It’s Official… I am moving to Florida!

3 Apr

I am definitely  moving to Florida! I am packing up the truck in less than two months as move-in day is June 1st! I chose one of the apartments in Celebration. It’s actually been a dream of mine for at least 10 years to live in that town! I received and signed the lease yesterday and paid the security deposit. I’m super ecstatic and terrified at all the same time. I’m moving back to an area I lived in for 3 years, so I’m not nervous about that. I’m just afraid I’m making the wrong decision. Like what if my life is supposed to be in Delaware? And I’m going to miss the people, especially my parents, a lot! I’ve been working day in and day out with my parents for the last four years. I don’t know how I’m going to adjust to working at home alone without them.

So the plan is– I’m keeping the same job I have now with my family’s mortgage company, but I’ll be working from home in Florida. And I’ll be picking up part-time work at a restaurant, preferably for Disney where I worked for a few years. It will take about 4 months for me to receive my mortgage broker license and my license to start a branch of our mortgage company there, but I hope to use that time to really market the business so it will be up and running quickly.

It all seems so surreal to me still.

**********

In other news, I was hoping my next big run would be the Broad Street Run in Philadelphia on May 2, but it’s already sold out. So I’m looking at the following races and hoping to sign up for a few of them:

  • Disneyland Half Marathon on September 5th. If I do this one, I’d qualify for the Disney Coast to Coast Challenge and earn this pretty medal.

This one is from 2008

  • The Inaugural Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon on October 2nd. It starts at 10pm, and there’s a party in Epcot afterwards. My parents are thinking of taking a Disney vacation during this time so that they can be there to cheer me on.
  • The Philadelphia Half-Marathon on November 21st. My friend Holly, who traveled to NYC with me a few weekends ago, is planning on doing this one as her first, and I hope to fly up there and do it with her!

I need to sign up for a race to get my motivation back. It’s still wavering. I actually spent most of my day napping on my couch. I haven’t had a chance to sleep in for over a month, so it was nice to not feel guilty for sleeping. I obviously needed it, but I know I should have been out running or something. My weight keeps going up. Ugh!

Tomorrow is a new day. I will really focus on what I’m eating. I will clean my house. I will run.

9 Responses to “It’s Official… I am moving to Florida!”

  1. Robyn April 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Congrats! Florida is going to be awesome. I wanted to run the Broad ST too but it was sold out 😦

  2. Caroline April 3, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Yay! Congrats on nailing a place down and moving forward with your dream! The only potential run I have coming up is a 5k, in about 3 weeks so I’m still seriously lacking the motivation to get out and run, especially now that Georgia is having 85 degree weather! Good luck!

  3. Lindsey @ Sound Eats April 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Wow, congrats, how exciting! sometimes the things that are the scariest and the biggest changes can lead to the most impactful and significant moments of our lives. 🙂

    I’ve thought about doing the Wine and Dine half too – it just sounds SO fun, and perfect for a fitness loving foodie. 🙂

  4. Jennifer April 3, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Congratulations!!! I’m sure everything will work out just fine. I was in your shoes 8 years ago, when I packed up and left the place I had lived all my life (NY) and moved to Orlando. Best of luck, you will adore living in Celebration!

  5. Stacy April 4, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    Congrats! How exciting! 🙂

  6. cg. April 4, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Sounds exciting! I’m in for both the dLand half (must have the c-to-c medal!) and for the F&W in Oct. You’re right about the motivation — stuff needs to be on the calendar.
    Best on the move.

  7. John April 4, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Congratulations and the best of luck on this new chapter in your life! You doing 2 HM in 2 weeks has me feeling I need to do more than just the one I’m signed up for ….I’m competitive 🙂

  8. Danielle April 5, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    Carl and I are still contemplating the Wine and Dine too. Part of me thinks it will be awesome and the other part of me wonders how it will be running so late at night.

    That coast to coast medal is pretty cool!

  9. Lexi June 6, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Congrats on moving to Celebration. I remember the very first time I ever went there, I vowed to have a home there one day. Hope that you are settling in nicely. I am going through your blog and I find it inspiring. Hope to read through it all. I found the link on CC.

Leave a Reply

