Day One of Orlando Trip

27 Mar

When my family took our Christmas vacation to Disney World a few months ago, my father had the great idea of me opening my own mortgage company in Florida. I couldn’t resist this opportunity! Like I’ve mentioned before, I used to work for Disney World for several years, so the Orlando area is pretty familiar to me and feels more like “home” to me than Delaware. So, I’m here in Orlando for a few days to take the required mortgage broker class to become licensed in Florida to do mortgages.

I left on Thursday morning, and I actually didn’t sleep all night because I had to leave my house at 3am, and I wasn’t even packed when midnight rolled around. My plane left at 7am, and I arrived in beautiful Florida around 9:30. Unfortunately, there was an issue with the car rental company, so my day started off with me crying on the phone with my mom and me leaving the airport with a really crappy car. If you’re in the market for a car, I’d forgo the Suzuki Forenza if I were you.

Once I was finally in a car, I could head to my hotel, which was a La Quinta. Unfortunately, the price I paid was directly related to the cleanliness of the property. I actually got sick staying at this hotel. I woke up several times during the night crying in pain because my throat hurt so bad. Now I know it was the hotel because my sore throat disappeared whenever I left.

But anyways, my room wasn’t ready when I stopped by at 10am, which was fine because I wasn’t expecting it to be ready. So, I headed on over to Celebration to have lunch at a soda fountain place my mom and I saw the last time we were in town.

I ordered the cream of mushroom soup and the tuna melt. Not exactly the healthiest choices, but I was having a crap day. Crying at the airport= diet out the window!!

I really enjoyed sitting outside and people watching.

I finally went back to the hotel and was able to check in. I immediately stripped down and took a long nap because I still hadn’t been to bed yet. I had an appointment with a leasing agent in Celebration at 5:15, so I headed back there. The current renter still lives there, so I didn’t take any pictures for his privacy, but I took some pictures of the outside.

Neighborhood fitness center

Neighborhood pool

It was a gorgeous 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment with all tile floors, a small patio, French door entrance, and large living area (big enough for my enormous sectional). I wish I could have taken pictures!

After looking around, I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner… Pizza Fusion! I did a repeat of the blogger meet-up! I ordered this delicious salad…

And I customized my own pizza with pesto sauce, crimini mushrooms, roasted red onions, and mozzarella cheese.

And then, Menchies!!!

I was so excited to check out Whole Foods Market. We don’t have anything like this in my part of Delaware, so going to a healthy place like this is heaven!

I picked up some bananas, Larabars, a small piece of chocolate, some crackers, and a gallon of water for breakfasts and such.

As soon as I got back to the hotel, I fell right to sleep. I was exhausted!

The rest of my trip to be continued…

4 Responses to “Day One of Orlando Trip”

  1. Jennifer March 28, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Looks like that condo/apartment is in the Artisan Park part of Celebration?? Very, very nice, they have the best clubhouse there! Sorry to hear your trip didn’t start out well, but I hope it’s getting better. Pizza Fusion is great, and I’ve seen you mention that Menchies place a few times, I need to try that out, sounds great. It sounds like you know a lot already about Celebration, but if you need help with anything, feel free to ask, I used to live there and still hang out there a lot, love that town! I used to work for Disney too, doing accounting, my office was in Celebration. Oh, and that Whole Foods store is great, the one near me (I live a little further north of Celebration) is not nearly as nice as the Sand Lake one that you went to, great store!

    I think I mentioned that I found your blog through Caren’s – I’m really enjoying it, I love reading about the things I’ve done too, like the NYC half, Disney/Celebration, etc.

    • runeatdatesleep March 28, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

      Thank you so much for offering to help in regards to Celebration! I will definitely keep in touch if I need anything or have a question πŸ™‚ Thank you! And yes, it’s Artisan Park. I think I’m willing to pay more for a place there just for the clubhouse and other “member” benefits.

      Thanks for following me from Caren’s blog πŸ™‚

  2. Cassie March 30, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    I don’t even really like tuna, but that sandwich looks so yummy!

  3. allisonisactive April 6, 2010 at 6:09 am #

    When I lived in Celebration, we lived in the Water Street Condos, which was nice because they were right downtown. We liked being able to walk to Starbucks and the farmer’s market!

Leave a Reply

