What Do You Do After a Marathon?

20 Jan

You walk over to the people giving out medals, choke up, thank the volunteer, and then get your photo done… all in Hunchback of Notre Dame style. Ya know, hunched over and dragging one of your feet behind you.

medal

Then get yourself some free snacks! Apparently, they ran out of cans of Coke long before I finished. Coke is my all-time favorite thing to reward myself with after a long run. I don’t drink regular Coke on any other day really.

Then go find your loved ones!

186

I can’t thank my mom enough for being there at the finish for me. She did the long walk back to the bus with me at a snail’s pace. While waiting for the bus to take us back to the resort, we tried to get a Coke out of the vending machines, but it ate our money. We didn’t want to just lose $5 to the machine (the can of Coke was $2.50!!!), so Mom walked all the way back to the entrance of Epcot to get a refund and a free Coke. Woohoo!

When the bus took us back to the resort, he parked by the staircase we would have to walk up. We all grumbled and moaned but all made it up the stairs.

Once I got back up to the room, I took my shoes off to assess the damage of my blisters. I figured I’d spare you the images, so I didn’t take pictures. But my mom could see them from across the room if that tells you something.

I grabbed a seat in the fabulous suite and put my feet up, treated my blisters, and ate my snacks.

072

I took a long shower and fell asleep for a little while. I didn’t realize I would sleep for so long, but my mom let me sleep. We had dinner reservations at the Grand Floridian Cafe for a celebratory dinner, so we took a town car there instead of taking the bus. Taking the bus meant not getting to take a nap.

(photo courtesy of SuiteDisney)

I used to work at the Grand Floridian, but I still feel the magic when we enter the lobby.

(photo courtesy of SuiteDisney)

Going to the Grand Floridian Cafe after a Disney race has now become a tradition. We also went here after the Disney Princess half. This time, I got the French onion soup and the New York strip steak. One of the best things about running is a marathon is the guilt-free dinner you can have afterwards!

onion soup

steak

On the way to the Grand, I had told my mom I could eat an entire dish of just mashed potatoes. This dish satisfied my craving!

After dinner, we sat in the lobby and relaxed for about an hour before heading over to Magic Kingdom. It’s only fitting to watch the fireworks display, Wishes, the day I completed a marathon. “A dream is a wish your heart makes” couldn’t be truer, and today, I made my dream come true!

6 Responses to “What Do You Do After a Marathon?”

  1. JoAnn January 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Very well written. The photos are fabulous as well. So glad you were able to fulfill your dream.

  2. Jenn (aka DisneyGirlinNJ) January 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect way to end Marathon Sunday! 🙂 I haven’t been to the GFC in years! Definitely need to add it back to my list!

  3. Sheila Gaffney January 21, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    Congrats on making your wish come true. You should be very proud of yourself!!

  4. Andrea January 21, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    I am so proud of you!
    Your post made me tear up! Your dream really did come true! You are such an insperation…and maybe someday, Ill run a 5k!

  5. Lisa January 21, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    That French Onion Soup looks amazing!

    After I ran Hood to Coast I was starving for 10 days. 10 days of a hunger I couldn’t satisfy. So I just ate! And I didn’t gain weight.

  6. Kelley January 22, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Ouch on the blisters! Wow you really had to work for that coke. I drank one after the race too, a treat for me, and it couldn’t have tasted better.

Leave a Reply

