Starting Week 2 of Spring Training

20 Apr

This week’s training schedule…

So today’s run was 1.5 miles at my favorite trail, Breakwater.

(sorry my pictures are lame… iPhone doesn’t take the best pictures)

I finished 1.5 miles in 15:54, a 10:36 pace, which is 2 seconds faster than last Tuesday’s 1.5 mile. I have really enjoyed this Spring Training. I’m learning to give every run everything I have. Why shouldn’t I anyway? I feel like I spent most of my half-marathon training just worrying about getting it done. Now I’m concentrating on stride and pace, and I’m working my hardest to improve every time.

But I have a confession… you may or may not have noticed I never posted about going to the doctor about my knee pain. That’s because I didn’t. I started reading ways to help myself, and I plan on starting the exercises Caitlin recommends to strengthen my knee. Now I know I need to see a doctor, but every one I called told me I needed to see a primary care physician first. Believe it or not, I don’t have one. Why? I haven’t needed one for well over 10 years. So, I was going to go to a PCP here, but I’m moving in a month. So I’m getting my health insurance in place in Florida, and then I’ll see a doctor when I get there. But for now, I’m icing after every run for 20 minutes, taking anti-inflammatory meds, and I’m not running long distances. The pain is dull. If it gets worse, I’ll rethink my strategy.

So there… I said it.

Speaking of moving, I got a quote today for the move. To pack the truck, drive my stuff to Florida, and unpack the truck= $3150. Does this seem out-friggin-rageous to you?!?! Yeah? I thought so. I got a few other quotes for about half. But it’s going to be cheaper to rent a truck, drive it ourselves, have friends help me pack the truck, and hire movers to unpack the heavy stuff in Orlando. Sound like a good plan?

Yesterday’s post was about some of the Biggest Losers running Boston. From what I know, they did not qualify but they did fundraising to get there. Here are some of their times:

Ali Vincent– 5:53:27

Rebecca Meyer– 5:49:01

Mark Kruger– 3:37:55 (WOW!)

Jay Kruger– 5:10:14

Danny Cahill– 5:08:47

Tracey Yukich– 6:08:59

How amazing are they?!?!

Good night, bloggies!

6 Responses to “Starting Week 2 of Spring Training”

  1. Ashleigh April 20, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Congrats on the good run, that looks like a nice spot. I can’t believe a previous biggest loser ran the marathon at 3:37, that is SO inspiring!

  2. John April 20, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    They’re good but I’m thinking I can beat all but one of their times. I hope 🙂
    At least you are taking care of your knee. Hope your plan ends up working out.

  3. mrsdevonk April 21, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    Wow! Congrats to all the BL that did Boston!

    And your trail looks fun… I need to do more trail running!

  4. Eunice April 21, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Ugh…moving is so expensive. Good luck and I hope the move is as painless as possible!

    I hope the knee issue isn’t anything serious. I need to find a trail around here too..

  5. BostonRunner April 21, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Great job on the run! But be careful with knee pain! I was experiencing knee pain this winter and fought it off and on (it still lingers every once in a while when I’m not careful). Caitlin’s exercises and suggestions helped a lot. I also went to a physical therapist in order to strengthen the muscles around my knee and it REALLY helped! If you want to see some of the exercises (I can give you more too if you want), they are on my blog under the Injury Prevention tab, called “knee strengthening”. Good luck!!

  6. Josh April 22, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    This is self interested – but you might want to look at 1-800-PACK-RAT – you pack the unit and unload, and we move it all the way for you. More convenient than dealing with a truck 🙂

Leave a Reply

