I’ve lost my mojo….

9 May

First, let’s go through some updates. On Wednesday, I received a check from the IRS because I found a mistake on my 2008 taxes and amended them. So I finally ordered myself a Garmin Forerunner 305!!! Even though I didn’t pay for one-day shipping, it arrived very promptly the next day!

032

I affectionately named her Gabby because I assume we’ll be having a lot of long conversations in the near future!

That night (Thursday), I went to happy hour at a friend’s house with my mom and stayed for about an hour enjoying about 3 glasses of wine and some cheese and crackers. After that, I drove up to Magnolia for a Texas Hold ‘Em poker game. There were about 30 players, and we’ve all become such great friends. And my friend Mallory shared some of her wine with me. So by the end of the night, I was tipsy!!!

 

On Friday, I finally took Gabby out for her first run! We did 3 miles in 33:16, an 11:05 pace. I loved running with the Garmin! I spent a lot of the time hitting the “enter” key to turn the little light on because it was nighttime, and I couldn’t see the numbers. When I came home, I realized I should have read the manual first because it doesn’t automatically time your splits if you don’t program it to. I need to spend more time programming it to fit me. Plus, I need to find something to make it a bit more comfortable on my wrist. My wrist is pretty much the boniest, thinnest part of my body, and Gabby rubs against my wrist bone too much. Maybe I’ll put a sweat band underneath.

I had to take a shot of us post-run together…

013

 

On Saturday, I was supposed to do a 5K at the Dover Air Force Base with my friends Mallory and Liz, but I had to wake up at 4:45, and when I woke up, I felt like I really needed to take the day off. I felt really bad for bailing on them 😦

Later that day, my friend Ellen invited me out to sushi happy hour at Stingray. I had been rocking my curly hair for a day, so I thought I’d play with it and rock out a side bun that day.

028

I thought it looked good for a little while, but as the day went on, it looked frizzy.

I ordered the most beautiful cosmo with dinner!

031

After dinner, I hit up Marshall’s and got a running skirt and Speedo cotton shorts for me, and I got my mom her Mother’s Day gift, which was a gardening bag, 2 Nicholas Sparks books, a notepad, some orange candies, and some Harry & David chocolates. I accidentally fell asleep shortly after I got home and got a good night’s sleep.

 

Today, I’ve been catching up with Lost, cutting coupons, and I went over to Mom and Dad’s house to celebrate Mother’s Day for a few hours. She loved her gift! We spent the whole time laughing and carrying on. Good times!

When I got back to my house, I set out with Gabby and my new running skirt for a 3.5 mile run. Unfortunately, the skirt is one size too large, so I spent way too long yanking it up so I didn’t moon anyone. I tired out only 8 minutes in! I felt defeated! I was dehydrated, and I haven’t been fueling properly. So I told myself I’d just walk the rest of the way. However, my stomach caught up with me after 1.5 miles, and I had to hurry home! Seriously, what has been up with me lately??? I finished 2.21 miles 34:19, a 15:29 pace.

I think I’ve been running so poorly lately because I don’t have anything specific I’m training for. Sure, I’m doing 5Ks this summer, but I don’t necessarily need to “train” for those since I can already do it. I can work on speed though. And I know I want to do the WDW Marathon in January, but since I haven’t paid for registration, I haven’t been fully committed it. So in other words, I’ve lost my mojo. I find it hard to run without a specific goal in mind. And I know I need to fully engage myself in Spring Training. When I did Week 1, I really felt like I was making progress with my speed and endurance, and my best 5K came after Week 1. I know that if I stick with the training each and every day, I’ll get better, and I’ll get my mojo back!

So here’s week 4:

week 4

Here’s to a great week!!!

7 Responses to “I’ve lost my mojo….”

  1. christy May 9, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    in the first pic of you it looks like your hair is cut. i LOVE that length on you. you should try it 😉

  2. hundredtenpounds May 9, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the Garmin. I’ve been debating back and forth on whether to get one.

  3. Laura May 10, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    I LOVE my Garmin…probably too much. You can change the backlight to stay on longer…I just can’t remember how long it will stay on.

  4. Heather May 10, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I love my garmin – it takes some time getting used to and experimenting with – now I can’t imagine running without it!

    I wish my hair would do cute things like that – I can’t pull off the side poneytail!

  5. Veronica May 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I really like my Garmin. I might be a little bit too dependant on it sometimes though….if it dies in the middle of a run I have been known to turn around and walk home. lol

  6. Cassie May 13, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Your hair is super cute in that side bun!

  7. Robyn May 21, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    Congrats on the Garmin! I love mine.

Leave a Reply

