LDAF Race for Autism 5K Race Recap

11 Apr

I fell asleep really early last night, and when I woke up at 3:45 out of nowhere, thoughts of not running the 5K were running through my mind. I had fallen asleep on the couch, so I headed up to my own bed, and made the decision I wouldn’t run today. I didn’t want to pay the registration fee. I hadn’t really run in 3 weeks. I was nursing my knee injury. I turned off my alarm and went back to sleep resigned to the fact I wouldn’t run.

I ended up dreaming that I missed the race, and I could see the runners running by my house. I actually woke up crying about this at 6:44, one minute before my alarm would have gone off. I took this as a huge sign that I needed to get up and go run this race.

So I got up, had my usual pre-race breakfast, divided in half, of a bagel with peanut butter and 1/2 banana, showered, and quickly threw on my race clothes. I got there just in time to register, grab my race packet and t-shirt, run back to the car, and head back to the start line.

The half-marathoners started 10 minutes before the 5k. And they’re off!

photo

I didn’t even get a whole lot of time to stretch before we were told to line up.

start (picture taken after I was already finished)

This race was directed by the same group who did the Delaware Hospice 5K last year. I was looking at my watch after running 11 minutes and thought for sure I’d see the Mile 1 marker. I later found out it was on the other side of the street, where none of us would see it. I don’t like “running blind” like that. I like to know how far I’ve been, but hopefully that will be cured soon with a Garmin… just waiting on some extra $$$.

But I did find myself doing something I normally don’t do… I picked a few women throughout the race and decided to pick them off one at a time. I usually just stick with my one pace, slow and steady, but I wanted to pick it up a little today. I did, however, take about 3 walk breaks, one for 1 minute and 2 for 30 seconds. I’m notorious for getting sick at the end of 5Ks, so I didn’t want to push myself to that point, but I think I could have done without most of my walk breaks. I think I broke my momentum.

Besides a slight wave of nausea at the Mile 3 marker, I finished strong with a time of 34:08, my second best 5K race time. I placed 12th in my age group out of 28. I finished with no knee pain!

finish

The race started and finished at Irish Eyes Pub, which has burned down twice now and has been rebuilt.

irish eyes 2

irish eyes

I’m so excited to have done this race and know that my knee pain is gone! This means I can get back in to the swing of things and start Hal Higdon’s Spring Training program. Since I don’t have any scheduled long races for a while, I wanted to start building up my base mileage. This is this week’s schedule.

spring training week 1

Doesn’t seem too challenging 🙂 But I plan on trying my best to run every run the whole way through with no walk breaks. I’m really anxious to sign up for more races!!! My next 5K race is the Zoo Stampede on April 24th at the Salisbury Zoo.

When you’re fresh out of registered races, what kind of base mileage do you keep up? Do you take a few weeks off? Or are you constantly registered for something?

11 Responses to “LDAF Race for Autism 5K Race Recap”

  1. love2eatinpa April 11, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    wow, so bizarre that you dreamed about the race. it’s awesome that you took it as a sign to run it! congrats on almost beating your PR!!
    I think i’ve read in “runners world” magazine that you should take the next few days off from running. definitely do something like walk or cross train, but nothing intense. you could probably start running again on day 4.

  2. Emily April 11, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    Congrats on doing the race!!

    If I’m not registered for a race, I tend to let my base go by the wayside. So this year I’m going to keep signing up for races! 🙂 We’ll see how well that works…

  3. Sarah April 11, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Congrats on the race 🙂

  4. Stacy April 11, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    Congrats on an awesome 5K!

    I am always scared to let my base mileage drop too much because it is just so hard to get it back up (at least for me)!! I do factor in recovery time after races where I do shorter runs (for example, did not do more than 2-3 mile runs for 2 weeks following my most recent half), but I start adding a mile a week back to my “long” runs after about 2 weeks. In my “off seasons” I try to stay with long runs of about 6-7 and my other runs are 2-4 just to keep my base where at any given time a half doesn’t seem TOO intimidating. 🙂 I try to space out my 2-3 “long” races throughout the year so I am usually either training for one of them, or recovering and looking at training again in the near future. (Then the 5K’s get added in just for fun.)

  5. Caren April 11, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Congratulations! It sounds like you definitely did the right thing. How strange that you had a dream about missing the race.

    I’m really glad to hear that your knees feel better. My sister has hip issues and I really don’t get it, she’s never had a weight problem and is very fit. Me, who weighed 252 pounds a little over a year ago and is 3.5 years older than my sister has no joint problems at all… I guess I’m lucky! (Knock wood.)

    I run 15-20 miles per week even when I don’t have a race scheduled… it’s just part of my routine. I rarely run less than a 5K each time I work out but often run more and will be running a lot more in the next week or so considering the Broad Street Run is right around the corner… wish you were doing it with us. 😦

    Congrats again on a race well run!

  6. Tricia April 12, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    great job!

  7. Caroline April 12, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I’m so glad you mentioned the spring training plan! I’m feeling totally lost with nothing to train for, nothing to keep my endurance up for. I’m totally going to print that sucker out and do it!
    Good job on the spontaneous 5K! I’m so glad your knee is better 🙂

  8. poisonivy250 April 13, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    When I’m not registered for something I am doing the Half Marathon maintenance program from Runnersworld.com. I want to stay in shape enough that I can do any half marathon that comes my way without having to re-train.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An awesome weekend, all around! | See Cat Run - April 12, 2010

    […] weather in April is not appreciated, it's supposed to still be in the 70s! But today I read Andrea's blog post about starting Hal Higdon's spring training plan and found my […]

  2. CHEF Run for Education 5K « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - April 18, 2010

    […] my previous race PR. I have had faster training runs though. And this was 44 seconds better than last Sunday’s race. And… I ran the whole way and PRed, which was my goal for […]

  3. Race of Autism 5K 2011 « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - April 10, 2011

    […] running this race last year, I knew I had to do it again this year to support such a great […]

Leave a Reply

