Easy Breezy Day

17 Apr

I slept in until around 10am and woke up to a nice, cool breeze coming in through my bedroom windows. I could have stayed in bed all day! But I got up, had some toast with PB, and I downloaded one my favorite games on to my new laptop.

SimCity_3000

Yeah, I’m nerdy. Get over it.

 

But I gave up game playing around 3 to take a lovely, brisk walk around the neighborhood. Spring Training called for a 30-minute walk today. It was so nice to not have the pressure of running a certain time or distance. But there were many moments when I just wanted to start running, but it was all walking, and I loved it! My legs had been feeling tight, and this was just the thing to get them loosened up before tomorrow’s 5K race.

lawn

trail

I stretched in the large lawn by the water. So peaceful!

stretching

After going for a walk, I decided it was time to go to the grocery store. I had been eating crap recently because I was out of healthy items in my fridge. Plus, Ashley posted today about eating food to make you feel your healthiest and happiest without judging the food based on calories, etc. So it was time to find foods that make me feel great! I spent a large amount of time in the produce section. I found some very LARGE yams, and I can’t wait to make them! I had one the other night, microwaved with margarine and a little bit of light brown sugar. It was probably the best dinner I’ve ever made.

 

On to dinner… Polenta with Spaghetti Sauce

I coated a baking pan with Tastefully Simple Roasted Garlic Infused Oil and pre-heated the oven to 400 degrees.

009

I baked the polenta for 20 minutes, 10 minutes on each side. Baking it with oil made it just the right crunchiness.

007

It was topped with Classico Traditional Sweet Basil sauce

008

My dish was sprinkled with cheddar cheese, and I accidentally got a little heavy-handed with the parmesan. I love my cheese, mmmmkay?

010

 

 

I’m running a 5K tomorrow morning with my friend Holly at 9am. Ok, maybe I won’t be running with her. She’s much faster than me! I’m aiming for a PR… wish me luck!

4 Responses to “Easy Breezy Day”

  1. JoAnn April 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Good luck with your 5K.

  2. snowflakesandsunshine.wordpress.com April 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Good luck for tomorrow! I loved Ashley’s post too. It’s so easy to focus on calories when we should be thinking about which foods make us feel our best.

  3. mrsdevonk April 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    i LOVE sim city! I haven’t played it in years though!

  4. poisonivy250 April 18, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    I’ve never eaten Polenta, I’m gonna have to give it a try. I normally consider myself a very eclectic eater, but thats one thing that has just never happened to cross my plate.

Leave a Reply

