WDW Marathon 2011 Recap

15 Jan

“From the outside looking in, you can’t understand it… from the inside looking out, you can’t explain it” ~Author Unknown

That quote is exactly how I feel about the marathon. I just can’t come up with the words to explain what the experience meant to me. But I will try.

In 2004 when I was working at Walt Disney World, I worked the days leading up to the marathon at the All Star Cafe at the Wide World of Sports and encountered many people picking up their race bibs. And a few days later, they came in with their medals. I never told anyone at the time, but in the back of my mind, I knew I would someday run the WDW Marathon. Over the next few years, I made several attempts to tackle Couch to 5K and would quit around whatever week it was that I would have to do a 20-minute run without walking.

Then in 2008, I moved to Delaware and joined the Y, where I made a few more attempts at Couch to 5K and eventually “graduated”. I completed several 5Ks and a 5-miler in 2008 and 2009. After that 5-miler, I decided to complete something bigger. I signed up for the Disney Princess Half Marathon. Then, the NYC Half. After two half-marathons, I felt confident I could at least finish a marathon. And reading Caitlin’s, Megan’s, and Meghann’s recaps of the WDW Marathon motivated me so much! So in May 2010, I signed up for the WDW Marathon! My dream was finally going to come true. But after the NYC Half, I gained back the 25 pounds I had lost in 2009 and dealt with knee problems and plantar fasciitis. I had to take several months off from training and only trained a few weeks for the Philly Half, which was November 21, and I recorded my Personal Worst time. A bad run in Philly left me with a bad attitude about running, but I got over it and spent December training for the full marathon. Although I didn’t train thoroughly and long enough, I felt I could at least finish this marathon. I came to Orlando feeling ready and confident. I told everyone my goal was just to finish, but in the back of my mind, I wanted to have a sub-6 hour marathon.

When I woke up on January 9th at 2:30am, I was so excited! I quickly took a shower, threw on my gear, and bandaged up my feet in the places where I normally get blisters. We were ready to head down to the lobby a little after 3am.

145

Isn’t that the craziest arrangement in that vase? Mom and I both giggled about it.

146

To our surprise, the lobby was filled with encouraging Hilton employees and a large spread set us just for the runners.

147

154

155

153

One of the employees in the lobby was Catherine, who had been emailing me the past few weeks. They were there to support me and all the other runners… isn’t that sweet?!

148

150

151

I love that they had a mock finish line set up.

152

The marathon package at the Hilton included complimentary transportation to the race… thank goodness! I wouldn’t want to worry about making it to the race on time with all of the road closures and traffic. The bus dropped us off, and we made the 10-15 minute trek to the reunion area. I waited there with my mom until a little before 5am and then made the 30-minute slow walk with all of the other runners to the corrals. I made it to corral H and found Bethany and her dad. I was originally in corral F, but I dropped back to be with Bethany. Even though she’s faster than me, and we wouldn’t be running together, I wanted to have some company in that long, cold wait before our corral would start the race.

It took about 23 minutes from when the first corral went to when we started the race. I stuck with my training and did 2/1 intervals (run 2 minutes, walk 1 minute) right from the start. I stayed to the right and dropped off of the pavement and on to the grass to walk.

We made our way to Epcot and through the toll booths. (sorry for the picture quality. They’re from my iPhone)

epcot tolls

By mile 2.6, we were going past Spaceship Earth.

epcot entrance

epcot

We ran past the countries and made a left after Norway and then out and behind Epcot to the backstage area. By mile 4, we were out of Epcot and on to a 5-mile stretch headed towards Magic Kingdom with nothing to entertain us besides characters and other runners with funny shirts. We passed by the Magic Kingdom toll booths around 8.5 miles.

magic kingdom tolls

Right after the mile 9 marker, my stomach started getting upset. But thankfully, my mom was at the Transportation & Ticket Center, and there was a glorious, clean, public bathroom. Unfortunately, the potty break cost me about 5 or 6 minutes, but really, time was of no importance. Finishing was important, and going to the bathroom in my pants would not guarantee a finish. Mom had a bottle of Gatorade waiting for me, so I picked that up and headed off to the Magic Kingdom!

