Rebuilding…

10 Jun

Well, it’s been almost a month since  I blogged… and for good reason. I’ve been internet-less at home, I picked up a second job, and I moved!

As you might know by now, I had plans on moving to Orlando, and unfortunately, they fell through. So I moved a little closer to work and kept my job with my family.

So here’s a bit about what’s been going on with me in the past few weeks…

I haven’t been running much. With a second job and moving, there just hasn’t been enough time. But now that things are settling down, I’m going to kick things back into business. On Saturday, I did the 3rd Annual Race for the Ribbon 5K with a few of my friends.

It was a HOT race and probably my worst.

Mile 1- 10:51

Mile 2- 12:44

Mile 3- 12:42

.11 Nub- 1:16

Total- 37:35 for a 12:04 pace

I was severely disappointed in myself, but even the guys who placed said it was their worse race. I was just looking up race results, and I placed third in my age group!

On Monday, I did a 2-miler to get my momentum back. My new neighborhood butts up to my childhood neighborhood, so it was fun running around where I learned how to ride a bike and where I made so many good friends. The 2-miler took me 23:21, an 11:20 pace. To help myself build back up to my old endurance, I did 5/1 intervals, meaning I did intervals of running 5 minutes and walked 1 minute.

I was hoping to get a good run in last night, but my stomach wasn’t doing well. Remember I went vegetarian because I thought meat made me sick? Well, I think it really is true. I hadn’t gotten sick since January, so I added a few meats back in recently just to see what would happen. Yeah, I was sick again yesterday and all of last night. Ugh!

I’m feeling a little better today, but I took the day off of work to sleep in, rest, and relax. Once I’m back to 100%, it’s back to marathon training, which will include swimming as part of my cross-training.

Tonight’s plans involve seeing some old friends and the new SATC movie!

5 Responses to “Rebuilding…”

  1. notesfromthenest June 10, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Nice post.

  2. poisonivy250 June 10, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Welcome back! The weather has just gotten too ridiculously hot for running outside it seems, atleast here in central Alabama. Its forced alot of treadmill runs recently. Love the pink ribbon awards for the race!

  3. Julia June 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Glad to hear things are settling down for you a bit. Hey, don’t be so down about your run – you still completed it and that is an amazing accomplishment. You’ve had a ton going on, you’ll be back to your old self in no time. I hope you get your tummy situation figured out – how weird that meat makes you sick. I have cut down on meat in my diet lately and have been feeling better too. 🙂

  4. runninginpinkproject June 10, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    Welcome back to the blog world! Glad you are getting settled. Enjoy the movie. 🙂

  5. Lauren @ Team Giles June 11, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Glad you’re back 🙂 you’ve been busy!

    Sorry the race wasnt your best, but I think you did great. Hot weather is hard to run in.

    I’ve been a vegetarian for about almost 5 years now. 🙂 I love it

Leave a Reply

