A Glorious Weekend

21 Aug

The other day when I went in to my second job (waiting tables) and noticed I hadn’t been given any shifts this weekend, I wasn’t mad in the least. I would finally get a weekend off! After a long, exhausting (but very positive) weekend of traveling back and forth to Chicago, I needed to catch up on sleep and just enjoy my own company. In fact this weekend off, coupled with the lesson I learned in Chicago to focus on me, encouraged me to resign from my second job.

Friday after work, my friend Andrea came to my office to meet me to grab some snacks before heading over to a game of Bingo! I grabbed some beef jerky, natural potato chips, and a Nantucket Nectars juice. We had a great time laughing and chatting it up during the game…

bingo

But we didn’t win anything.

It was so nice to leave bingo and think to myself “I get to sleep in tomorrow.” It had been way too long.

I woke up this morning with such a great, positive attitude, and I headed out the door to the beach for a 3-mile walk on my favorite trail, some healthy grocery shopping, and lunch at my favorite place.

When I lived at the beach, the Breakwater Trail was my refuge. I trained for my two half-marathons on this trail, even though it was covered in snow most of the time. Today was a beautiful, hot day at the trail!

trail 3

trail 1

trail 5

trail 2

trail 4

trail 6

Although it was just a walk, I feel this is the best way for me to rebuild after knee and hip pain and plantar fasciitis. If I’m going to attempt the Walt Disney World Marathon in January, I really need to start training soon. On Tuesday,  I did a 3.4 mile walk around my neighborhood and tried to run, but my knee felt like it would blow up if I went another step, so I kept walking. But today, I tried running and there was zero pain anywhere. But I had to stop running because I wore a sports bra specifically for walking, so I wasn’t prepared to run. At least I know my body is recovering, and I’ll be able to start running soon. Today,  finished 3 miles in 48 minutes.

After my walk, I went grocery shopping and took my HLS swag bag with me 🙂 I have to say, I’m very proud of what I bought today. No junk. Lots of organic food and good, wholesome meals. Since I have yet to reorganize my time and priorities, my menu planning is lacking, so I opted to pick up a lot of Amy’s Kitchen meals in the meantime.

Lunch was at Arena’s, which is quite honestly, my favorite restaurant at the beach. I ordered a raspberry iced coffee with nonfat  milk and an unpictured cup of chili and veggie burger with guac, salsa, and melted Monterrey Jack cheese.

As soon as I got home, I put on my new soft-as-heck Gap nightgown and laid down on my couch for some Ghost Hunters and a nap. Gloriousness!

3 Responses to “A Glorious Weekend”

  1. runninginpinkproject August 21, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    I am totally getting one of those night gowns. The Gap knows whats up. Its probably like sleeping wrapped in a cloud. 🙂

  2. Sana August 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    I always hate it when I wear the wrong bra 😦 I usually have to leave a group fitness class because it is super uncomfortable!

  3. hundredtenpounds August 23, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    What a cool looking trail!

Leave a Reply

