DE-Feet Breast Cancer 5K

2 May

After only 3 hours of sleep, my alarm woke me up from a blissful sleep at 6:30am for the DE-Feet Breast Cancer 5K.

DE-feet Walk

I started the morning off with my usual- a deli flat with peanut butter and a banana. Never change your pre-race meal! If it works, stick with it!

005

Since this was a breast cancer race, I knew I had to wear my pretty pink running skirt and pigtails!

outfit

019

Before I left, my old high school friend Staci commented on my Facebook to let me know she’d be there too. Awesome! I don’t think I had seen her since high school graduation, which was 11 years ago. Ack, I’m old! Staci’s been very successful with her weight loss, and she’s been running now for a while. Hi Staci!!

When I arrived, there was already quite a crowd. We later found out this was the largest attendance of any Seashore Striders event. Over 500 people participated between the 1 mile walk, the 5K walk, and the 5K run.

big crowd

Early crowd

Once I was registered and not given the long sleeve t-shirt I so desperately wanted (they ran out, plus they weren’t long sleeve), I found Holly and Ellen! This was Ellen’s first 5K!

three girls

Also in our group was Manuela who I also went to high school with, Bobbi, and Kelli. Thank you, Staci, for the picture!

Manuela, Holly, Staci, me, Ellen, Bobbi, Kelli

The whistle blew at 9am, and we were off! Right from the beginning, I knew this would be a tough race. I hadn’t run in a week and a half, and it felt like Hades outside! The humidity could have stayed home. At the first mile marker, I looked down at my iPhone to see I ran a 10:13 mile, which I believe is the fastest mile I’ve ever run. Unfortunately, this pace didn’t last long. I lost all of my steam during the second mile, which was 11:56. I had to take a few walk breaks because I was feeling nauseous, but I finished in 35:39, an 11:30 pace.

With the humidity and my running hiatus, I’m not ashamed of my time. I feel good about it.

After the race, we all drove over to Friendly’s for breakfast. Since I already had half a bagel at the race, I ordered home fries and only ate half, but I downed about 4 cups of coffee. Mmmmm! Before you start with the home fries, I know that was a bad decision, but it’s hard to find something to eat at a restaurant for breakfast when you’re a vegetarian. It was either home fries or pancakes drowning in syrup. Speaking of pancakes, Friendly’s now offers pancakes with a scoop of ice cream on top. Seriously? I think I’ll start my day off with an order of that and for lunch, I’ll have the KFC Double Down. I think I just had a minor heart attack thinking of eating that crap.

But anyways… a BIG congratulations to Caren for running Broad Street today!!! It was her first race longer than a 5K!

Now it’s time for me to continue packing. I’m about to head out to pick up some boxes someone graciously offered on FreeCycle!

Oh, and P.S., add me on SparkPeople if you’re a member. I’m Rockstar117! I started the 2011 Disney Princess Half Marathon Spark Team, so join!!!

9 Responses to “DE-Feet Breast Cancer 5K”

  1. Staci May 2, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out. You’ve been an inspiration as I’ve started running more and more!

    It was so great to see you today! I’ll try to upload the picture later tonight.

  2. Caren May 2, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Oh My Goodness! Thank you so much for mentioning me on your blog! You’re so sweet. It was a great race, I can see why people really rave about it but we did miss you. (Well, I did, my cousin doesn’t know you. 😉 ) Maybe next year… you’ll be used to the heat by then too if we have weather like we did today!

    I LOL at the “before you start on the homefries” comment. Hey, everything in moderation, right. I also wanted to tell you the pancakes aren’t bad until you add that syrup (or ice cream? yum!) I wonder if Friendly’s has sugar free, that often makes a big difference.

    Anyway, we’re still in Philly, going out tonight and not worrying about anything I eat or drink. Heck, I might have homefries on top of a pancake with syrup and ice cream. LOL!

    Thanks again!

  3. Sana May 2, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Congrats on a great 5k!!

  4. Ashleigh May 2, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    I think that’s an awesome time!! Congrats, girl! Cute skirt!

  5. Cassie May 2, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    Woohoo! Congrats on the race!

  6. Robyn May 3, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Love the outfit! Great race recap.

  7. rainbwsnkittns May 3, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Congrats on your 5k! And on running in that hideous humidity. It’s been really humid here too, so I know the feeling!

  8. Karly May 3, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Hi girlie,

    Well done getting back out and running after your hiatus. I just wanted you to know that I’m running my very first 5K this coming Saturday. I’ve been wanting to do it for a long time and found so much inspiration from your blog. Keep it up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Garmin Day! « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - May 5, 2010

    […] exist in my world. I felt really nauseous after the first mile, which is the exact problem I had on Sunday at the 5K, but I kept on going without stopping to walk. I finished 2 miles in 21:19, a 10:39 […]

Leave a Reply

