Surf Bagel 10K

19 May

Even though I hadn’t run more than 3 miles since the NYC Half Marathon, I decided to join my friends in a 10K last Saturday. Even upon arriving, I still didn’t know my plan of attack. I knew I couldn’t run the whole thing, so the plan was either “run until you can’t go anymore” or “run 10, walk 1” like I did for my half-marathon training. So I decided at the start line that I was going to do the first of the two. I wanted to know how far I could go without stopping. But after the first mile, the thoughts in my head were “you better revert back to half-marathon training or you’re going to straight up burn out”. So, I stopped at around 13:00 and walked a bit. But I didn’t keep up with the 10/1 intervals. The sun was blaring. My knee was raging. And I even contemplated quitting after 3 miles. But I kept going. I’m no quitter!

My mile splits, thanks to Gabby the Garmin:

Mile 1-10:45

Mile 2- 11:32

Mile 3- 12:34

Mile 4- 12:20

Mile 5- 13:14

Mile 6- 13:19

Mile 6.2- 1:52

Total- 1:15:39

Average pace- 12:14/mile

 

Since this was my first 10k, I knew from the beginning I was already going to PR, and I let myself not worry about my time. But I was still disappointed with myself for walking so much and not sticking to a plan.

Miles 3.5- 5 were just lonely. There weren’t too many participants, so after mile 2, I was pretty much on the road by myself with no other people in sight in front of me or in back of me. Even though I knew they were there, I was alone and I felt like if I gave up and walked, no one would see me and judge me.

But when I hit mile 5, I was in familiar territory again in the downtown part of Lewes where I trained for my half-marathons. I felt more at ease, but I still kept walking a little because I didn’t want to throw up. At the very end, I saw my dad waiting for me and waving at me. It helped knowing my parents were there, and it helped me finish strong.

All of the 5Kers had left by the time I strolled in, but the 10Kers were still around waiting for medals. My friends were there to give me water and encourage me. I also got to meet a few new people too. That’s what I love about running- the community!

When it came time for the medals, I was surprised to hear my name called! I placed third in my age group… and there were more than 3 people in my group!

 

10k medal 3

Holly placed 2nd in her age group, and Mallory placed second in our age group.

10k girls 

Thank you, Mom and Dad, for coming to my race! It means the world to me 🙂

11 Responses to “Surf Bagel 10K”

  1. Caroline May 20, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    That’s awesome, lady! Great job sticking with it! Have you tried experimenting with other foods before exercise? You seem to talk about feeling nauseous a lot. Maybe there’s something lighter you could try… Toast instead of bagels? I don’t know, but it might e worth experimenting with.

    • runeatdatesleep May 20, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Yeah, I need to look in to eating other things. I did switch to the deli thins instead of bagels. I didn’t feel sick during the half marathons. It’s usually the short races. I suppose it might be nerves because I’m trying so hard to beat a certain time.

  2. Heather May 20, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Great job on your run!

    Be proud of yourself!

  3. hundredtenpounds May 20, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    GREAT job!!! That’s so cool you placed 3rd!

  4. Emily May 20, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Congrats on the run!! That is so great you came in 3rd!

  5. Robyn May 21, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Great job! I’ve never placed in a race, that’s awesome.

  6. Cassie May 22, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Good job-third place!

  7. BostonRunner May 23, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Congrats girl! Way to not give up and place!!

  8. John May 25, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    Good job sticking it out and placing!

  9. Devon May 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Congrats on the 10k and getting 3rd in your age group! That’s great!

  10. Eunice @ Food4Fit June 1, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Congrats on placing in your age group! And I just read your post about running the Disney marathon. So exciting! Good luck with your training. 🙂

Leave a Reply

