Fourth of July in Jacksonville

11 Jul

Jeff called me early last week and asked me if I could meet him in Jacksonville, Florida, where he was going to be spending the 4th with his sister and her fiancé. At first, I thought I couldn’t afford it, but then I found a cheap flight. And then I remembered I had to get a shift covered at my second job, and thankfully, someone took it. So I booked my flight and headed out Friday afternoon. My flight came in an hour before Jeff’s and since I was in the same terminal as his and already through security, I decided to wait at his gate and surprise him. As soon as he saw me, he had the biggest smile. We hugged for a long time. And then we made it to baggage claim to meet Mike, his sister’s fiancé.

Since it was 1am before we got to their house, we went to sleep and woke up around 9am on Saturday morning. We had lunch at the Jacksonville Ale House and then came back to ride their wave runners for a few hours.

Isn’t the view from their back yard gorgeous??



We actually got really close to a bunch of dolphins! It was so cool! I wish I could have brought my camera on the wave runner. We caught a late dinner at Clark’s Fish Camp. We were all a bit disappointed in the food. Most of it was severely deep fried.

This is the back of the restaurant, which looks out over the water. We actually saw an enormous gator, which had to be at least 12-feet long. Eek!

036

Us on our way to dinner. I think we still look pretty cute together.

On Sunday (Fourth of July), Jeff and Emilie’s uncles and aunts came over, along with some neighbors and friends. It was a great time fishing, wave running, and stuffing our mouths! I felt like I was a part of his family again. His aunts and uncles all remembered me, and they hadn’t seen me in 6 years. We all met in Key West in 2004. Jeff taught me how to drive the wave runner so I could finally take it out on my own. It was a blast! I got it up to around 50 mph! Jeff and Mike get them up much higher, but 50 was about all I could handle. It was like driving a motorcycle, or at least that’s what Jeff said it feels like.

On Monday, we didn’t have too much time before we had to pack and leave for the airport, but we had lunch at a 50s-style diner and drove around sight-seeing.

Well that’s it. It was a great weekend spent with wonderful people! Hope you all had a wonderful 4th!

3 Responses to “Fourth of July in Jacksonville”

  1. John July 12, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    What a great weekend! I’ve never been on a waverunner but somedaay as they seem like they’d be so much fun.

  2. BostonRunner July 14, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Sounds like such a fun time! I love wave runners and that’s so awesome that you got to see dolphins out there! They really need to start making quality waterproof cameras : )

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 31, 2010

    […] Fourth of July in Jacksonville with […]

Leave a Reply