Right before Magic Kingdom was the mile 10 marker, and I was feeling awesome. I kept up with 2/1 intervals pretty much to a “t”. Running through Main Street was awesome. It was lined with spectators and cowbells! I found my mom in the same place she was for the Disney Princess Half, which is right in front of the castle in the bend going to Tomorrowland. I stopped there to give her a hug, hand back my Gatorade because it was too big of a bottle to carry, and to grab a picture!

163

I couldn’t believe that I was 10 miles in and feeling so strong! If you remember from the Disney Princess Half, this was the point when I had to call Jeff and cry about how I just couldn’t do it anymore. I’ve obviously improved!

I left Mom behind and traveled in to Tomorrowland and in to Fantasyland past the Mad Hatter and the Mad Tea Party! I love that he had “clappers”.

mad hatter

mad tea party

I made a video at this point about how good I was feeling, but it has no sound. Boooo. I made my way through Cinderella’s Castle (yay!!!) and remembered they had photographers in front of the castle.

castle

By the time I made my way out of Magic Kingdom, my pace slowed a little, but I kept up with 2/1 intervals. I noticed that my time at 13 miles was better than my Philly Half time, which was 3:07 something, so that gave me a little push to keep going. The road between Magic Kingdom and Animal Kingdom is really boring, but there was plenty of entertainment and funny signs to keep our focus off of how boring it was. I grabbed a banana around 14.5 miles and ate half of it.

At around 15.5 miles, it hit me. I had blisters on my heels that made every single step excruciating. I made the decision to fast-walk for a little while. It made the pain slightly bearable. I checked my pace, and it wasn’t too far off from my jog/walk pace, so I made the “smart” decision to keep fast-walking the rest of the way.

After walking past what seemed to be Disney’s sewage plant and Animal Kingdom’s backstage areas, I entered Animal Kingdom!

animal kingdom

animal kingdom pro

Once I was past Mount Everest and DinoLand, it was pretty much a blur until I got out in to the DAK parking lot. The course running through the parking lot and out past the toll booths felt extremely long and boring, and the sun was in my eyes the whole time. Once out of that area, it was a straight away to the 20 mile marker and an out and back to the 21 mile marker. Luckily, some funny signs by the Sharpie people made me laugh along the way like “the people who know the least, know it the loudest” and “why is the word ‘abbreviation’ so long?” and “did you know Albert Einstein didn’t know how to drive?”

Finally, we made our way in to the backstage area of Hollywood Studios where they were giving out chocolate! The time spent in Hollywood Studios was short, but I was glad to know the race was almost over.

hollywood studios

mgm

After Hollywood Studios (oh how I miss calling it MGM), we traveled to the Yacht & Beach Club by way of the trail between MGM and the resort. It was a nice, scenic route, and knowing I was almost done was exciting.

We made our way in to Epcot by way of a backstage area behind United Kingdom. The course took us around all of the countries (except Canada). This part seemed painstakingly long, and I couldn’t wait to be done with it. I was texting friends with “WTF was I thinking?” and they were texting back how proud they were of me. It helped push me along!

And finally, my mom caught me coming around the corner to the finish!

176

See me by the girl in the yellow?

177

178

179

181

See me in the screen above?

And I finally finished after 6 hours and 53 minutes.

finish line goofy

medal

I found my mom at our tent from earlier that morning. Can you tell I’m walking a little pigeon-toed?

183

186

marathon time

For a while, my results didn’t show up, and I was getting emails from friends along the lines of “saw your results, you ok?” At first, I just thought they saw how slow I was and wanted to know if I was okay. But I checked the site, and it looked like I quit after 10 miles. How embarrassing! I had to email the Disney Endurance team with what I wore, what corral I started in, etc. so they could find me and post my results.

