The Elusive Negative Split

13 May

So on Sunday, my good friend Mallory texted me to say “are we still doing the run on May 15? I wanna do the 10K run instead of the 5K.” Knowing I love a challenge, I told her I’d run it with her, but since I haven’t run anything longer than 3 miles since my NYC Half Marathon, I would most likely let her run at her own pace, which is faster than mine. Holy run-on sentence, Batman! So then I texted Holly, and she’s up for it too! Plus, my parents have decided to come along to be spectators. It’s a rare occasion my dad comes along, and I actually get a little choked up if I see my parents watching me run.

Like always, I didn’t follow this week’s training schedule whatsoever. I was supposed to run on Tuesday, but that didn’t happen because of rain and a poker game I wanted to go to. But I got back into it on Wednesday with a 2-miler. For a while now, I’ve been taking the advice of others and haven’t been stretching before running. I would just walk 5 minutes and then. But these past 2 days I stretched really well beforehand, and my legs and knees feel so much better throughout the run. They feel loose and free to just GO!

On Wednesday’s run, I ran most of the first mile in a sub-10 minute mile, but it ended up being 10:11, and the second mile was 10:30, bringing my pace to 10:20/mile. My fastest pace ever!!!

Besides some side stitches in the second mile, I seriously felt awesome! My legs just wanted to move, and I felt like my upper body couldn’t keep up.

Today (Thursday), I had a very similar run and felt pretty amazing. Since I have the 10k on Saturday, I kept it at 2 miles again. First mile was 10:26, and my second mile was 10:21. My first negative split ever!!! I’ve always read about negative splits, and I’ve always thought to myself “there’s just no way I’ll ever be one of those runners. That seems impossible for the girl who burns out and slows up quickly.” Well, this was only 2 miles, but it’s a start. And I can see I’m improving, and I’m getting faster.

Well, I’m sorry there aren’t any pictures in this post. I know, I know. I don’t like to read books or blogs without pictures either, but deal with it. 🙂 Night night!

3 Responses to “The Elusive Negative Split”

  1. hundredtenpounds May 14, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Congrats on the PR! That’s such a cool feeling. You’ll only get faster from there! 🙂

  2. John May 15, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    That’s awesome to see your run times improve! How’s the poker going anyways? Too well to post in fear the IRS finds out? 🙂

  3. Laura May 17, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Great job! You are doing amazing…

Leave a Reply

