In Honor of Earth Day…

22 Apr

In honor or Earth Day, I bring you the recap of my trip to Colorado and Utah in May 2008. This is the most beautiful part of Earth my eyes have ever laid eyes on.

*I traveled to Colorado to see Jeff, who was my boyfriend at the time, but we’re now really good friends.*

 

I left my house around 3:30am on Saturday morning and arrived in Denver around 10am.  I called Jeff when I landed, and he told me he was still about 10 miles away because there was a huge snowstorm over Vail pass (elevation 10,600 ft.).  I said I’d call when I got my bag, so I did, and he was upset because he was still standing by the elevator waiting for me, and I guess I completely missed him.  That bugger tried to surprise me!  Within a minute, he said I Iooked beautiful and skinny!  😉

On the way to his place (3 hours west of Denver), we hit some snow but made it over Vail Pass just fine.  Just before Breckenridge, we stopped for lunch at Dillon Dam Brewery, and then we stopped at Shoshone and took some pictures.


Here’s the view from Jeff’s apartment of Mount Sopris


On Saturday evening, we made the decision we would go to Utah the next day.  We stopped by Target for camping supplies, rode around checking out the scenery, and had dinner at Beau Jo’s.

We got up pretty early on Sunday and headed to Utah.  Here’s the view coming in to the state.


We made it to Moab in about 3 hours and picked out a campsite.  I can’t even describe how amazing the scenery is here.  My pictures certainly do not do it justice.


We drove around town and ended up renting a Jeep to do some off-roading.  (Jeff’s Jeep broke down last Friday, so they loaned him a Jeep Liberty.  Unfortunately, the Liberty doesn’t off-road well).  We got a modified 2008 Jeep Wrangler and headed to Fins and Things.  I never knew a vehicle could off-road like this.  We were going completely vertical up and down these rocks.  Jeff loved the look on my face when I asked "we’re not going up that, are we?"

See the tire tracks?  Yeah, scary!

After Fins and Things, we got some lunch at McStiffy’s and then headed over to Gemini Bridges, another trail to off-road.  These are pictures of the bridges, which are two natural bridges.  When you’re standing on top, it is quite a few hundred feet to the ground.  Very frightening!  I can’t believe people used to be able to drive across these!

After off-roading Gemini Bridges, we went back into town to wash off the Jeep, turn the Jeep back in, and went to dinner at Zax for pizza.  We then went to the grocery store to pick up some things for our campsite.  However, we were way too exhausted to stay awake for too long and went to bed around 10.  Sleeping in the outdoors and listening to the Colorado River while we slept was so nice!
The view from our campsite


We got up around 7 on Monday morning and headed to town to do some souvenir shopping, but they weren’t open yet.  Around 2, we headed out to Hanging Lake to do some hiking.  It was a mile up to the lake and a mile down, and unfortunately, I hadn’t gotten acclimated to the altitude yet.  Jeff lovingly referred to me as the Flatlander.  I DO live at sea level, and the trailhead started at around 6,000 feet and climbed to 7,000.  But it was all worth the huffing and puffing to see this….

We climbed up a little more and saw an even bigger waterfall



And some more pictures on the way down…


When we got back to his place, we took a nap and overslept until 9.  We had wanted to go out to a nice dinner, but we decided on Chili’s instead.

A wicked snowstorm showed up the next morning (Tuesday) and created havoc on I-70 on the way to airport.  We saw one rescue crew trying to help some people who went right over the side of the mountain.  Two of the people lived, who were wearing seatbelts, but the woman who was not wearing a seatbelt passed away.  She was 7 months pregnant.  People just don’t know how to drive in the snow on that road!  And there aren’t any guard rails!  Ah!

So that’s it… the recap of my favorite vacation to date and my favorite spot of Earth! Happy Earth Day!

4 Responses to “In Honor of Earth Day…”

  1. Heather April 22, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Beautiful pictures!

    Happy Earth Day to you too!

  2. JoAnn April 23, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Great photos. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Sana April 24, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    What a great trip! Glad you and the ex are friends!

  4. hundredtenpounds May 5, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    Amazing photos!

Leave a Reply