My splits

marathon splits

I like that I stayed pretty consistent for the first 9 miles. The 10th mile involved a potty break, and then it went downhill from there.

I wish I could tell you I felt proud or happy about the marathon. Over the past few days, I’ve gone from proud to really unhappy. I’m so disappointed, and I feel like I failed myself. I feel like I did a 15 mile run with a really long walk at the end. I feel like I didn’t try hard enough, but I have to remember I gave it everything I had. Whenever someone asks me my time, I have to preface it with why I did so terrible. I’m embarrassed, and this is not how I wanted to feel after my first marathon. When one of my mom’s friends asked me all about the marathon, I didn’t have much to say. I didn’t even really want to talk about it. I hope this feeling of disappointment goes away, and I can start to feel like I really accomplished something so many people don’t even set out to do.

It doesn’t help that I look absolutely gigantic in my pictures. Never again do I want to run a marathon at this weight.

Even though I feel like a failure, I can’t help but feel incredibly motivated to keep running. I will make 2011 a great running year, and next year at this time, I hope to be writing a more positive WDW Marathon recap.

And now I’d like to thank all of you for being incredibly supportive throughout the past few years and in the recent months leading up to the marathon. Thank you to my mom who has braved some of the coldest weather to cheer me on! You’re my rock! And to Ellen, you’re an amazing friend for never doubting what I could do and for being in NYC and Philly, cowbell and all! To Jeff, you have no idea how you make me feel when you tell me you’re proud of me. And to the rest of you who sent me the most heartfelt, thoughtful texts, Facebook messages, and phone calls, I couldn’t ask for better friends. You are all amazing! You all made a 6-year long dream come true!

66 Responses to “WDW Marathon 2011 Recap”

  1. Danielle January 15, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    I know *exactly* how you felt, as my experience with the Nike Women’s Marathon was very similar. But you know what, YOU FINISHED. You didn’t give up and you didn’t let the little voice in your head keep you from crossing the finish line. THAT is what’s important. Maybe there is room for improvement but that’s what life is all about, figuring out what you want and how you can get there. Even more important is that you STILL haven’t given up and will continue running/training/making positive, healthy changes to your life. BE PROUD that you took the steps to attain a dream that you’ve always wanted, because A LOT of people never even get there.

    xoxox
    Danielle

    • runeatdatesleep January 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      Thank you so much for saying all of that! It means a lot to me 🙂

      • Levallrobinson February 8, 2012 at 9:54 am #

        Yeah, its totally awesome that you did better than almost 600 people!!!! Oh wait… you actually did worse than 12,971 people…… still though, awesome job…..

      • runeatdatesleep February 8, 2012 at 11:39 am #

        Thanks for the comment! I’ll make sure I print it out and slide it under my dog’s ass the next time she takes a dump.

      • Levallrobinson February 8, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

        Your Welcome! Just trying to be honest, plus it is hard to say that you ran a marathon when you say that you walked the last third. Honestly, just about anybody could walk/jog for a marathon. What you did was less than impressive. If you want to impress people, why don’t you show that you have the self discipline to not ask for seconds. Based off of your pictures, you could do to lose a few.

      • runeatdatesleep February 8, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

        I don’t exactly understand what you’re getting out of this exchange. I NEVER said I “ran” a marathon. I completed it, and I’m still disappointed in my experience. I also never said what I did was impressive. I’m actually in the process of losing weight, and if you read more recent entries, you’d see that. Why don’t you do something a little “impressive” and actually share your real identity.

        What is impressive isn’t my results. It’s the fact I got off of my “fat ass” and completed 26.2 miles. I didn’t quit. I followed through on something I dreamed of doing for years and years. And now I’m working on bettering myself. Maybe you should think of doing the same.

