It’s Okay to Have a Bad Day

21 Apr

Today was a great day at work. I got a lot done, and I got a wonderful new lead. In case you didn’t know, I’m a mortgage loan officer, and I get really excited when I get a new potential client.

After work, I went over to Holly’s house to just chit chat with her and Ellen. It was wonderful to have “girl time”. We talked training plans, vegetarianism, men, and lots of other stuff!

The training plan today called for a 3 mile run. The first 2 miles were great! I felt light on my feet, and the run felt easy. However, by the time mile 3 rolled around, my stomach was rolling, and BLAM! I thought I was going to poo in my pretty pink running skirt! I tried to walk it off a few times, but every time I started to run again, I felt nauseous. I resigned myself that today would just have to be a 2 mile day, and that was okay. I realized that there are going to be days like this in the next 8 months leading up to my first marathon. I definitely didn’t hydrate well enough today, and I was hungry before I even started my run. Two things a runner must pay attention to.

I finished 2 miles in 21:54, a 10:56 pace.

I’m disappointed I couldn’t complete the 3 miles, but I’m okay with it.

But this leads me to something I’ve been meaning to write about. For quite a while now, I’ve been asking myself the question “why do I run?” Other than the physical and mental benefits of running, I haven’t been able to come up with an answer until this morning. I began thinking about the sports I did in high school. I was on the cross country, winter track, and swim teams. I didn’t make the cut for field hockey, softball, tennis, or cheerleading. So I was on the teams that accepted me no matter how bad or good I was. I felt running was more welcoming than the other sports. I felt inferior to everyone else when I didn’t make the other teams. I was really slow compared to everyone else on the cross country team, but I improved my time from over 37 minutes to 30:24 in one season. Yes, I still remember my time from over 12 years ago! I grew and improved during that one season on the cross country team. The other teams just didn’t give me that chance to improve.

crosscountry1

cross country 2

Can you spot me? I’m in the first row right in the middle. And just over my left shoulder is Julie from Jules Road to IN SHAPE!

Even though running is more of a solo sport, I felt like part of a team for the first time in my life. And although I’m no longer on a “team”, I feel like I’m part of a very large community, a large group of friends who support each other. I get motivating comments from women who have run many marathons in 8 minute miles, and I receive comments from brand new runners. We all want each other to do well. I run because I feel like even though I’m out there running alone, I’m part of a big team all trying to improve and better ourselves. I’m part of a team, but my only opponent is myself.

I posted my run today on dailymile and Facebook, and I received some awesome feedback, mostly encouraging me that tomorrow will be awesome and so much better than today. That’s why I love the running and blog community. So supportive!

And, I run because I can continuously see how much I’ve improved!

So tell me… why do you run?

6 Responses to “It’s Okay to Have a Bad Day”

  1. John April 21, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    I first started running to help shed the weight faster. Once I got into it though I kept at it because a lot of people thought I was crazy or were amazed I was running for a HM. So now I run because I love people thinking I’m nuts and for the challenge of running 13.1 miles and eventually 26.2.

    Not every run goes well. You need to look at it and see what the problem was and move on. Which I realize re-reading your post you figured out 🙂

  2. Kate N. April 22, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    Because I love beer! and chocolate and pizza and wings!

  3. poisonivy250 April 22, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    I wrote a blog last August called I Run Because …

    http://eattolivelivetorun.wordpress.com/2009/08/18/i-run-because/

    Thanks for reminding me of that. It was nice to go back and re-read it. Some of the reasons still hold true for me, some are not as important to me now as they were then, and there are so many more reasons I could add. Maybe I’ll update my reasons for running in a new blog.

    Great topic 🙂

    Sorry about your “near code brown” run. It happens sometimes. It sucks though 😦

  4. Stacy April 22, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    There are countless reasons! I think first and foremost for me is summed up in a shirt I once saw — running is cheaper than therapy. I started running around when I started my own business and it has helped me to manage the ups and downs. It is my stress relief & my “me time.” Also, now when I don’t run I feel awful. My body is happier when I am running regularly. Have you ever seen the shirt that says “I run because…” and lists a bunch of reasons? Some of those ring so true as well…

    I run because I love not just he finish line, but the trip along the way. It’s my anti-depressant. Stopping would hurt so much more. Walking takes too long and I have things I need to get done. My personal best is just that: MINE. There’s no better way to explore a city or enjoy the spring flowers or the fall leaves. I’ll never know how far I can go unless I try. It’s a good kind of sore. And last, but not least, I CAN.

    Those are just a few of my favs from the shirt. 🙂

  5. mrsdevonk April 22, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    I run mostly so I can eat… but also because its such a stress reliever for me!

  6. Sarah April 24, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I don’t run. but I would like to. Eventually. When I get the knees stronger and the weight off a bit. But, you are a huge inspiration to me and I just wanted to let you know that for reals. Also, that picture of the track team… wow, just wow. I feel old now. You haven’t changed that much, but looking at the others (namely the boys) I can’t believe how young they all looked.

    Keep doing what you’re doing, Andrea. Maybe one day I’ll be running like you.

Leave a Reply

