Garmin Day!

5 May

It’s a happy day in my house! I was finally able to order the Garmin Forerunner 305!!!

garmin-forerunner-305

I can finally just go out and run and not have to map it out first. I can now travel on new routes and enjoy new scenery!! I’ve wanted this for sooooo long, but I told myself I would only get it as a reward for running the Disney Princess Half Marathon and the NYC Half Marathon. I really feel like I can really train for the marathon now.

Now on to this week’s running schedule… yesterday was supposed to be a 1.5 mile run, but I went out to dinner with my parents last night to Abbott’s Grill. I enjoyed their hummus appetizer and a blackened Mahi Mahi sandwich. I was stuffed when I left! So stuffed that when I got home, I laid down on the couch and accidentally fell asleep. So I made up the run today and did 2 miles. The weather was just right in the 70s, but I was having a lot of stiffness in my legs. They just felt heavy and hard to move after the first mile, which was actually my fastest mile I’ve ever run… 10:12! I can’t wait to break that 10-minute mile. But really, I need to stop trying to go out so fast. Negative splits don’t exist in my world. I felt really nauseous after the first mile, which is the exact problem I had on Sunday at the 5K, but I kept on going without stopping to walk. I finished 2 miles in 21:19, a 10:39 pace.

I’ve made plans for tomorrow evening, so I won’t be running tomorrow. But the Garmin is arriving on Friday, so I’ll take it out for a 3-miler that day.

I have some great news I want to share with you all, and it’s killing me that I can’t share yet!

10 Responses to “Garmin Day!”

  1. John May 5, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    I’ve always thought it strange that my fastest runs are when they feel like crap. Why can’t they be that good when you feel good?!

    You’ll enjoy the Garmin!

  2. JC May 6, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    Nice! I have the same Garmin & it’s AWESOME.

  3. Kat May 6, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    Congrats! I love mine 🙂

  4. hundredtenpounds May 6, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on the Garmin. I’m undecided on whether to get one.

  5. Robyn May 6, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Yay for the garmin! I love mine. And congrats on the fast 2 miles.

  6. Heather May 7, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Congrats on your run!

    You will love the garmin – it was the best birthday/christmas present I ever got. I use it so often!

  7. poisonivy250 May 7, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Awesome! You will definitely love the Garmin. I’m a gadget junkie and I can’t imagine going back to running without one. I need information! LOL

  8. Kristen May 8, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I’m so jealous that you got the Garmin…..I’m waiting for my birthday to swing around again so I can ask for one.

    I can’t wait to hear the news.

  9. BostonRunner May 8, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Congrats on the Garmin! I have the same one and I love it : )

  10. Cassie May 8, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Yay for getting the Garmin! I can’t wait to hear the news 🙂

Leave a Reply