      • Levallrobinson February 8, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

        Maybe I don’t understand either. What is the point of you posting this story? To show that you are capable of completing a marathon slower than anyone else? How is anything that you did worthy of being praised? Perhaps it is that I am equally angry at the other peopole who commented on this story, also. I am sick of this attitude where you have to make everyone feel good whenever they do anything. No you should not feel good about it, you are overweight, and obviously are terrible at running. So why shouuld people be patting you on the back and telling you “good job”? So what if you “completed a dream”? You did so in an entirely unimpressive manner. You symbolize many of the things thgat I think are wrong with this country. Not only are you terribly overweight, but you think that “making the effort” entitles you to praise. Well it doesn’t, results matter, not the effort put forth. You ran a very bad marathon, and there is no reason to feel good about that, bottom line.

      • runeatdatesleep February 8, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

        I never once asked for the praise. never said I was happy with the results. I’m now losing weight and becoming a better runner. I wrote this story because it’s MY story and MY blog. No one has to respond to anything I write on here, and I’m not asking them to give me praise or compliments. I’ve often been told that people can relate to me because I am overweight and I’m accomplishing things a lot of people don’t even try to do.

        I feel like you completely ignored so much of my recap. I completely recognize that I’m overweight and that it was a terrible “race”. I wrote this story to simply document my first marathon. On that note, can I read about your marathon somewhere?

        You’re obviously projecting your own disappointment in yourself onto me, and that’s okay. I can take it.

        But please, share your blog and your identity.

      • runeatdatesleep February 9, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      • Jenn February 9, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

        Love that people feel that they can hide behind the internet and degrade and put down strangers. It obviously gives him/her a kick to make themselves feel better. Little insecurity much? For some reason I have a feeling this ass isn’t an elite runner either. Stones…glass houses… yeah. All that. You summed it up best Andrea so just wanted to send my support! People never cease to amaze me by their stupidity and ignorance.

  2. Hope January 15, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    You should be proud, you did a marathon, 26 miles how many people can say that?

  3. Daniel January 15, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Failure? Heck no. Rock star? Absolutely. You just did something that 97% of the population will never do (or some statistic like that that I overheard this past weekend). A marathon is not intended to see if you can run the whole way. It is an endurance event – and most people don’t realize that it is more of a mental endurance event than a physical one. You finished. Plain and simple. You are a marathoner. How many of your friends and colleagues can say that?

  4. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 15, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    It may not have been the time you were hoping for, but you FINISHED and that alone is huge! There are not many people who can say they finished a marathon! Proud of you, girl!

  5. Lana January 15, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    This, my dear, is the starting point in your marathon career! It’s your PR for the marathon! Now you have a time to beat. And really, when it all is said and done, you completed a marathon. You didn’t stop, even when your feet were killing you. I know it’s easy to compare yourself to others and get hung up on how you did in comparison. But running, unless you plan to win the marathon, is all about pushing yourself further, and then seeing if you can beat how you did the time before. Be proud of yourself. And be ready to beat the heck out of your time next time!

  6. Karen January 15, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear that your first marathon experience wasn’t what you’d hope it would be. Best though to acknowledge the feelings you’re having rather than putting on a ‘brave face’ and telling people you feel differently. I’m so glad you finished though. Many people in the same position would easily have given up and not finished, but you refused to quit. You go girl!

    I love reading about your running experiences. As a beginner runner myself, I want to read the good and the bad, and know what I’m really getting myself into. Thanks for sharing your experience and for being so honest about it.

  7. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) January 15, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    That is awesome. Don’t let anyone ever tell you differently you are above 99% of people even being able to run it. Great work!

  8. ahlterra January 15, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    I can’t even begin to tell you how awesome that was, or how amazing a woman you are.

    You finished what you started. Do you know how hard it is for some people to even just start something like that?

    Use this to put yourself even further. You got this one down, move on to the next one. Bigger, Better, More.

    You are an amazing woman. Full stop.

