I’m a Sloth

1 May

When I told my friend Dan I hadn’t run in a week, he lovingly called me a "sloth.” Isn’t he sweet?!

sloth

But he was right. I haven’t been myself for well over a week. I haven’t run. I’ve been eating pure crap. And I’ve been a miserable b*tch! I found out some potentially bad news last Thursday, and my plans to move to Florida took quite a blow. I’m still not sure where and when I’ll be moving, but I’m still moving somewhere on June 1st.

 

After my last run last Wednesday, I just haven’t felt like running. Even thought I was all “it’s okay to have a bad day” then, that’s usually what happens to me when I have a bad run. I just stop, and I end up making excuses why I shouldn’t run. One of the excuses I used was that Flo was in town. I felt bloated and miserable. Plus, it was a terrible week at work. I spent most of Wednesday crying at my desk. Fun times, I tell ya! I spent a few 12-hour days at work, and I even brought my pajamas to work on Thursday knowing I’d be there late.

 

On Thursday, I found this quote on Facebook…

“Don’t miss all the beautiful colors of the rainbow looking for that pot of gold.”

 

I really took it to heart. I’ve been focusing so much on “the pot of gold” for so long. I’ve been making plans and dreaming of my future without really enjoying the “now”. I’ve been letting friendships fall to the wayside, and I haven’t been letting the people I love know how much I care about them. I went over to my parents’ house on Sunday for some great conversation, and I had a lot of dinners with them this week. And I had a Mexican dinner with my friend Andrea on Thursday. I hadn’t gotten to hang out with her in a while, so it was wonderful to catch up!

 

Tomorrow is the Inaugural DE-Feet Breast Cancer 5K.

DE-feet Walk

I’m going to be running it with my friends Holly and Ellen. I believe this is Ellen’s first 5K. She’s on Week 6 of Couch to 5K, so she’s planning on running 25 minutes of it. I’m excited to run in a race with her! Since I haven’t run in a week and a half, I’m not expecting a PR or anything. I just want to run the whole thing.

Alright, I’m hydrated and ready for bed! It’s super hot in my bedroom on the third floor, so I’m having to sleep on the couch on the first floor. Lame.

4 Responses to “I’m a Sloth”

  1. Jess May 2, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    You know, sometimes it’s necessary to take some time off from running. First you need to let your body heal (and I’m completely serious). Second, running should be a passion, something you love, not something you hate. If your heart isn’t in it, you won’t get really far. Same thing goes for a lot of other things. But sometimes, if you take a break, you know, a real break where you live the other part of your life, then you can get back to running and rekindle the flame 🙂

    Have fun tomorrow! Go out there, have fun with your friends, and soak it in!

  2. John May 2, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Jess summed up a lot of thoughts. Enjoy your run with your friend!

  3. BostonRunner May 2, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Sometimes its good to take a break from running! I always find that when I do, I come back with even more energy and love it so much more. At the same time, it’s sometimes hard to get back into initially after you take a break. Have fun tomorrow with the race and good luck!
    I like that quote a lot, my facebook status right now is actually: “And if you hold on tight to what you think is your thing, You may find you’re missing all the rest.” (dmb) .. has a similar idea. It’s definitely something I have to remind myself every once in a while.

  4. Cassie May 2, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    Oh no! I hope your plans for Florida work out okay.

    I totally understand about feeling like crap during this time of the month. I’m all bloated and tired and miserable too. I needed to mow the lawn today and only made it through getting the front done. I figure no one can see the back and I just couldn’t motivate myself to do it.

    Next week will be better!

Leave a Reply

