Back in the game

2 Nov

After a very terrible few months of dealing with plantar fasciitis and a bum knee and one last straw, I began a break from running on September 20th. I have sat on the couch for over a month. I really haven’t even walked, swam, or biked. I’ve been lazy. However, with only 3 weeks before the Philadelphia Half-Marathon, I decided to venture out once again to see if I still had a long run in me. Now that I’m postponing my move to Colorado, I can now run this race with my good friend Holly! We’re both very excited.

On Halloween, I made the drive to my favorite trail and decided to complete 5 miles.

trail

However, I could not find my Garmin’s charging dock, so keeping track of intervals was going to be a problem. I wasn’t worried about keeping track of mileage because the trail was marked. So I went in to this run thinking “just go out and do it. It doesn’t matter how it gets done. Just do it”. Plus, I remember one of the Biggest Loser contestants saying that Bob would always assign them homework every night, and it was to complete 5 miles… either by walking or running or a combination of both. So if those Biggest Loser people can do 5 miles, I could too!

To my surprise, the run began super easy. No pain and no shortness of breath. I was so giddy! My first mile is usually the worst, and this one started off completely right. I knew I had to complete 5 miles and I knew I had to have the energy to complete that, so I started walking breaks around the .75 mile mark. From there, I just ran when I could and walked when I need to. When I got to the turnaround point, I decided to make the run 6 miles and go a bit further instead of turning around right away. So proud of myself!

I completed 6 miles on Sunday after over a month off from running. In a way, I’m glad I didn’t take the Garmin. I know I would have beat myself up over time. Instead, I’m happy I completed it.

After 4 miles, I knew I needed a chocolate milk afterwards, and that pushed me to just get the run over with! I teamed it up with some apple slices. Wawa has apple slices without the skin. I know it’s a healthy part of the apple, but the skin always get stuck in between my teeth!

nom noms 

I am super excited to have my passion for running back! My legs still hurt, and it’s been 2 days! But I didn’t experience any pain in my knee at all, and the plantar fasciitis seems to have subsided. Yippee! Now I can feel like I can tackle the Philadelphia Half-Marathon and the Disney Marathon. I can do anything 🙂

4 Responses to “Back in the game”

  1. Lisa November 2, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    I’m glad your run went well. Sometimes a break is a GOOD thing!! Don’t let it get you totally down.

  2. Michele @ Healthy Cultivations November 2, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Just found your blog, and I like it. I’ll be back to visit. Glad your run went well.

  3. Nicci (NiftyEats) November 6, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Yay for no pain!!!

  4. Emily November 7, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Yum! I love chocolate milk after a run. Glad you had a good run! It’s nice to find out you can go farther than you planned. And how great no knee pain!! You definitely can do anything! 🙂

Leave a Reply

