Giving it my all…

13 Apr

On today’s Spring Training program was a 1.5 mile run.

spring training week 1

My plan was to run the whole thing. For my half-marathon training, I built up my endurance by doing run/walk intervals of 10 minutes of running and 1 minute of walking. For marathon training, I want to build up my endurance without walking. I want to be able to say I ran a race, and not just that I completed it.

So I headed off to the Y and busted it out in 15:56, a 10:37 pace! I didn’t stop to walk once, even though I really wanted to. But I kept thinking to myself “you’re never going to get better or faster by not giving it your all.” I guess I’ve always had a fear that if I gave it my all, I’d end up flying off the treadmill or fainting or something equally traumatic and embarrassing. But I stuck to it and increased the speed when I felt like quitting. I dug deep and envisioned myself training for this marathon for the next 6 or so months. Even though it was only 1.5 miles, and that might not seem like a lot to some of you, but it was farther than I’ve pushed myself to run all at once for a long time.

Tomorrow calls for a 3 mile run, and I plan on doing it outside and run the whole time.

I just realized I forgot to eat dinner. I should go do that 🙂

11 Responses to “Giving it my all…”

  1. JoAnn April 13, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    Way to go!

  2. John April 13, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    That’s an awesome time!

  3. BostonRunner April 13, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Great job not walking! Keep it up and you’ll definitely see improvements, it’s crazy when you look back to see how much you’ve improved!

  4. sophia April 13, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Yay for improvements! You’re doing something right!
    And lol, how can you forget to eat dinner? That’s what I anticipate all day. 🙂

  5. Lauren @ Team Giles April 13, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Good Job girl!!! 🙂

  6. Caren April 14, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Congratulations! Great accomplishment.

  7. Emily April 14, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Wow! That’s fantastic! Great job not walking.

  8. love2eatinpa April 14, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    great job!

    i remember when i was trying to go faster, i feared doing a “george jetson” off the back of the treadmill, but somehow always managed to stay on. 🙂

    hope the 3-miler goes well!

  9. mrsdevonk April 14, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    Yay! Way to go! Its really hard to get used to not taking walk breaks when you get really used to it..

  10. Caroline April 14, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    It is always, completely, a mental battle for me. Some days I lose, some days I win. More often than not I lose… need to work on that! Good job on pushing through! Good luck today!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Do Not Let Where You Have Been Determine Where You Are Going « The Running In Pink Project - April 18, 2010

    […] there. I went to the gym instead and did a workout that I know I am better than. Last week blogger Andrea talked about giving a workout her “all”. This post really had me thinking, What has my […]

Leave a Reply

