Do what makes you come alive

21 Jul

Don’t ask yourself what the world needs;
ask yourself what makes you come alive.
And then go and do that.
Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.
-Harold Thurman

 

In an effort to learn more about my fellow panelists for the Healthy Living Summit, I stumbled upon Heather’s blog. She has this quote on her “About Me” page, and as soon as I read it, I couldn’t help myself from crying. “Ask yourself what makes you come alive”…. this is pretty easy for me. Running. But… In the past few months, I’ve caught myself telling people I’ve fallen out of love with running. It hurts. It’s a struggle. I can’t breathe in the heat. I’ve injured myself. I’ve come up with every excuse in the book not to be out there running. This quote made me realize my love affair with my feet hitting the pavement has not gone away. I love running and what it’s made me. I miss it, and I’m ready to start again. It’s amazing what one quote can make you feel.

 

Now if only the hip and foot pain would go away!

6 Responses to “Do what makes you come alive”

  1. Laura July 22, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    I love this quote…
    I am so scared of being injured.. I still have that all or nothing mentality so I am dedicated this time around in training that I stretch, ice, foam roll etc just in case.
    Keep at it and chin up!

  2. JoAnn July 22, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    Great quote. Yes, you do seem much more happy when you are into your running mode. It’s all of those endorphins.

  3. bryan July 22, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    I read your blog from time to time (come here from runninginpink [my wife]), but this is a really moving post. I LOVE cycling, I run to support my wife, but my passion is on two wheels. I allowed myself to fall out of it for too many years after training for a 150k bike ride (and finishing 17th out of 450 people), and have recently fallen HARD again for my old lover. I’m now getting in about 20+/- miles a week.

    Thanks for inspiring others as well as yourself 😀

  4. Emily July 22, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    What a great quote!! I can empathize – knee/hip pain, crazy work schedule – it is so easy to let the running go by the wayside.

  5. thenheathersaid July 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    the first time I read that quote it took my breath away! Isn’t it so powerful? (AND TRUE!)

    I’m glad that I could pass on something that spoke so strongly to you! Healthy Ashley and I had a conversation not too long ago about how we go through seasons as runners – sometimes we love running and all we can do is go go go. Sometimes we THINK we SHOULD love running and we push ourselves even though we dread every step. Sometimes our bodies say “HEY! CRAZY LADY. WE NEED A BREAK!” Even when we don’t want a break. Even when we want to keep logging miles, and continue to feel the healing powers of the pavement.

    But there is a time for every season, and sometimes it just takes a little nod from one place or another to push you back there to where you feel the most at home, in your running gear with the wind at your back and a gentle pitter patter through the world.

    Welcome back.

    xo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Almost A Weekend « The Running In Pink Project - July 22, 2010

    […] the sheer gross-ness of the weather has been my big excuse not to. This evening I was inspired by a post that my blog pal (and roomie for the Healthy Living Summit) made on her blog last night. Running is […]

Leave a Reply

