Mexican Brown Rice Casserole

27 Nov

I’ve really failed to make myself a really good dinner in a REALLY long time, and I finally found the motivation to cook (and clean, but we’ll get to that later). I perused my favorite blogs and jotted down the ingredients to some of my favorite recipes and headed to the store. This was probably the first time in a while my cart was mostly produce and organic, natural food. I know… I haven’t been good to myself lately, but you’ll see that changing now.

On the list for tonight was Mexican Brown Rice Casserole from fANNEtastic food. Since there’s been some talk of recipe copyright, I’ll just let you go check out the recipe for the ingredients, but here’s everything that went on in my kitchen tonight!

Setting out the ingredients… I’m all about everything being mise en place before I start. That’s my Hotel and Restaurant Management degree coming out. If you didn’t already know, I graduated from the University of Delaware with a B.S. in HRIM. You would think with a course load heavy in culinary, I’d cook for myself more.

001 

Ingredients before the rice and eggs were added… such a pretty mix. I added red onion’s to Anne’s recipe. The hummus makes it creamy without needing any cheese!

003

Add in the rice and eggs

004

Pour it in a casserole dish

005

006

Put in the oven for 25-30 minutes

008

009

Enjoy!

010

(don’t worry.. it’s a big bowl, and I got plenty!)

Thank you, Anne, for sharing your awesome recipe.

This required hardly any effort, and I now have leftovers to enjoy for a few days!

5 Responses to “Mexican Brown Rice Casserole”

  1. Sana November 27, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I love it when cooking requires no effort!

  2. Anne P November 28, 2010 at 12:10 am #

    Yum! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  3. Cassie December 3, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Wow, that looks great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sharing Is Caring « The Running In Pink Project - January 18, 2011

    […] then discovered by blog pal Andrea. Andrea made a change or two and posted her cooking experience HERE. I thought it looked divine so I decided to make my own little changes and now I am sharing it with […]

  2. Weight Watchers Week One « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 26, 2013

    […] of at least 3 “power foods”, 1 fruit/vegetable, and it must be 10 Points or under. I shared my Mexican Brown Rice Casserole recipe, which I need to revise because I now add ground turkey, and I’m not sure what the actual […]

Leave a Reply

