HLS 2010~ The Rest of Saturday

22 Aug

After lunch, it was time for Anne, Heather, Julie, Sana, and me to head up to the stage for our panel, “The Ups and Downs of Pressing Publish: Getting Real About the Blogging Community”. We’d be discussing some of the blogging community’s biggest taboo questions such as:

“Is it impossible to break into blogging and become well-known unless you’re friends with a ‘big blogger’ or  linked to a ‘big blogger’ all the time?”

“Do you feel pressure to post multiple times a day?”

“How do you handle negative comments?”

“Does blogging put pressure on you to be perfectly healthy all the time?”

 

panel 2panel 3

panel 1

All photos courtesy of Arnold

 

We emphasized the importance in being an “active” blogger, and it’s imperative to participate in twitter conversations, blogger meet-ups, etc. in order to become “well-known”. But your blog is YOUR blog. Becoming a “big blogger” takes times. As I put it, you don’t start training for a marathon and start off as Deena Kastor. You eventually build up your endurance and your speed, just like you build up your readership on your blog. Katie has a great recap of our panel here.

The last question asked was “what’s the most positive thing that’s happened to you as a direct result of blogging” For me, I wouldn’t be a blogger or a half-marathon without Danielle. We’ve been online friends for many years, but when she started blogging about her marathon training, I was hooked! I began to blog as well, and through reading her blog, I developed enough confidence to register and train for two half-marathons.

When I ran cross country in high school, I didn’t do it to “compete”. I just wanted to be part of the team. I wasn’t the fastest, and I only “lettered” in the sport because there were seven letters to hand out, and I was the seventh girl on the team. No one ever made fun of my weight in high school, at least not to my face, but I imposed the “fat girl” image on myself. Now through running, I no longer think of myself as “fat”.

After our panel, we learned a lot from Chandra about strength training, and then, Anne and I, along with a few others, went ghost hunting on the 12th floor. We had some spooky experiences, but I’ll blog about that later 🙂

When we came back, we were able to snag a few snacks from the Athenos snack break and catch the last discussion, “Stop Staring Over Your Shoulder: How to Avoid the Self-Comparison Trap” led by Caitlin and Gena. The discussion started with an amazing speech by Katie, who spoke about how blogging helped change her attitude about fad diets and calorie restriction, and she learned to eat real, wholesome foods and lost 25 pounds. If you want to read her story, click here.

 

Then it was time to start making plans for the evening. Sara headed out to yoga, and I stayed in because for one, I didn’t RSVP fast enough to the walking tour or yoga and two, I was still sick. I took a long nap, and when Sara came back from yoga, we headed out with some other bloggers to Karyn’s on Green. Honestly, we were both excited to try vegan food, and we were both expecting this would be “dinner”. Instead, it was more of a party on the restaurant’s top floor, which felt like it was about to burst in to flames. The wait staff wasn’t prepared for 20+ bloggers all ordering at once. We had to eat on a couch, fetch our own silverware and napkins, and chase down servers for glasses of water. It was a great thought, and I’m sure others had fun, but I personally did not enjoy this.

 

I ordered the maki roll and fra diavolo

030 031

Both were decent, but not really what I wanted.

 

Stayed tuned for my fabulous day with Sara on the Magnificent Mile!

4 Responses to “HLS 2010~ The Rest of Saturday”

  1. Sana August 22, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    That last pic- is an AMAZING pic of us. I love the way that I am looking at you ( not creepy at all)!

    ADORE the new header!

  2. smilelivelaughlove August 22, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Hi Andrea!
    Thank you for posting all about the HLS! I really am getting a lot out of the links, etc that you are putting up. I will definitely be around here much more often….I am taking MORE time for me now 🙂

    Thanks for being such an inspiration to me (even though you may not know how much!!)

    ~Sarah

  3. smilelivelaughlove August 22, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    ps that Maki roll looks amazing!

  4. Danielle August 23, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out!

    I’m so glad that my journey was able to help you see that you can do ANYTHING that you put your mind to! You are an amazing woman…never forget that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

