Fourteen

29 Nov

My body traveled 14 miles yesterday… a new PDR (personal distance record).

I stuck with my 2/1 intervals (run 2 minutes, walk 1 minute) and stuck with a 13 to 14 minute/mile pace the whole time, which is my marathon goal. Slow and steady wins the race, right? Well, I won’t be doing any winning. But completing is winning, right? Something like that.

I parked at Cape Henlopen High School and made my way to the boardwalk in Rehoboth, which is a 7 mile trek. I decided it was just going to be an out-and-back day to force myself to go 14 miles.

beach

boardwalk

In the first mile, I was having some pain in my right foot, but I just thought my shoes were tied too tight. So I loosened them up and kept going. It felt better until mile 10. Because I chose the out-and-back option, I really had no option to stop. It’s not like I was doing laps around the neighborhood. I had to keep going to get back to the car. I kept up the intervals but my walking times were a little longer in the last few miles, and most of the last mile was walked.

I came home, iced, elevated, and rested. No relief.

I had a horrible night of sleep. No relief.

So I made a doctor’s appointment this morning and headed in this afternoon. She suspects a stress fracture, so I went in for an x-ray to start the process. It came back negative. But before we do anymore imaging, I am to see an ortho. However, it’s been a little difficult to get in anytime before Christmas, so the nurse at my GP is trying to get me in sooner because I’m training for a marathon.

Overall, I felt like the run could have gone fantastically without the foot pain. I could have kept going. I wore knee braces, so there was no knee pain. And I’m not sore at all.

So, I’ll just wait to see what comes next. Until I find out something about my foot, I’ll be elevating and icing. No running 😦

10 Responses to “Fourteen”

  1. Lisa November 29, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    I’m sorry you’re having foot pain!! That sucks. I hear ya…I’m dealing with seemingly constant aches and pains lately. Grrrr. It’s frustrating.

    • runeatdatesleep December 1, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      I’m sorry to hear you’re having problems too! Feel better!

  2. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. November 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Oh no! How frustrating! Hoping/praying for a quick recovery!

  3. Heather November 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Sending your foot positive get better vibes! Hope you can see a doctor soon!

  4. FruitFly December 1, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    That boardwalk looks like the cutest place to run! Lucky you for having that nearby!

  5. fleurdelis30s December 5, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Congrats on a personal best! I’m thinking its time for me to start getting back into running again (or at least thinking about running!) Once again, you are my inspiriation! Sorry about the foot pain – hope it is better soon!

    I also wanted to tell you I started my own blog. I’ve only shown it to a couple of people, but the address is http://fleurdelis30s.wordpress.com/ if you want to check it out. So far I’ve been posting for about a month – we’ll see how it goes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sixteen « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 6, 2010

    […] remember my last post, and I complained about foot pain? Turns out it was my shoes! My old pair of shoes are the Asics […]

  2. The Walk of Shame « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - April 20, 2011

    […] when I bought new shoes for my birthday, and they hurt like hell? I finally figured out why. They’re the wrong size!!! Womp womp. I feel so […]

Leave a Reply

