Unmotivated…

1 Apr

I’ve spent the past few days readjusting to being back in town, unpacking, and making some big decisions. While traveling up and down the east coast in March, I have unfortunately gained about 5-6 pounds. You would think running two half-marathons would have helped with weight loss, but they most certainly did not. I really wanted to start running again this week, but I have allergies with a lot of coughing. Plus, my knees still hurt. At first, it was just the left knee, but now it’s both. I tried to work out on the elliptical Tuesday, but I only lasted 7 minutes before my knees just couldn’t take it anymore.

I’ve been completely unmotivated to work out (but I really can’t because I’m sick and injured) or to eat better. I’ve been eating the right things, but too much of it. So, the first step in recovery is admitting it, right? So there.. I said it. I’m overeating, gaining weight, and I haven’t cared.

I think I need to sign up for a race to get over this.

What do you do when you’re in a rut?

P.S. Go check out Ashley’s awesome Bondi Band giveaway.

8 Responses to “Unmotivated…”

  1. Jules April 1, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    hmmm I admit it, like you did. Then I try to figure out what is making me unmotivated. And writing it on your blog helps you to know you have supporters to help get you back on track πŸ™‚

    I was wondering if you would lose a little focus after your races… 😦 Traveling and running a half marathon x’s 2 makes you think you can eat more. But those two marathons only burned less than a pound. We seem to over eat after races.

    Make some personal weekly gym goals for the month, maybe some weight training while your knee gets better? Walk outside on the beach? Or a buddy? Go back to counting calories for maybe a week to get your body back intuned to not eating too much?

  2. healthy ashley April 1, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    Good luck getting back into the swing of things!

    Running totally makes makes me gain weight! (Eating really does it, but you know what I mean!)

  3. Stacy April 2, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I feel your pain. I am up 2-3 this month (and had lost about 10 since 1/1) since the Princess. I think for some reason post-race I just think I have accomplished my goal and can eat more. Makes NO sense on a conscious level, but it seems to be a pattern I have had after all my halfs. I can’t imagine what I would do after two in a row. πŸ™‚

    Since you have done it in the past, you KNOW you can do it again and you will. We just need to keep searching that motivation I guess! Good luck!!

  4. Sonja April 2, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    I admit it. and then I read read read fitness/running sites/blogs. That helps me ALOT. I’ve signed up for 2 1/2 marathons and 2 5ks so that has been keeping me going as well.

    Bikini season and the summer being right around the corner slaps me in the face sometimes too!! haha

  5. Jules April 2, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    Oh another thing that actually helped me…I had told my husband that I gained back 3 of the pounds I had lots a few weeks ago, and he said, Oh “you didn’t change your ticker” As stupid as it sounds, putting your ticker where it belongs right now, will make you want to start moving it down again. But keeping it at where it was before you gained weight makes it seem like so much weight to lose to even get to move the ticker down. Funny how that worked for me, maybe it will work for you?

  6. John April 2, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    I admit the gain and try not to beat myself up about it or it will snowball for me. When you’re travelling it’s hard to do as well as when you’re in your normal environment.

    Have you thought about swimming as there wouldn’t be any impact on your knees?

  7. Danielle April 5, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    You know I can totally relate to this. I honestly think a lot of it has to do with accomplishing the “big goal you never thought you would” – running your half marathons (TWO even!). I totally felt that way after I ran the Nike Marathon and I wonder, for me, if it was “too much too soon” and I accomplished my big goal before I was really ready to go there. Now I get frustrated with myself that sometimes even running a mile can be a struggle. I wonder if I had focused on getting faster and stronger would have been better instead of training for distance – who knows. All I can really say is that I feel ya and really hope that you can “find the happy place with running again” – because it’s worth it πŸ™‚

  8. hundredtenpounds April 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I try and push through it. There are definitely days I do not want to work out. But if I force myself to do it, I always feel better afterward.

Leave a Reply

