Smile for Freedom 5K and a Confession

11 Sep

For the past few months, I’ve been part of  a planning committee for a 5K. It would be the first annual 5K associated with my town’s Riverwalk Festival, which commemorates 9/11. We had a great turn-out for our first year- 148 walkers and runners!

freedom 5k

freedom 5K 2

freedom 5k 3

And they’re off!

freedom 5K 4

Unfortunately, I decided to only volunteer (and cheerlead!) because I was having some soreness in my knee. But watching everyone else surely was inspiring!

Throughout this week, I’ve had a terrible time figuring out quite what to do with my marathon training. I ran in to the personal trainer at the Y (which I joined again after a 3-month hiatus), and he told me I should stop running because of my plantar fasciitis. But after some research, I’m not even sure if I have plantar fasciitis. It’s described more as heel pain, but my pain is only in my arch. I’ve seen two general medicine doctors, but I’ll see a podiatrist soon.

Intensifying my urge to run was what the scale told me today. I had been afraid to step on the scale for a few months now. I haven’t been eating as healthy as I should, and I certainly haven’t been moving enough. I’ve gained 18 pounds since finishing my last half-marathon in March. Eighteen pounds. I need to be okay with this. I need to know I’m able to take it off again. I know running is the quickest way I slim down and feel so much better about myself, so I set out today for a 5-miler on my favorite trail, Breakwater!

trail 5

trail 2

I started the first 2.5 miles off at 2/1 intervals, but I ended the last 2.5 miles with 2/2 intervals. Here’s my stats:

9-11

An overall pace of 13:00 minutes… I’ll take it! That’s pretty decent for walking more than a third of it.

 

After my run, I stretched and headed over to the running store where I am usually greeted by Bob, the man who has taught me so much about training. Unfortunately, he wasn’t there, and I just didn’t get the great experience I usually get there. Boooo. But I went there with one item in mind. I wanted a Moving Comfort sports bra.

 

I had read so many great reviews of this bra, especially for us “bigger” girls, and since mine is so old (and painful), I decided to splurge.

 

For the rest of the day, I’ve watched a lot of 9/11 documentaries. I remember that day so well. I was a junior in college at the University of Delaware. I was so busy getting ready for the day, I barely heard the IM from my friend James telling me to turn on the news. After sitting on the couch with my head in my hands for a while, I continued getting ready for class because I had not heard a word from my professors. I figured I would muster up the energy to go onto campus. I got ready to head to class as I watched the second plane hit, the plane hit the Pentagon, and the towers crumble to the ground. I went to my first class. Professor Sestak held class for about 10 minutes and let us go. I walked around campus for a while, trying to call everyone I knew on my cell phone with no success. Mostly everyone on campus was silent or a complete mess. University of Delaware is notorious for its large percentage of students from New York. Trabant Student Center was filled with students and professors gathered around the TVs. I stood there too, thanking God my family was safe at home. And then I thought… Chad. My brother was in the Navy, and I immediately thought he would go to war. And he did, eventually. I went to another class, and I can’t really remember if Professor Nelson held class or not. After a while, I went home, sat on the couch, and called my mom. I got through this time, and I couldn’t hold back my tears of fear that Chad would have to go to war. She spoke in her cool, calm manner she always does when she knows I’m upset.

Nine years later, the tears still flow. My thoughts go out to all families who lost loved ones on that tragic day.

Where were you that day? How are you spending your weekend?

4 Responses to “Smile for Freedom 5K and a Confession”

  1. Becca@start over from scratch September 11, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Congrats on a successful 5k and on your 5 miler! You did a great job! I’m just starting out with the Couch to 5k!Let me know how that bra works out as I am a “bigger” girl too!

  2. Sana September 11, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Yay!!!! We both had AWESOME 5 mile runs today! Don’t you love just knocking them out :)!

  3. FruitFly September 11, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    What a gorgeous running path you have there!
    I’ve heard people suggest that bra- let us know how you like it!

    And on that day I was getting ready to go to work in Walt Disney World when I watched it all go down live. I had to call my mom in Oregon – and she happened to have woken up early, so we were watching it together. It was the only time I’ve ever had to actually help evacuate guests from the entire theme park. Very eerie to see EVERYTHING in Walt Disney World closed. Still, this many years later, I can’t help but watch ANY documentaries about that day.

  4. Runner Girl September 12, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    If you don’t have any luck with the moving comfort bra you should try this one: http://www.onesweetone.com/ . The Enell is way better than the moving comfort bra for no bounce and comfort for “bigger” girls. Spendy, but worth it and they last a long time. Great run and awesome scenery too!! Good Job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

