A Productive, Yet Lazy Saturday

4 Sep

I went to bed pretty early last night at 10pm in hopes I’d get an early (for me) start today and still get plenty of sleep. I woke up at 9am and started going through some random boxes in my house. There’s a huge possibility I will be moving soon, and being inspired Emily’s big move, I started putting items in 3 different boxes – yard sale, swap, and donate. It’s time to purge all of these things I’ve been holding on to for sentimental reasons.

025

I belong to a womens social group, and we often get together and “swap” items we no longer want but know someone else would treasure them.

Next on my list of things to do- watch Nerd KERF videos on how to reorganize my life via Google. I made a spreadsheet for my bills with payments, due dates, etc. And then I put my tasks and appointments on my Google Calendar.

Finally, I cleared out all unread blog posts in Google Reader. I was stressing out because I had over 1000 unread posts to read. Now it’s all cleared out like I have a clean slate. It’s a relief actually.

Even though I was being productive, I felt lazy. I felt the fat talk coming on, but my butt stayed on the couch. I even tweeted about having zero motivation to run. I started making excuses- hip pain, knee pain, etc. But I just received knee sleeves in the mail the other day, so I couldn’t complain about my knees. So I finally told myself to just watch one more episode of Glee, and then I’d go for a walk.

But when I got all geared up and went outside and felt the beautiful weather (79 degrees), I knew I had to run. All day, I had been reading blogs by Meghann, Ashley, and Kelly about how they ran 20 miles this morning as part of their marathon training. I was so inspired, and I knew I had to get my butt in gear if there’s any hope for running the Philadelphia Half in November and the Disney full marathon in January. So my goal of walking a few miles turned in to a 4-mile run/walk.

Unfortunately, after 3.2 miles, my stomach got the best of me so I just walked the rest of the 4 miles as fast as I could.

Here are the stats (I did 2/2 intervals for the first 3 miles and then walked the last mile):

Mile 1- 12:13

Mile 2- 12:53

Mile 3- 13:26

Mile 4- 16:47

Total- 55:23, a 13:50 pace

Overall, I’m thrilled and proud I set out to do something and over-exceeded my goal. The knee sleeves really helped as I felt no pain during my run and no pain afterwards so far. My hip pain was tolerable. I iced it when I came home, and I massaged my left foot’s arch (plantar fasciitis).

Although I’m proud of this run, I’m disappointed with how much endurance I’ve lost. But I need to remember it doesn’t come back overnight, and I just need to keep working on it!

Now I’m enjoying Titanic and a Dogfish Head Shelter Pale Ale 🙂

022

Good night!

4 Responses to “A Productive, Yet Lazy Saturday”

  1. Sana September 4, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    I am glad you went out for a walk/ run!!! I was GOING to, but I ate dinner instead. I can’t run on back to back days- but I can tomm!

  2. Heather September 5, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    I had a similar Saturday – cleaned out my google reader, gmail and google tasks. Nerd Kerf Style!

    Great job on your run. I had a similar debate with myself this morning but ended up going on a 2 mile run – and it felt great. The hardest part is getting out the door!

  3. tropicaleats September 5, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    proud of you!! Love the new blog look too. That is SO neat you have a group to swap things with… I was just thinkin the other day that I wear the same clothes over and over every week.

  4. Cassie September 17, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Way to go! Come find me on Twitter: sassycassie3232. I didn’t know you were on there!

Leave a Reply

