The “goodbyes” begin…

12 Oct

“The family.  We were a strange little band of characters trudging through life sharing diseases and toothpaste, coveting one another’s desserts, hiding shampoo, borrowing money, locking each other out of our rooms, inflicting pain and kissing to heal it in the same instant, loving, laughing, defending, and trying to figure out the common thread that bound us all together.  ~Erma Bombeck”

Leaving my family doesn’t make me sad, but I’m certainly overwhelmed with emotions. I will be in touch with them frequently, and I’m certain I’ll make lots of trips home, but that doesn’t make leaving them less hard.

We all gathered tonight for dinner Abbott’s Grill where we all drooled over our amazingly delicious meals!

Other than this being my “going away” dinner, it was my cousin Susan’s anniversary with her husband Paul. They’ve been together 8 years!

005

My cousins Jessica and Susan, Paul, my Aunt Connie, my grandfather, my brother Chad, Chad’s wife Michelle, and my parents joined me this evening.

007

Me and my brother

010

Me, my mom, and Aunt Connie

003

Shannon and I worked together at Abbott’s (well, she still works there. I don’t)

008

Me and my Pop Pop

011

Saying “farewell” to Pop Pop was the hardest. He’s the quintessential grandfather. He’s sentimental, and I always start to cry when he starts to cry. It was hard!

Can you tell I’ve gained weight? I’ve been hesitant to post pictures of myself recently. A long break from running and the stress from my upcoming move have helped me pack on the pounds. I can’t look at that picture of my grandfather and I and think “awww, that’s sweet.” What I’m thinking is “gee, Andrea, you let yourself go.” I’m not going to let this get to me. I will get settled in CO and start the routine again. I’m still planning on running (or should I say completing) the marathon in January. Must.get.on.it!

I miss being thinner … big frowny face.

 

P.S. I move to Colorado in 10 days!!!! I’ll be going there this Thursday-Sunday for a little getaway first. We have plans to go hiking, and we might catch a hayride! Yay!

6 Responses to “The “goodbyes” begin…”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. October 13, 2010 at 7:22 am #

    You’re beautiful…don’t get too down over some extra weight (although I know full well this is easier said than done) 🙂

    • Sarah October 13, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

      You are beautiful!
      I have every little bit of faith in you that you will complete the marathon in January and even still run most or all of it. I am very confident that once you get settled in CO you will really melt away a lot of your stress.

      Im sure the goodbyes are really difficult. I could not even imagine 😦 Good luck in your packing and all the final goodbyes! Have a great time with Jeff this weekend!

  2. FruitFly October 13, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Good luck with your move and all the emotions that come with it. It is exciting, yet I remember when I moved to Florida from Oregon – watching my mom stand in the driveway crying while I pulled away just sent me into my own crying spell! (She won – after 4 years I moved back to Oregon and now she’s a happy mommy again!)
    ~RR

  3. Lessons in Life and Light October 13, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    You look gorgeous!

    And I always get sad saying goodbye to my grandpa too. He lives in Chicago and I’m all the way in Idaho.

  4. Trish October 14, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Well, for what it’s worth, as I was scrolling down through the pictures I thought to myself “Wow, she’s really pretty!”

    Do what makes you happy and healthy, but always remember that you’re a beautiful woman no matter what. 🙂

  5. Emily October 15, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    What a cute picture of you & your grandpa! And you are beautiful! Good luck on your move.

Leave a Reply