  9. Sana January 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I am so so soooo proud of you for doing this. No shame in your time. You finished! Be proud 🙂 But use this to make the next race EPIC!

  10. Rachel January 16, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Congrats! Don’t feel bad about your time, you finished! My first marathon time was not that great either and slower than I had anticipated but I am not embarrased about it at all because not everyone can say they ran/walked 26.2 miles and that’s a long way!

  11. Leslie January 16, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Congrats on becoming a marathoner! No one can take that away from you! You finished! Hold your head high and smile!

    Less than 1% of people run a marathon so that means that you = awesome! 🙂

  12. Karly January 16, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    Andrea,

    I can’t even begin to understand the complexities of training and completing a marathon and all of the expectations and emotions that go along with that. I do want to share with you how inspired I am by your journey all the set backs and road blocks you pushed through were amazing.

    I hope that someday you will look back on this first marathon with a feeling of contentment and pride regardless of your weight, time expectations going into the event.

    Keep on running girl!

    Karly

  13. Harvey January 16, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Failure is not an option!

    Like someone wrote above, running a marathon is very much a “mental game”. You have succeeded where others have not even tried. What I suggest you do, is look at your accomplishment through a different lens, by looking at the positives that you completed:
    1. You finished a 26.2 mile race
    2. You had the discipline and conscious energy to complete a training program over the last year to complete your goal.
    3. You said it right towards the end of this blog …. you ran your fastest 15mile ever !!!!!!!! That’s longer than a half marathon
    4. Lastly, “feeling down” is a normal reaction to running your first marathon – not because you didn’t do well, but because you’ve now lost something that has been such a big part of your life (which was training for the marathon).

    So, I suggest you treat this part of your life (post marathon) with the same strength you exhibited at mile 20 – you’ve got nothing in the tank, but you will go on !!! You go girl !!!! I give you permission to treat yourself, and go out and do some of those things you’ve put on hold over the last year!

  14. Sarah January 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I am very proud of you Andrea!
    I was thinking about you all day as you were running. Im sorry you had such horrible blisters, but I am so proud of you for pushing through and finishing. You are so awesome!

  15. Emily January 16, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    I have been so impressed with you taking on the marathon and have enjoyed reading along your journey. Thanks for sharing both the good and the bad. I remember finising one race and being so horribly disappointed in my time, not that it is the same as your experience, but you aren’t the only one. You finished a marathon!! It is an amazing accomplishment. Way to go!

  16. FruitFly January 16, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Congratulations!!!
    I really hope your disappointed feeling goes away soon. This is such a huge accomplishment, and you looked great and smiling in all of your pictures! I will always be in awe of anyone brave enough to sign up for a marathon and then go on to complete it. You did great in my book! Thanks for sharing your whole story with us. It looks like you and your mom really got the royal treatment!

  17. Savannah January 17, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    You did great – congrats on becoming a marathoner!!

  18. Lexi January 17, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Andrea, I fully understand how you are feeling. My partner Harvey is a marathoner and I get that feeling of not doing how well you wanted. But I admire you so much for your training and efforts. I am new to running and haven’t even done my first 5K. When I read your posts I am so inspired and it motivates me to keep going. I hope that once this feeling passes you will keep going to your next goal – whatever it is.

  19. JoAnn January 17, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Congratulations, Andrea. This was truly a huge accomplishment. I am proud of you and I’m glad to have been able to be there when you crossed the finish line. Your blog is so helpful to many other people as you are refreshingly open and honest about your struggles and mixed emotions along with the triumphs and good feelings. Good job!

  20. Kelley January 17, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    You should be proud of finishing the marathon. I was there too and I know it wasn’t easy. Loved your race recap and your photo by the castle. I saw the guys taking photos too late for me to stop. Wish I had.
    You are a marathoner!

  21. Simply Life January 17, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!! What an accomplishment! I love all the support you had and that seriously looks like the best course ever!

