Healthy Living Summit~ Saturday Morning

19 Aug

I woke up on Saturday not very well-rested due to my allergies. I could barely hear out of both ears. I was coughing and blowing my nose all night. Sorry, Sara!

I was due at the conference room at 7:45 along with all of the other speakers, and I was able to get a few shots before everyone came on down to fill the room.

066

068

067

The morning was started off right with a breakfast sponsored by Quaker, Stonyfield, and Thomas’.

My plate

001

I got my notes and laptop ready and grabbed an interesting-flavored water out of my swag bag.

070

069

They quickly ran out of coffee, but I made a mad dash to get a cup once it was restocked. Keynote speaker, Christine Palumbo, spoke of the top 11 tips to living a healthy lifestyle. Instead of recreating the wheel and listing my notes, I’ll just point you towards Katie’s recap.

I then moved downstairs to the “Fueling for Fitness” session by Rebecca Scritchfield and Heather Calcote, both registered dietitians.

003

A few of my notes from their session:

  • The average American exercises 17 minutes per day.
  • In order to fuel properly, eat low fiber carbs (white bread), fruits, oatmeal, fig newtons, pb crackers
  • Do not fuel with dairy or juice
  • Avoid too much caffeine before working out
  • Post work-out fuel should be carbs and proteins (smoothies, drinkable yogurts, thick crust pizza)

Endurance Athletes should fuel with the following:

  • A high-carb, moderate protein, and low fat meal and 16 ounces of water 1-2 hours before workout.
  • 1 cup water/sports drink 15 minutes before workout along with simple carbs (gummies)
  • Drink 2-4 ounces of fluid every 20 minutes
  • Recovery nutrition as soon as tolerated
  • Meal or snack within 1 hour after workout

Some other noteworthy quotes:

  • “We need to healthify our body image, not just accept ourselves.”
  • “Thin does not equate healthiness”

After the first session, Sara and I ran upstairs to drop off our enormous swag bags so we wouldn’t have to carry them all day. Just look at all of the wonderful, useful swag!

004

I was so excited to finally try the famous Glo Bars!

006

008

010

009 005

When we returned, we attended the “Stepping Up Your Photography” session by Nicole. I didn’t take many notes because I was too busy playing around with my point-and-shoot camera and learning what all of the buttons meant. When I came to lunch, I took some of the things I learned from the session and put them to the test as the food was being set out.

020

021

022

Lunch was absolutely delicious! Thank you, Arnold and Oroweat!

Next post will be about the rest of day including the panel I was on, ghost hunting, and a new dining experience- vegan!

8 Responses to “Healthy Living Summit~ Saturday Morning”

  1. runninginpinkproject August 19, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Did you love the glo-bar? I really liked it but I need to try one made without the coffee because Im not a huge coffee flavor in food fan.

    • runeatdatesleep August 19, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      I loved it actually. I can’t wait to place an order!

  2. Sana August 19, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    I want to remake those chickpeas! They were soooo good!!!

  3. Sonja August 20, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    I’ve been waiting for you to post about the seminars! Thanks for sharing the fuel info, that’s really helpful to me because for the longest time I wasn’t sure what I was doing wrong.

    I’m so glad you had a great time and hopefully your allergies have gotten better!!

    Also, dang girl! Thats ALOT of sweet swag!! 🙂

    xoxo

  4. hundredtenpounds August 20, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    17 minutes a day?! Man, I’m an overachiever! 😉

  5. MarathonVal August 20, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Great meeting you at the HLS! 🙂 Have a great day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 31, 2010

    […] Healthy Living Summit in Chicago […]

  2. Five for Friday: Things I’ve Learned From Running « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 18, 2011

    […] I was in Chicago for the Healthy Living Summit, Rebecca Scritchfield and Heather Calcote shared some excellent fueling advice with […]

Leave a Reply

