Tackling the Magnificent Mile

28 Aug

There was a fun 5K run/walk planned for the Sunday of the Healthy Living Summit, but Sara and I chose to make our own plans to tackle the Magnificent Mile. We had been emailing back and forth for months about where we would go to window shop and spend lots of money.

 

We started our day off by trying to find the nearest Starbucks. Luckily, my iPhone Starbucks app provided a map with all of Chicago’s Starbucks locations so we didn’t get lost. I enjoyed an iced raspberry coffee (my new addiction) and a cheese danish.

037

We then caught a cab down to all of the shops on Michigan Avenue, and we took some photos before getting our shop on. I remember this Old Water Tower from my last trip to Chicago. It’s one of the only buildings that did not burn down in the Great Chicago Fire.

 

038

041

039

 

Our first stop was Filene’s Basement where I scored some awesome Mary Jane – style heels (you can’t see the strap in this picture though)

075 - Copy

and some Ralph Lauren hoop earrings.  Next door was a 3-story H&M, where I’ve surprisingly never shopped but ended up buying 2 pairs of linen pants, a skirt, and a cute long-sleeve shirt. Next was a seven-story Macy’s where I couldn’t find anything I wanted. So odd. Well, actually, I found some Philosophy lotion, but that seemed like an airplane nightmare waiting to happen. We also went to Gap where I got 2 pairs of jeans, a soft as hell nightgown, and a t-shirt.

 

We were starting to get hungry, so we started truckin’ it to the closest Lou Malnatti’s, a deep-dish pizza restaurant which came highly recommended. Unfortunately, after a 1+ mile walk, we were disappointed by a sign on their door stating they were closed for a company event. So we found the next closest Lou’s and took a cab there. Closed as well. Our dreams of deep-dish pizza were dwindling. We eventually found a not-so-great pizza place and enjoyed a satisfying, yet greasy lunch there.

Sara convinced me to try this awesome champagne bistro called Pops for a snack.

049

 

052

055  

We both enjoyed a glass of wine each and this lovely chocolate cake.

061

058 - Copy 

 

Since Danielle and I were already talking about doing dinner on Sunday night, I texted her wondering if she and her new roomies would want to get deep-dish that night. Luckily, they all wanted pizza as well so we made plans to try Giordano’s that night.

072 - Copy

 

girls Shannon, Nicci, Sara, and me

 

071 - Copy

Danielle was our designated photographer

080

 

087

 

089 - Copy

 

091

danielle and me

I’m glad we all decided to have dinner together. It was so fun meeting everyone!

4 Responses to “Tackling the Magnificent Mile”

  1. Sana August 28, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    Anddd this is what I missed out on! I guess I need to head back to Chicago!

  2. FruitFly August 28, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    That pizza looks scrumptious! YUM!

  3. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com August 28, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    YUM! I LOVE Giordano’s!It is reason to go back to Chicago ASAP!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Random Things Friday « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - September 16, 2011

    […] Non-fat Lattes from Starbucks. They remind me of Chicago. I ordered my first ever raspberry latte when I was in Chicago for HLS. And it reminds me of my trip to Colorado because I ordered one before taking my mortgage license […]

Leave a Reply