  22. Jenn (aka DisneyGirlinNJ) January 18, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    First of all, congratulations on finishing the marathon!!! 🙂 Second… do NOT get down on yourself. You went out there and accomplished something that hardly anyone in the country does. 26.2 miles is NOT something to take lightly! I personally HATE when non-runners as you your time…as if saying you finished in 3 hours or 7 hours means anything different to them. If they’re runners? Still not a fan but hopefully the person asking realizes that time really isn’t the main point. There’s definitely no shame in walking during any of it. We definitely walked at parts. I know if we didn’t, I would have been in serious rough shape. (And your pictures? Awesome! You look so happy in all of them!)

  23. yearofbecca January 19, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Wow, congratulations on the marathon! What a huge accomplishment. I just stumbled across your blog and I find it very inspiring.

  24. Abby January 21, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I am amazed and inspired – congratulations!!!

  25. Alicia at Poise in Parma January 22, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    In the past two weeks, I keep telling people how content I was with the 13.1 miles I ran… but your recap makes me want to sign up for the full next year!

    Congrats on a fab race – you earned that medal!

  26. Wayne January 24, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Andrea,
    You should feel like a failure at all. You didn’t fail…you finished your first marathon and you should be proud of your accomplishment. NEVER minimize your achievements!

  27. Brittney January 25, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I’m late seeing this, but wanted to say congratulations!! I hope you are proud of yourself, because you did something not many people have done by completing a marathon. A lot of people wouldn’t even attempt it! I just did my first too, the weekend after yours. It’s easy to wonder if you could have done better, but overall, I’m proud of myself and had a great experience. Way to stick with it and finish despite the blisters, fatigue, and doubt. You did it 🙂

  28. Tony Conticello January 31, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    First of all congratulations on finishing 26.2 miles. Not only did you finish it, but you finished about half of it with an injury and you avoided those pesky sweeper buses. Anyone that has run before knows how painful a blister can be while running. It affects every single step you make along the way. While different the constant pain is similar to that of cramping muscles. Imagine how your race would have been had you not had that blister?

    While you set a goal for yourself and didn’t quite achieve it, don’t let it taint your accomplishment that you were able to complete a full marathon!!!

    My first marathon, I finished in 6 hours and 10 minutes, and did so while recovering from ITB issues. For the next three years I didn’t beat this time, in fact one year it was around 6hrs and 25 minutes because of muscle cramping. My goal was a sub 5 hour marathon – and I couldn’t even break 6. Now if I would have stopped there, I would have never done the Goofy January 2010, when I set my PR in the full by well over an hour faster – still not sub 5 hours – but I did a half and a full (and PR’d my full). I set another PR this year in the half, but I did it about 15 minutes slower than my goal. Is that going to stop me!!! Oh no- I am going at it again in a week!!!

    My point is, the desire to keep going, to keep moving, to keep running, has made me a better runner. My failures have made me read more, study more, learn more, so that my successes are that much more sweet! But we don’t always succeed – and we can either pack it up or square back up and face the challenge! I encourage you to look at this race from another perspective. It is a great accomplishment for just finishing it. But more importantly, it is a learning opportunity for you as a runner/walker and maybe in other areas. This is an overall minor speedbump.

    What do you think your time would have been had you not gotten the blister? If you think it would have been sub 6 then learn about socks, learn about shoes, learn about foot striking, learn about body posture – study and learn. Do you get what I am saying?

    In my past experience, I have learned the most from when I have perceived that I have not met a goal. It is these experiences that stoke the fires, set future challenges, and build us into better people!

    Wear that medal around your house with pride. Get a plaque to commemorate your success so you can look at it – make it tangible. Inside, plan ahead for when you are going to surpass that goal. Plan, practice and succeed!

    Now get out and run!!!

