Rocky Mountain High

15 Oct

I arrived yesterday in Denver and was greeted by one of my great loves- mountains!!! Hello, Colorado! How I’ve missed you!

I made my way to Evergreen to meet my new boss at a cute restaurant named El Rancho. Check out the view from our table!!

004

Yup, that’s fresh snow they just got a few days ago. Fortunately, it was just on the peaks of the mountains and didn’t effect travel at all. I had an amazing turkey and avocado croissant sandwich. If I’m ever back in Evergreen, I’ll definitely be stopping there. The food and service were spectacular!

After lunch, I made the 3-hour drive to Glenwood Springs. Let me tell you something… that drive is scary! With steep grades of 6%, it’s hard to slow down and stay on the road and swerve around ultra-slow semi-trucks. It’s like an extreme sport!

Since lunch ran later than I thought, Jeff was already home when I arrived. He showed me around the house and we talked about where my furniture would go.

Check out our awesome view from our balcony!

022

023

Since we were both starving by this point, he took me to one of his favorite restaurants in Carbondale, White House Pizza. They have excellent spinach and artichoke dip… simply heavenly! We also got a buffalo bleu small pizza.

 

Today was test time! One of the requirements for me to originate mortgages in Colorado is to pass the Colorado state exam, which includes almost all CO state mortgage law. I had to travel an hour and a half to get there, but the scenery was worth the drive!

011

013

014

020

018

021

 

The exit I was supposed to take was closed. So I had to use my iPhone to find a different way to get there. And then the campus was doing construction, so it took me a good half-hour to find the testing center. But I made it there with 2 minutes to spare! The test was tough! I knew quite a few of the answers, but some were never mentioned in the study material. But good news…

exam

I PASSED!! Now I just need to complete a few of the other requirements, which are pretty simple like fingerprints, and I’ll be all set!

After calling my parents and texting Jeff to tell them the good news, I headed to The Pita Pit for lunch!

015

 

Now I’m enjoying a little break at Starbucks since I don’t know Jeff’s wireless password, and neither does he.

027

We’re going on a Ghost Walk later to see Doc Holliday’s grave!

Tomorrow’s adventures may include a road trip to Marble and then to Crested Butte!

6 Responses to “Rocky Mountain High”

  1. JoAnn October 15, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Glad you are having such an amazing time! Great photos and congrats on passing with flying colors.

  2. Bride Anne October 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Congrats on passing! And very jealous of your scenery and Pita Pit! Colorado is so gorgeous.

  3. Sarah October 17, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS on passing!!!!

    I knew you would do it though!! 🙂
    I am so happy for you Andrea….and so jealous of your views. I love the mountains. They are so gorgeous!

  4. Tiffany October 18, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    I can tell you took your test in Grand Junction just from the pictures! Congrats on passing your test and you will get so use to those curves that soon you will be driving them fast with no problem.

  5. FruitFly October 18, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    Congrats on passing!
    And I totally want to hear about the grave!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Five Random Things Friday « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - September 16, 2011

    […] I ordered my first ever raspberry latte when I was in Chicago for HLS. And it reminds me of my trip to Colorado because I ordered one before taking my mortgage license exam. I rarely treat myself to Starbucks, […]

Leave a Reply

