also gave us some men’s body wash (which can come in handy since I don’t own any and guys who come over don’t really like flower-scented stuff), body lotion, a New York Road Runners lunch bag, and Newman’s Own popcorn. Muscle Milk was being handed for free at the expo.

Then, I started laying out my things for the morning, but I got tired and wanted to ice my knees and take a nap…

While I was laying in bed, I noticed what a cool shot I could take of my shoes on the window sill…

After a 2-hour nap, we ordered Italian food to be delivered, and I finished preparing for race morning…

Dinner hit the spot! I got the eggplant parmigiana with garlic bread. Yum! We spent the evening watching Ghosts of Girlfriends Past and the first part of HBO’s new mini-series The Pacific. I might even consider ordering HBO now to watch that show. It looked so good from what I saw of it.

I really enjoyed a quiet night in with dinner, movie, a nap, and some more stretching with Ellen. It was just what I needed to calm my nerves. I slept wonderfully!

Stayed tuned for the race report!!!

3 Responses to “NYC Half Marathon Recap~ Part One”

  1. Robyn March 24, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Ahh so much to comment on. I used to go to the Malibu diner when I was with my ex-boyfriend who lived in Hoboken. Love JackRabbit, I just got my race outfit there. Can’t wait to read your race report.

  2. Jennifer March 24, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Congratulations to you!!! I am enjoying your pictures, as it’s already bringing back memories for me, I ran it on Sunday too! It was such a great race, I really enjoyed it. Looking forward to the rest of your recap!

  3. marathonmaiden March 24, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    yay for racing 🙂 can’t wait to read the rest of the recap!

Leave a Reply

