Haunted Happenings

29 Aug

It wasn’t long after arriving at the Congress Plaza Hotel when I found out this hotel was possibly haunted. While waiting to meet up with Angela and some others, I googled this hotel and it’s ghost stories. Many reviews of the hotel recounted stories of paranormal activity, especially on the 12th floor. One reviewer said there was a sign going up to the 15th floor stating any intruders would be arrested. This could just not be true.

We asked the front desk clerk about the stories upon checking in, and she just giggled like she knew something but couldn’t say much.

Sara and I went up to the 12th floor on our own, but it was just as creepy as our own floor, the 10th.

031

We had quite the time finding our room, and ended up feeling caught in between two floors and in the middle of the Twilight Zone.

On Saturday after my panel, Anne, Katy, and Tina invited me to go ghost hunting with them on the 12th floor. I had mentioned something to them about one of the stories involving a door on the 12th floor that’s nailed shut. We went looking for this door, and when we got close to a suspicious door, we heard a door down the hall open, and then we heard voices. But it didn’t sound normal. It sounded like the person was on a loud speaker, and he was kind of sing-songy. It sounded like he was singing about green beans. We never saw anyone though. Just doors opening and closing. We headed back to the conference where we ran in to Sabrina, who just happened to be staying on the 12th floor. She got so freaked out by our story, she found a new hotel.

We hadn’t had enough, so Anne, Megan, me, and some others headed back to the 12th floor. We sat around in a circle while Megan read off the ghost stories on her phone.

025

We got brave and went to look for the sign heading up to the 15th floor. Since the elevator doesn’t go up to the 15th floor, we hopped off on the 14th floor and soon found a door blocking off the stairwell to the 15th floor. The door was actually unlocked, so Megan held the door open while Anne and I climbed the stairs. There is, in fact, a sign.

027

That’s quite a harsh punishment!! I wonder what’s up there!

So moving on to my last day there… Sara had left, and I was in the room all alone. I had just gotten out of the shower, so I was only in a towel when I heard a knock at the door. Well, it was more of fingernails tapping than a knock. I very quickly threw on my nightgown and opened the door. No one there. Now, I was far enough down the hall that someone would have still been in the hall when I opened the door. Creepy!

I heard Angela also had a story about someone riding a bike down the hall in the middle of the night, but you’ll have to ask her about that.

Quite a spooky hotel!

14 Responses to “Haunted Happenings”

  1. Anne P August 29, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

    SOOO creepy… I’m still wishing we’d checked out the ballroom late at night!

  2. Caren August 29, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    I have been waiting and waiting and waiting to hear your stories. So scary! I would honestly not be able to stay there. Having lived on the “oldest residential street in the US” for 11 years, I believe in ghost stories. Someone told me our house was haunted but we never encountered anything odd, other neighbors however, definitely did. I’ll have to investigate some more about your hotel… that 15th floor sign is creepy! Did you ask about it?

  3. What Kate Ate August 29, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I guess Im lucky we were on the 7th floor! We slept like babies 🙂

  4. RhodeyGirl Tests August 29, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    I am very happy Gina and I changed hotels. I was SO uncomfortable at that hotel. Never again!!!

  5. Zoe August 29, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    That sounds very cool! AND creepy! 🙂 I love stuff like that.

  6. Nicole @ Making Good Choices August 30, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    I’ve also been waiting for the ghost stories! I love reading about it but would have changed hotels if I was there!

  7. Amanda @ Vegacious August 30, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    Creepy! I was on the 7th floor in the south tower. Never experienced anything, but heard stories from several others on the north tower.

  8. Lauren @ Girlwiththepinkhat.blogspot.com August 30, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    So scary! I am not sure if I would like that kind of hotel, but it is kinda exciting too!

  9. Radha August 30, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I would have been so tempted to go on the 15th floor! Sounds like a neat adventure to me!!

  10. FruitFly September 1, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    How fun, I love it!!! That 15th floor would have driven me nuts – and I’d totally want to take a room on the 12th!
    ~RR

  11. Melissa @ TryingToHeal September 1, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    i wished i had been staying at that hotel! i am obsessed with ghosts and stories!!!

  12. diana @ i can eat, cant i? September 5, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    hiii… i’m new to your blog! the sign is so funny. you should enter and see what happen! keke, jk.

  13. Zac September 11, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    Staff insists there isn’t a 15th floor, and there’s no mention of it except for a couple guest posts. Perhaps it’s rooftop access?

    10th floor south tower, heard someone pacing up and down our hall snapping fingers, uninterrupted through the elevator/stairwell section’s door. Then had a crazy dream/vision about it! I wish someone would publish a biographical history about this place…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Haunted Happenings « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep -- Topsy.com - August 30, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Anne P, Andrea. Andrea said: Ghost stories from the Healthy Living Summit!! http://bit.ly/c9OUoq #hls […]

Leave a Reply