  29. Brittany March 18, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    You kicked ass and earned that medal! How amazing! An d i definitely had a few tears in my eyes reading your recap! And that quote soooooo true, my thoughts exactly one the feeling of finishing your race 🙂

  30. susan August 27, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    You are absolutely inspiring!!!! Thank you for your blog, I will be participating in the Marathon Relay 2012 and am just beginning serious training. I hope that I can use your experience to help me push through when I feel overwhelmed. Great Job, thanks for being open and sharing!

  31. R. Chandra January 26, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    hi andrea!

    I’ve stumbled upon your bog & this post today & I really need to comment. I actually found it through googling “first time marathon 6 hours” haha. all I have to say is I know EXACTLY HOW YOU FEEL. I did my first 26.2 last november, the philadelphia marathon. I trained a ton for it (looking back I probably overtrained and did too much junk walk/run miles instead of smart paced miles) and was SO excited about it all summer & fall. the week of, after my last 10-mile run, I got a knee injury. I still completed the race but very soon into it my knee began giving me problems & getting really bad. I totally stopped running after the half point. I finished in clock time 6:35. It was a 13 mile run/walk followed by a 13 mile limp – hah! and I still feel terrible about it. whenever anyone asked me what time I was shooting for I’d say I didn’t care & just wanted to finish, I’d be happy with anything under 5 hours. and I know what you mean, when people ask you about it or congratulate you, I always have to preface it with why I was so slow! ugh ugh. it was such a disappointing experience. I’m so sorry you had similar issues. 😦 reading through people’s comments to you has made me feel a little better, but it’s so hard to still not feel annoyed/embarrassed by it!

    but I guess kudus to us for sticking it out & finishing, right? if I hadn’t had a similar experience I would be saying to any one that they are amazing for finishing in whatever time, that they made the best of a bad situation, etc. it’s hard to tell yourself that though! but GOOD JOB for finishing, and thank you so much for sharing your experience, there’s others out there who know exactly how it feels. sending love.

  32. vinobaby February 8, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    Congratulations! You should be so proud! Great job :~(

    Oh, and mean people suck.

    • runeatdatesleep February 8, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

      Thank you 🙂

      • vinobaby February 8, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

        that was supposed to be the frown after the mean peeps, not your great job ;~)

      • jennifer February 8, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

        Andrea I just wanted to say that you did an amazing job and should never feel disappointed about what you accomplished.
        To Levallrobinson or whoever the hell you are, Instead of talking about other people’s “Inadequacies” you need to focus on what your problems are. Obviously you have issues with yourself if you feel the need to tell someone that they didn’t complete a marathon because they didn’t run it. Please, you need to lower your opinon of yourself and come back to the real world. Go spread your negativity somewhere else where it will be appreciated.

      • runeatdatesleep February 9, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

        Thank you so much!! 🙂

  33. Sarah Watts February 8, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Andrea, you did what most people can only wish they could do. Run, jog, walk…it doesn’t matter, you completed it! Be proud of that. This is your first, the first of many….and each one will get easier, and faster. Congrats!

    @Levallrobinson – it’s sure is easy to sit on your ass, doing nothing but leaving insulting and rude comments on people’s personal blogs, right? Reveal who you really are, so we can all come and comment on your “accomplishments”….

  34. Ann February 8, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Levallrobinson is an asshole. Many people do marathons just because they want to. They don’t do it for time, and they don’t do it to lose weight, and they don’t do it because it is a dream. In fact many people don’t do marathons. I am sure levallrobinson is one of them. How can one possibly understand when they are totally ignorant of what they are talking about. Let me educate you levallrobinson- every dream completed deserves a pat on the back no matter how that person achieved it. The fact that they had the courage to begin persuing a dream says volumes about their character, and the fact that they had the tenacity to see it through to completion speaks even louder. You have done nothing more but encouraged people to drown you out.

  35. Lauri February 8, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Good for ypu Andrea!!! You should be proud of your accomplishment. Sounds like a great experience. Oh by the that ass napkin who obliviously has serious issues should learn some manners. You Rock!!!!

