WDW Marathon Race Expo Day

13 Jan

When we woke up on Saturday morning, we both remarked how we had just gotten the best night’s sleep we’ve had in a while. Those Hilton Serenity beds are amazing, and the pillows are perfectly fluffy!

Mom and I made our way down to Muse, the hotel’s coffee shop, for a delicious breakfast.

hilton muse

(Photo courtesy of Hilton)

I had a ham, egg, and cheese croissant, and she had a scone. I had made plans with an old friend to meet up at the expo around 11. Bethany and I worked together at the All Star Cafe at Walt Disney World for a few years. We even vacationed in Las Vegas together!

Since the Hilton wasn’t providing transportation to the expo (they will be next year though!!!), they treated me to a ride there in a Mercedes! I was really expecting a small shuttle or something.. not this! Never in a million years did I ever expect I’d refer to someone as “my driver”.

104

Completely unexpected and very much appreciated!

While waiting for Bethany to arrive, I actually ran in to Daniel, a trainer at my Y, at the expo. Actually, I just saw the back of him, but recognized him by his Ironman t-shirt. He had run the half-marathon that morning and said he had a blast! It was his first Disney race. If it wasn’t for Daniel’s encouragement while I was dealing with injuries, I wouldn’t have stuck with marathon training.

105

106

107

108

109

I met up with Bethany and her dad after I picked up my bib!

110

We made our way over to the Josten Building to check out all of the merchandise.

111

112

I ended buying a long-sleeve “I DID IT!” navy blue shirt and a travel coffee mug. We had so much fun looking at all of the stuff for sale and giggling over old memories. On the way out, HP was offering a complimentary picture, so we took them up on it!

bethany andrea

I like to refer to my skin color as “porcelain”, not pale 😉

Since the Josten Building houses our old stompin’ grounds, we grabbed lunch at the bar and got all caught up on each other’s lives. I had a delicious veggie pita.

113

114

115

Around 2:30, she gave me a ride back to the Hilton where I found my mom enjoying lunch at Beech, the poolside restaurant.

119

Isn’t the view beautiful!?!?

116

120

122

121

118 

We stayed outside by the pool for quite some time sipping on mango-flavored iced teas before we headed upstairs to get ready for dinner. We had reservations at Captain’s Grille at Disney’s Yacht Club. Like I said before, Hilton doesn’t provide transportation directly to Disney resorts. Most people would think they would need to take a Downtown Disney bus and then take the Yacht Club bus, but not in this case. Since the Yacht Club is within walking distance to Hollywood Studios, we took the bus there instead and made the short, scenic walk past the Swan, Dolphin, and the Boardwalk.

136

137

I had the special pasta dish that evening, a gnocchi and shrimp dish.

 138

Mom had pan-roasted chicken with butternut pearl pasta, which she didn’t find too appetizing.

After dinner, we made our way back to the hotel so I could start laying out my race day gear and get to bed at a decent hour.

140 

141

143

It was about 10:30 before we laid down and set the alarm for 2:30am! But it was about midnight by the time my heart stopped racing!

Stay tuned for the race recap! I’m still working on collecting my thoughts on the whole thing!

2 Responses to “WDW Marathon Race Expo Day”

  1. FruitFly January 14, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Just following along and seeing that we are now at the night before, I actually have butterflies in my tummy! Can’t wait for the next report!

    The Hilton – WOW! If you put in slot machines it looks fancy enough to be one of those ritzy Vegas hotels that I love. Very nice! And a Mercedes?? Score!!

  2. Emily January 15, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    A Mercedes? Nice!! And the pool looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

