My Glorious 29th Birthday Weekend

8 Nov

Thanks to my wonderful friends and family, I celebrated one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had!

066

It all started on Saturday, the day before my birthday. I arrived at Lotus Spa right on time for my Swedish, hour-long massage. It was nice, but I miss Janet. She did a much better job, but she moved away a few months ago. As soon as I came out of the room, my mom was there waiting for me so we could go to lunch and go shopping! Her birthday was on Friday, so we always share our birthdays the day in between.

We made our way over to Finbar’s across the street from the salon

062

and ordered a round of drinks… virgin dacquari for her, Strongbow Cider for me.

064

This was my first time in Finbar’s, and it definitely impressed me. I love the decor… maybe because I’m Irish!

063

065

067

068

069

Mom and I both had their pumpkin crab bisque. I loved their crab quesadillas, and Mom got a turkey and brie sandwich.

After our delicious lunch, Mom and I stopped at the running company so I could buy new shoes!!! Mine are already worn out.

070

071

They are the Asics Gel Nimbus 12s, the newer model of my old shoes. They’re so pretty, and I’m glad they’re not pink. I’m not hatin’ on pink, but I got tired of looking too girly.

We also went to the Christmas Open House at Hallmark, where I stocked up on cards and a new ornament. I also got a new shower curtain and shower curtain liner from Marshall’s, along with a pair of sunglasses and a new long-sleeve, quick dry running shirt (which I love!!!). It was an awesome day spent with my fabulous mom!

That night, I enjoyed the Back to the Future marathon running on ABC Family.

 

On Sunday, my 29th birthday, I woke up to many “Happy Birthday” messages on Facebook. I felt so loved. But I also woke up from some really awful nightmares, so that didn’t start my day off well. Even though it was my birthday, I stuck to my training plan and completed 8 miles today at the trail! I spent the first mile dealing with foot pain. It was so bad, I thought for sure I’d need to quit. But I figured out my shoes were just tied too tight. Whoops!

I love the scenery at this trail!

trail

I spent the entire run doing 2/1 intervals (run for 2, walk for 1), and never once did I feel out of breath or tired or in pain (besides foot pain in the first mile). I carried a bottle of 1/2 Gatorade, 1/2 water in my Nathan fuel belt, and I think the Gatorade gave me that extra umph. I’ve never taken it on a run before. I also had one Chocolate Outrage GU, which tastes like chocolate frosting. I highly recommend!

Here’s my splits…

november 7 splits

Not bad of a time for doing 2/1 splits.

Plus, I put together a new running playlist today. It was nice to have a fresh set of tunes!

marathon playlist

"If you want to become the best runner you can be, start now. Don’t spend the rest of your life wondering if you can do it."
-Priscilla Welch

After my run, I came back home to quickly shower and get ready for my evening out with my good friend Ellen! Our plans included a sushi dinner at Stingray, a coffee stop at Starbucks, some browsing at Pier One, and Paranormal Activity 2. We shared a ton of laughs and screams. It was perfect!

Me before going out… ya know, to remember what I looked like when I turned 29.

060

 

092

091

090

094

Their mac and cheese tots are ah-may-zing!!!

tots

I got my favorite at Starbucks- Tall Latte with Skim and Raspberry

097

Ellen got a pumpkin spice latter. We ooooh and aahhhhed over the smells of our coffees…

099

100

The movie was so creepy and scary… I didn’t even want to come home to my empty house. But I was proactive… I left some lights on so I could see if any demons were roaming around my house.

 

Thank you to everyone who made my day so special!

4 Responses to “My Glorious 29th Birthday Weekend”

  1. Cassie November 9, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    Happy Birthday!!! It sounds like you have an awesome madre and good friends that really made it a great time!

  2. FruitFly November 16, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    That looks like so much fun!
    Happy belated Birthday!! 🙂

  3. Emily @ For Sweets Sake November 17, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    Happy Birthday! Glad you had such a great day 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 31, 2010

    […] My 29th Birthday […]

Leave a Reply

