Sixteen

6 Dec

Yesterday, I set out on a 16-mile run in 37 degree weather. Brrrrr! It was also extremely windy, and I’m pretty sure I ran against the wind for about 99% of the time. I sported blue lips even after being home for half an hour!

So remember my last post, and I complained about foot pain? Turns out it was my shoes! My old pair of shoes are the Asics Gel Nimbus 11 model, and I got the 12s recently and assumed they’d be an identical (or close to) fit. I thought wrong.

042

The 11s are on the left. Do you see how far the toe box goes out on the left compared to the 12s? The 12s have a very straight toe box, right? I think that was causing all of my pain.

So I took the 11s out for this run, and I had zero foot pain! And I also wore my knee braces, so no knee pain either!! Woohoo! I’ve finally figured out all of my aches and pains!

I felt really awesome for the first 3 miles. My running pace was around 10:30, and my walking pace was around 14 or 15. I kept up the 2/1 intervals for the first 14 miles and had to drop to 1/1 intervals for the last 2 miles because my legs were just too heavy. I had to stop a few times throughout the run to just stretch my legs out.

I took the same route as last week and was greeted by the Atlantic Ocean at my midway point. (picture from last week’s run)

beach

I took GU Chomps with me and also picked up some Powerbar Energy Blasts at the running store beforehand. They were delicious!!

The splits

16 mile splits

I’m glad I was able to stay pretty consistent.

16 mile garmin

My pace last week was 14:17, and it was 13:56 this week. It’s not too big of a difference, but I’m pretty proud of myself for improving.

I was a little sore after my run yesterday, and I even had trouble falling asleep. But I feel amazing today! I still can’t believe I’m able to run/walk 16 miles!

6 Responses to “Sixteen”

  1. fleurdelis30s December 6, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Thanks for leaving me my first comment! Congrats on 16 miles – that is amazing!

  2. JoAnn December 7, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Woo Hoo, Good for you, Andrea. Sixteen miles; that’s awesome.

  3. Emily December 8, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    Wow!! 16 miles is amazing!

  4. FruitFly December 8, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    That ocean view is gorgeous! And very impressive with the 16! I really honestly can say that I don’t know if I will EVER run that fall in my life. I see 13.1 in my future many times, but anything else than that is just terrifying. Kudos to you!

  5. The Linz December 9, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    We are totally SHOE twins. I have both pairs of the Asics and honestly starting having HUGE foot issues once I switched over to the new ones too. I was told by a physical therapist to get insoles for my new shoes and that should hopefully help. It’s weird, because my pink asics were so awesome, and I had no pain whatsoever the whole time I was training for my marathon. Congrats on your sweet 16! And in the cold weather, that is hardcore!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eighteen Miles of Self Doubt « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - December 12, 2010

    […] finishing 16 miles last week, I knew I could do 18 miles this […]

Leave a Reply

