Dewey Beach Sprint Triathlon 2010

19 Sep

Whenever anyone asks me for advice on how to get started running, I tell them to volunteer at a race. The inspiration you’ll get will push you farther than you can imagine. Last year, I arrived to volunteer at the Dewey Beach Triathlon before the sun even rose. I body-marked all of the fit, athletic bodies and watched all of them compete in a grueling triathlon. I gained so much inspiration from this event, which is why I volunteered to do it again this year.

photo1

I woke up a little late, so I wasn’t there in time to body-mark, but when I arrived I helped set up and was set in place to help direct the bicyclists when they arrived back in the transition area.

photo3

I know these pictures defy all rules of photography with the sun being in the picture and all, but oh well.

photo2

The American flags lined the sand dunes from the beach to the transition area. They started the event with a swim of 0.5 miles in the ocean.

photo7

photo6

Next would be a 7 mile bike ride.

photo4

And then a 3.1 mile run.

My last duty of the day was to clip off their timing chips, which were attached to their sweaty, sand-encrusted ankles. But we were all rewarded with 16 Mile beer.

photo9

Once we were finished and all of the people left the beach, I went to go look at the ocean and reflect since this might be the last time in a while I might see the Atlantic Ocean.

photo10

photo11

After all of the work was done, another volunteer (Stephanie) and I headed over to the Starboard for a delicious lunch! I had a crab quesadilla, and we shared some sweet potato fries. Unfortunately, it happened to be Bike Week, so we had to wait over an hour for our table. But the food was well worth the wait.

photo13

Dewey Beach, you’ll be missed while I’m living it up in the Colorado Rockies!

photo12

Sorry I didn’t say too much in this post. I’m not feeling very talkative tonight.

If you’re ever looking for motivation and inspiration, volunteer at a race!

Have you ever volunteered at a race before? Did you have fun?

5 Responses to “Dewey Beach Sprint Triathlon 2010”

  1. Sana September 19, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    I would have never thought to volunteer at a race before 🙂 I really enjoyed our convo today 🙂

    • runeatdatesleep September 19, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      I enjoyed our conversation too! You gave me a lot to think about!

  2. Bride Anne September 20, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I get to go to Bethany in just over 2 weeks!!! So excited! I know that you’ll miss the beach (who doesn’t?), but I am so excited for what lies ahead in Colorado.

  3. Emily September 20, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    How cool!! I’ve wanted to volunteer at a race for awhile now but haven’t. You are helping to motivate me to actually do it.

  4. FruitFly September 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    I think that is so cool that you volunteered! I would like to do that some day. Perhaps if I am injured and can’t run I will take the opportunity to volunteer. I really want to be able to see the first runner cross the finish line. I feel like that would be exciting!
    ~RR

Leave a Reply

