A Change in Priorities

1 Jan

priorities

Last year, I made a resolution to not make any resolutions, so I have no way really to measure how I did in 2010.

But this year, I have several things in my life I’m looking to improve and achieve…

 

On January 9th, I will run the WDW Marathon, which has been a 6-year long dream of mine.

033

I will read more. I have a ton of books on my bookshelves that remain unread. Plus, some of these belong to friends, so I need to read them and return them to their owners.

020

I will drink more water. In an effort to improve this, I am buying this awesome water bottle. Drinking from a straw somehow helps me drink more throughout the day.

eco cup

I will run 1,000 miles as part of Tall Mom’s 1000 Mile Club. I attempted to this in 2010 but was sidelined due to plantar fasciitis and a knee injury. If you’re interested in joining the club in 2011, check out Tall Mom’s blog.

Tall Mom 1,000    Club

I will buy my first home. After 11 years of renting, I am finally financially capable of making the biggest purchase in my whole life.

house pic

I will get back in to my size 10 pants. To be honest, I can get in them now, but the muffin top just isn’t stylish these days. About 20 more pounds to lose before I can feel comfortable in them again.

(These pictures taken October 2009)

size 10 size 10 2

I will continue to strive for a balance between work and home. No more late hours at the office.

 

 

 

working hard

 

***********

I started today off by weighing and measuring myself. I knew the numbers would be less than stellar, but I have to start somewhere, right? And then it was time to start purging. I wanted to get my email inbox to zero, and I had a plan to delete blogs from my Google Reader I no longer read. Well, that all still isn’t done because I got distracted by reading blogs I had forgotten about.

Then it was time to purge shows from the DVR. I must have 30 episodes of Ghost Hunters on there, all of which have been watched… I think.

019

Another thing I wanted to do in the new year was to start fresh on Facebook. I have a new profile completely void of any toxic people, high school acquaintances I don’t talk to anymore, and random people I’ve never met or want to meet. I was tired of the over-shares like “My monthly friend didn’t show up this month” and the constant complaining some people do. Instead, when I log in to Facebook now, I see positive, energetic, life-loving people. It’s a nice, new, fresh start for my social media in 2011.

 

Tonight, I have plans with the washer, dryer, and dishwasher. Unloading the dishwasher remains the bane of my existence.

Happy New Year, blends! I hope the new year brings you health, happiness, love, and prosperity!

P.S. If you aren’t yet on my new Facebook page and you were on my old one, it’s not because I don’t like you. It’s been time-consuming switching everything over. So send me a friend request!

10 Responses to “A Change in Priorities”

  1. Caren January 1, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    These are great resolutions. I especially like that last year you made a resolution to make no resolutions… for some reason that cracked me up!

    I’m glad to see I made the cut with FB. I know we don’t know each other that well but I really enjoy your posts and think we have a lot in common.

    Happy new year!

  2. Becky January 1, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    OMG, I am with you on unloading the dishwasher. I HATE IT!!

    I’ve been meaning to tell you that I am going to make your chicken ring for a gathering next weekend. It looks so good. 🙂

    Happy 2011!

  3. Runeatrepeat January 1, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    I’m all for getting priorities in order. Good for you 🙂

  4. Lisa January 2, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    I want to drink more water too. That’s a must for me. I also want to read more nonfiction like I used to. And lastly, spend less $$ on coffee and make my own!!

  5. Sarah January 2, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    I really love your resolutions. I actually may not make any this year. I had too many last year and it all became overwhelming. Who knows, Ill probably come up with something….Im just procrastinating….lol. Maybe that should be my resolution 🙂

    I love your running goal! I have no doubt you will achieve it!

  6. senoritagordita January 2, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    good luck on the marathon! you’ll kick its ass girl!

  7. Susan January 3, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Just wanted to wish you all the best on your upcoming marathon. I posted way back when when you were about to run your first 1/2. My dad has run Boston and so has a friend of mine and I know how much training is involved and what a huge accomplishment it is!

    Susan (Bellefior on CC)

    PS. We love Ghost Hunters too! My husband is originally from the RI area and one time he walked into the TAPS office to see if they were for real…they were, none of the Ghost Hunters were in the office, but they do keep a full-time secretary there! He has seen Jason and Grant out and about in the Roto-Roter truck doing their day jobs…he usually waves and honks and they wave back!

  8. Jaime January 3, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    I’m with you on so many things in this post.. FB overshares (I’ll pass, thanks!). I’ve been toying with the idea of purging some folks from my friends list as well…if I never hear from you, you never comment on anything, why do I need you on my list again? Something I’m working on!

    I’m also making an effort to drink more water. 🙂

  9. Karen January 3, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    I do the same thing with google reader. I intend to purge, purge, purge and get sucked in. Good luck at Disney!

Leave a Reply

