Day 1 of April Challenge

4 Apr

I woke up today around 9am, pretty early for me on a weekend. I spent the morning tidying up the apartment and doing laundry, and I headed out to the store for the St. Ives items I mentioned earlier. I also stopped at the grocery store for some Green Monster ingredients for this week.

Once I got home, I had some Amy’s pizza for lunch and let it settle for an hour and a half before throwing on my running clothes to head out for a 3-miler. Unfortunately, I lasted 5 minutes before the negative self-talk took over. My legs were feeling extremely heavy, my mouth was really dry, and my feet were hurting. Luckily, my knees weren’t causing me any pain. It was just an overall heaviness. Plus, it was warmer here than what I’m used to, and I normally run at night. Yeah, do you hear all of my excuses? I do. So, I walked a minute and started running again for a few more minutes before I gave up. I made the turn to go home, but I thought to myself “why are you going home if you can still at least walk these 3 miles?” So I stuck it out, and I finished the 3 miles fast walking for 45 minutes. I knew I couldn’t come home and blog about such an epic running fail. I knew I had to somehow redeem myself.

When I got home, I did Day 1 of Whiddle My Middle. Geez, I didn’t think it would be so hard. This is what I did:

  • Front plank: 1 minute
  • Side plank:  15 seconds on each side (these are ridiculously tough for me!)
  • Torso twists: 16 on each side
  • Plank ups: way too hard for me right now. Would work better if I was wearing shoes so my feet wouldn’t slip out from under me.
  • Boat pose: 30 seconds
  • Bicycle crunches: 2 sets of 30 reps
  • Side plank w/ twists:  too hard right now

After my work-out, I took a nice long, hot shower, and I began Project Glow. I used the Apricot Scrub and then the Olive Cleanser. My face feels so smooth! I’m really looking forward to seeing the results after a month!

I’ve been meaning to mention this, but I received my winnings from Leslie’s Amy’s Organic Soup giveaway before I left for Florida.

001

It came with 3 soups, a bag, a pen, and some coupons. Thank you, Leslie! A few days ago, I tried the Creamy Tomato Bisque. It was delicious! It had the right amount of chunks of tomato, and it didn’t taste really salty like a lot of soups do.

Tonight’s dinner was an open-faced bagel grilled cheese and a bowl of Amy’s Organic Hearty Spanish Rice & Red Beans. I sprinkled some shredded cheddar cheese on it, as well as some organic yellow corn chips.

026

They were not kidding about this soup being hearty! I almost couldn’t finish it. Delicious!

Now I love these soups, but I don’t know if I can justify paying $2.50/can. Maybe Amy’s can send me some more? 😉

I have some more reviews up my sleeve for the coming days. I need to set some time aside to do those!

Today was an awesome day! I cleaned my house, started Project Glow and Whiddle My Middle, got something off my chest (which I didn’t blog about), tried to run, and my allergies are gone!

9 Responses to “Day 1 of April Challenge”

  1. Jules April 4, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Awesome day! Sometimes the runs just are not in you for the day…you burn the exact same amount of calories if you walk for the same mile. I know, it is not always about the calorie burn, but you got the miles in. Take it slow, don’t push it too hard when you are not feeling it, you might not like running as much 🙂

    I love finding new healthy meals/snacks, but have realized eating healthy means more money. Funny how that works! Good job on a good day! Happy Easter!

  2. Jenna April 4, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Where does the whiddle my middle workout come from??

    • runeatdatesleep April 4, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      Angela at OhSheGlows.com has the program on her site. Not sure if she actually developed it or not.

  3. Leslie April 4, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    glad you got the soup! 🙂

  4. runninginpinkproject April 5, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Good for you for walking those 3 miles. Its so much easier to just mosey back to the car and leave. Thats great! Also, that soup looks fantastic.
    Sara-

  5. Emily April 5, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Good for you for walking the 3 miles! I hear you on the negative self talk. But you didn’t let it win.

    Oh, and the soup looks yummy!

  6. Danielle April 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    I’m so proud of you for sticking with your 3 miles! Always remember that 3 miles is 3 miles – whether it takes you 30 minutes or 45 to get them done 🙂

  7. BostonRunner April 5, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Sounds like you had a productive day! Keep plugging with your April challenges and you’re going to see improvements!

  8. Sara (silence182) April 5, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    My favorite Amy’s soup is the Chunky Tomato Bisque. The sodium content seems really high though, so I don’t buy it very often.

Leave a Reply