  36. Kerri February 8, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    I am sickened by the ugliness a person could show another. Shame on them!!
    You are amazing for being you!,

  37. Angie February 9, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    Per the above mean comment, I’m pretty thin and I can’t do a 6-mile walk without feeling the pain. Weight has nothing to do with it. It’s endurance (as you said) and motivation. I’d love to have more motivation and often your posts motivate me to go to the gym. Ignore ignorant people. That person is bitter about something unrelated and, unfortunately, acting out on a stranger’s blog.

    • runeatdatesleep February 9, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Thank you so much, Angie 🙂 It means a lot to me!

  38. Caitlin February 10, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    Levallrobinson, somewhere out there is a padded room with your name written ALL over it. Great job Andrea!

  39. Jaime March 4, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    Hi, I’m new to your blog, but loving it so far! I just had to comment on the jerk that posted earlier… I’ve never run a full marathon, but I’ve run at least a dozen half marathons and I can’t imagine anyone that has completed a full would leave a comment like that… Meaning, I doubt he or she has ever done a full marathon. I’m shocked that people would take the time to single someone out just to be mean. He/she wrote that this is what is wrong with America? Are you kidding me? Someone completing a marathon is never what is “wrong with America”. good job and keep up the good work. 🙂

    I’m planning on doing Goofy for 2013….and I just want to finish, regardless of time!

    • Amanda April 22, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      I’m so inspired by your blog about your first Marathon. I’m a proud back of the back runner myself! Love that you use the run/walk method. That method gets me through all my runs, including my first half this past October.

  40. Becky November 21, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Awesome race! I got the running bug while living in Orlando for 3 years. It is the perfect place to run! I am enjoying your blog.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 350 Days « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 23, 2011

    […] by 350 days. What’s in 350 days? The 2012 WDW Marathon, of course! You might remember from my WDW Marathon Recap that I’m not giving up after such a disappointing first marathon. I’ve become incredibly […]

  2. Five for Friday: Things I’ve Learned From Running « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 18, 2011

    […] 4. Do not ever quit the sport because of one disappointing race. I know what it’s like to have a really awful race and feel the dread whenever someone asks you what your time was. Have you read about my WDW Marathon? […]

  3. No Excuses « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 22, 2011

    […] figured if I’m wearing my marathon shirt, there was no way I could quit on something like a 2 mile […]

  4. One Interval at a Time « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - August 15, 2011

    […] The walk to Epcot’s backside reminded me of the last few miles of the WDW Marathon. […]

  5. Tips and Tricks for the Walt Disney World Marathon | Healthy Disney - August 29, 2011

    […] One of the most memorable and proudest moments of my life came when I crossed the finish line at the 2011 Walt Disney World Marathon. […]

  6. Marathon Training Week One & My New Job « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - September 11, 2011

    […] buckle down and really think about the marathon, which is ultimately my real goal right now. After last year’s disappointing race, it’s time to go back for […]

  7. Tips and Tricks for the Walt Disney World Marathon - October 24, 2011

    […] One of the most memorable and proudest moments of my life came when I crossed the finish line at the 2011 Walt Disney World Marathon. […]

  8. Catching Up « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - November 1, 2011

    […] have come to the conclusion that running the WDW Marathon in 2012 might not be realistic for me at this point. I might change my mind in the next few days, […]

  9. Walt Disney World Marathon Recaps « I Sweat Pretty - January 4, 2012

    […] Run, Eat, Date, Sleep […]

  10. Walt Disney World Marathon 2013 « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - August 3, 2012

    […] a disappointing 2011 race, it’s time to get back on the pavement and prove I can pull out a semi-decent (to me) […]

  11. Walt Disney World Marathon 2013 Recap « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 24, 2013

    […] sleep. I was excited, nervous, and scared. I was scared to repeat my prior performance in the 2011 WDW Marathon where I had stopped running altogether at Mile 15 because of blisters on my feet, and I walked the […]

Leave a Reply

