Maybe the treadmill isn’t so bad

13 Sep

Remember when I broke up with the treadmill? Well, we had a little chat tonight and made up. I need to utilize the treadmill to work on speed and discipline. I love running outside, but I let myself slow down. The treadmill keeps me going at a good pace, and I have to hit a button to go slower. Hitting that button is a mind trick for me. I somehow think the whole gym will see me slow down.

It’s like eating when I’m alone. I’ll eat more when I’m alone, but if I’m out around others, I’ll eat less. Same with running… I’ll go slower if I think no one is watching.

So, with that said, I had a successful night on the treadmill. Marathon training called for a 2-mile run today, and I upped my intervals to 3/1 instead of 2/1. I’ll eventually build up the endurance I once had when I was training for the half-marathons.

My first mile was 12:30, and the second mile was 11:49 (negative split!!!) , for a pace of 12:09/minute.

I spent the greater part of today feeling pretty enormous. I definitely no longer fit into my size 10s, and my size 12s are getting tighter every day. I even almost left work early to change in to yoga pants and a t-shirt so I could be comfortable. But when I got on that treadmill and could see the side view of myself, all I could think was “look at those calves! They look awesome!” I feel great!

That’s all for tonight! I’m tired!

4 Responses to “Maybe the treadmill isn’t so bad”

  1. Lisa September 14, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    I hate the treadmill…but a recent injury means no running for 6 weeks and when I can start running again my doc suggested a treadmill for awhile. SIGH!

  2. Veronica September 14, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    Thats awesome that even though you were feeling “enormous” all day, you were still able to see how strong and fit your calves are! I always feel like I put in more effort at the gym because I feel like everyone is staring at me (even though they probably arent!)

  3. Sophia Gettys September 18, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    HI!! My name is Sophia Ayala Gettys:) I was suggested by one of my friends to check out your blog, we’re on somewhat similar paths:) I’m training for my first marathon too!!! I’m a 29 yr old plus size diva and the NYC marathon is my goal this NOV 7th! I love your work, the breaking up with the treadmil is exactly where I was a few months ago, but I totally agree! Pace wise it’s totally worthy. I’m so excited to follow your journey!
    XOXO
    Sophia
    I have a blog too! If you want to check it out I can give you the link:)

    • Sophia Gettys September 18, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      I realized you can decide if you wnat this on, so if you don’t want the link on your page you can block the comment:) my blog is on the website hybridmom.com! It’s a weekly blog and I update on Sundays:) I’m in Denver too!!

      http://www.hybridmom.com/blog/?author=25

Leave a Reply

