Take me to the place I love

22 Oct

On Friday evening, Jeff and I headed to the Linwood Cemetery trailhead for Glenwood Springs’ History Society Ghost Walk. It was a small, moderately strenuous hike up the mountain, but the performances of all of the “ghosts” made the journey well worth it. Each actor shared a lengthy story about some of their personal history, some Glenwood history, and a story about how they died. One of the “ghosts” was the famous Doc Holliday, who died while spending his last days in Glenwood Springs.

cemetery

The next morning, we got up somewhat early and headed to Breakfast in America in El Jebel. Jeff had forgotten how big the servings were, so next time, we are planning on splitting something! We both could only finish half of our meals. The neat thing about this restaurant is that it’s only a horseshoe-shaped bar, and you can watch the chefs cook while you wait.

003

After breakfast, our plans were still up in the air, so we finally decided on heading up to Independence Pass just south of Aspen. Along the drive, we stopped at a few places for some photo ops.

005

006

007

008

Kind of a scary road, I think.

011

013

014

012

015

016

018

Getting really close to “tree line”…

019 

At the top! 12,095 feet in elevation! Holy low oxygen, Batman!

021

023 

025

Then we were off to Buena Vista for lunch… some pictures on the way there…

026

I believe this is Mount Yale, part of the Collegiate Peaks.

028

030

Once in Buena Vista, we checked out their new whitewater park.

032

031

034

037

036

033

How cool is this “living room” in the park?

038 

041

We headed home by way of Leadville, the highest town in the country. This is also where I dropped my precious iPhone in a convenience store and busted the screen. Luckily, it still works.

(source)

When we got home, we headed the Roaring Fork River in hopes of catching some trout, but no such luck.

042

043

That night, we rented Paranormal Activity, and then I was on my way home the next afternoon.

 

If you haven’t seen on my Facebook, the move has been postponed for reasons I’m not up for talking about at this time. I’m okay though.

7 Responses to “Take me to the place I love”

  1. Caren October 22, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Wow. It looks absolutely beautiful there. I’ve never been to Colorado but after seeing your pictures, I’d really love to go. I hope everything ends up working out the way you want it to.

  2. Tiffany October 23, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    I hope you do move here so we can do a race together!. I love independence pass – isn’t amazing how parts of it are only big enough for 1 car and it is paved? Next time you are in Buena Vista you will have to stop at the base of Cottonwood Pass and check out the Cottonwood Pass Hot Springs

  3. Tiffany October 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Can I be your facebook friend? What is your last name – I am Tiffany Ziegenhorn O’Connell.

    • runeatdatesleep October 25, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      Sure, I just sent you a request! Last name is Moore.

  4. FruitFly October 26, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Gorgeous pictures! And I agree – that road looks scary. My feet got into their “scary road cold sweat” upon seeing it actually. Here I am- the girl that LOVES all things ghost related, and trying scary things, yet roads freak me out!

    Looks like a fun trip!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back in the game « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - November 2, 2010

    […] I decided to venture out once again to see if I still had a long run in me. Now that I’m postponing my move to Colorado, I can now run this race with my good friend Holly! We’re both very […]

  2. 2010 in Review « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 31, 2010

    […] Vacation in Glenwood Springs, Colorado […]

Leave a Reply

