Healthy Living Summit 2010~ Friday

17 Aug

This past Friday, the 13th, I hopped on an airplane in Baltimore to take me to the “Windy City” for the 2nd annual Healthy Living Summit!

I rose bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 2:30am on Friday morning and made it to the airport in plenty of time to grab a healthy breakfast of strawberries, pita triangles, and brie cheese.

brie

For airport food, it wasn’t bad at all. Surprising, huh?

Unfortunately, the plane ride got the worst of me. I was sick all weekend with allergies, so my equilibrium was off, and therefore, I got severely dizzy on the plane. I was by the window in the last aisle, which meant I was kinda stuck, and I started to panic. Luckily, I was able to breathe deeply, and the dizzy spell disappeared, and I was able to nap the rest of the way there.

I always get excited when I see Lake Michigan from above because I know the flight won’t be much longer.

lake michigan

Welcome to Chicago!!!

welcome

I caught the van to the Congress Plaza Hotel, where the weekend’s festivities would be held.

099 - Copy

My roommate, Sara, who I had never met IRL (in real life), was also on her way to the hotel. I waited in the lobby and met some other fellow bloggers like Lindsay and Shannon, and Lindsay’s co-worker Annelies. While waiting, I saw Angela was making plans to meet in the lobby at 11am for lunch and photography around the city and was asking if anyone wanted to join. So as soon as Sara arrived, we all made the decision to head out with Angela and some other bloggers.

lunch outing

We walked a few blocks to check out some awesome fountains and “The Bean”!

014

015 017

018

020

026

It wasn’t the coolest day out, and Sara and I had both been up since the very early morning hours and hadn’t had much to eat, so we decided to split off from the crowd with a few others for lunch at Caffe Baci. I had the Milano Pizza, which had arugula, prosciutto, and shaved parmesan.

029

You can’t go to lunch with a bunch of food bloggers without taking pictures of your food!

030 Nicole and JT

After scarfing down our lunches, we walked a few quick blocks back to our hotel to check in and catch some zzzzzs before heading out to the OpenSky Cocktail Party! We were all chatting about the stories we had been reading online about the hotel being haunted. I mean, seriously, check out the elevator doors.

elevator Photo courtesy of Melissa

And the hallways are straight out of “The Shining”, dontcha think??

031

032

092 - Copy

I’ll post more later on all of the haunted happenings 🙂

Sara and I took a nap for a few hours and got up in time to get ready for the cocktail party over at LaSalle Power Company.

037


Sara and I were one of the first ones there. We were each given a free drink ticket, and they served some great heavy apps like spinach dip, a salad with a delicious balsamic dressing, turkey burger sliders, hummus and pita triangles, chicken skewers, shrimp skewers, and veggie and cheese quesadillas.

040

We had the best time chatting it up with our fellow healthy living bloggers, like Caitlin!

HLS Caitlin

And Meghann

046

045

And Melissa

052

And Leslie

055

I was super excited to finally meet Danielle, who I’ve been “online friends” with for over 7 years now. We finally got to meet at the party!

051

The food was delicious and very filling! This was my plate… yeah, the mustard was a bit difficult to get on the sandwich.

047

It had been a very long night, so we headed out promptly at 9pm when the party was over and went to sleep almost immediately upon returning to our room. The next day would be filled with fun, food, new friends, and lots of information!

10 Responses to “Healthy Living Summit 2010~ Friday”

  1. runninginpinkproject August 17, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    THE BEAN!!!! It was hotter than the surface of the sun at the bean on Friday. 😀
    Sara-

  2. Melissa August 18, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    Ahh, I love my creepy elevator picture! The hotel was realyl scary by the time I left: I kept hearing thuds and bangs and wondering if it was a ghost or just housekeeping. 🙂

  3. Leslie August 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    So fun meeting you IRL! Love the recap! 🙂

  4. Ashleigh August 18, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Looks like a fun night!! Your dress is so cute. I can’t wait to hear more about the haunted happenings!

  5. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish August 18, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    Wow, it looks like it was such a fun weekend! I’m making it my goal to be there next year! Hopefully you’ll be there too? 🙂

    The prosciutto pizza looks amazing! I’m glad you were able to meet so many inspiring bloggers!

  6. Jessie (Bites and Pieces) August 19, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Now that I am safely back at home, I would love to hear about your “haunted happenings”. I was so creeped out by the hotel, but luckily I didn’t see or hear any ghosts.

    Too bad we didn’t get to meet, hopefully there will be a next time. I loved hearing your perspective during the panel!

  7. LiveForTheRun August 19, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    What an amazing recap! And I love you took pictures of our crazy hotel. Those stairs were downright dangerous, lol.

    Fantastic meeting you at the party!

  8. Heather @ Side of Sneakers August 19, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    Loved your recap!! 🙂

  9. Cassie August 20, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    Sounds like a great trip!!! I wish I had started reading Caitlin’s blog earlier so I would have known about it!

  10. Sara August 21, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    I am enjoying your Chicago recap. It looks like so much fun! You look fabulous…that dress looks great on you!

Leave a Reply

