CHEF Run for Education 5K

18 Apr

I was so excited for this 5K because my friend Holly would be joining me! It’s so nice to have at least one person there with me either participating or spectating.

I woke up at 6:20 (I wish it were this easy to wake up for work!), took a shower, grabbed my usual race breakfast of peanut butter toast and a banana, and dressed in my NYC Half Marathon shirt and pink running skirt. I seriously heart this skirt. I love my Under Armour shorts, but I don’t have to pull at my skirt like I do with the shorts to make sure they don’t ride up. That makes for an embarrassing race photo, doncha think?

I met Holly in the parking lot and enjoyed chit-chatting with her as we got ready. I also caught up with Gwen, who I met last year when I first started running 5Ks.

The race started on the high school’s football field.

Holly

holly

Gwen… this lady is epic! She almost always wins in her age group. She’s usually at every 5K I run.

gwen

And me!

chef 5k

The race started off with a 50 yard run across the football field and a half loop around the track. Then it was off to run in to town, which was very familiar territory to me because this is where my long training runs for the half took place. I knew this road and its dips and potholes very well.

There weren’t too many people in the race, but I did pick off one woman and stayed in front of her the whole way. I ended up not seeing the first mile marker, so when I looked at my watch and saw 12:00, I thought I was really behind! But I kept truckin’ along. There was one girl in front of me the whole time who I wanted to pass so bad, but she was a walker/sprinter. I’d catch up to her while she was walking, but then she’d see me and start sprinting. I’m all for walking because I do it too, but the way she did it was odd.

So anyway, I felt really strong the whole time. My legs were loose, and I had a really good momentum the whole time. I never even thought once that I needed to stop to walk. I came to the water station at mile 1.9 around 19 minutes, so I knew I was on track to do really well. For the whole last mile, I kept telling myself “I’m gonna PR, I’m gonna PR!”

I finished in 33:24 (unofficial time), a 10:46 pace, which is about 20 seconds faster than my previous race PR. I have had faster training runs though. And this was 44 seconds better than last Sunday’s race. And… I ran the whole way and PRed, which was my goal for today.

But the walker/sprinter chick placed third in my age group and medaled. No medal for me placing 4th. I wish now that I would have tried to sprint ahead of her, but my fear of vomiting all over the finish line stopped me. I know I’m being a poor sport. I’ll get over it. But I can walk away knowing I ran the whole time.

And congratulations to Holly for placing 2nd in her age group with a time of 27:20!!! You’re epic, Holly!

holly second place

Well, that ends Week 1 of Spring Training.

Next week’s plan…

week 2 spring training

It’s almost the same as this past week, but the Saturday walk is 35 minutes instead of 30, and Sunday’s run is 3.5 miles instead of 3. Although, next Sunday might be another 5K. So this plan might be altered. I’m glad there’s a walk day. I think it really loosened up my legs before today’s race.

After the race, I caught up a little with Google Reader, and I snuggled with the couch for about an hour for a really nice nap. My mom stopped over around 3:30 for Mommy-Daughter time. We took a nice half-hour walk and planned on getting coffees at Arena’s in my neighborhood, but I had forgotten they close around 3 on Sundays. Lame. So, we headed to Starbucks for a more expensive coffee chat. I was hungry, so I grabbed the Hot Tuna Melt Panini. We sat and talked for quite a while. I’m going to miss my parents when I move to Florida. 😦  We work together, so it’s going to be quite the adjustment!

But while I was chatting with my mom, the words “I plan on doing a triathlon” came out of my mouth. Where this came from, I don’t know. But I guess if I said it, I must have been thinking about it. So, after January’s marathon, I’m thinking of registering for a sprint triathlon, which is 750 m swim, 20 km bike, 5 km run.

Time to have Second Dinner.

What did you do this weekend to make you feel proud?

12 Responses to “CHEF Run for Education 5K”

  1. Sarah April 18, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    congrats on the race and a PR!

  2. Jessica @ Healthy Obsessions April 18, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I made a dinner that was inspired by a T.V. show. It could have tanked but both my fiancee and I really enjoyed it!

    Congrats on your PR!

    I almost said, “I’m going to do a half marathon.” I stopped myself because I want to do another 5K and beat my time.

  3. Ashley April 18, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Congrats on the PR! Isn’t that a great feeling?

  4. John April 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Great race! Your running is really coming along nicely. Keep it up.

  5. s0utherngirl April 18, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

    Sounds like you ladies all had a great race. Congrats on the PR!

  6. Eunice April 19, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Congrats on the PR! I’m training for my first 5k, and it’s nice to read someone else’s experience. Thanks 🙂

  7. Robyn April 19, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Congrats chica! Sounds like a great race and a great day.

  8. runninginpinkproject April 19, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    A triathlon? That is amazing! Good luck to you!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’ve lost my mojo…. « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - May 9, 2010

    […] When I did Week 1, I really felt like I was making progress with my speed and endurance, and my best 5K came after Week 1. I know that if I stick with the training each and every day, I’ll get better, […]

  2. 2010 in Review « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 31, 2010

    […] A 5K PR […]

  3. Race of Autism 5K 2011 « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - April 10, 2011

    […] PR, but I came close with a time of 34:13 (a 10:54/minute pace), just 49 seconds slower than my PR. I may not have beaten my personal best, but this was the best I ever felt on a run! Plus,I’m 25 […]

Leave a Reply

