350 Days

23 Jan

I bet you’re wondering what I mean by 350 days. What’s in 350 days? The 2012 WDW Marathon, of course! You might remember from my WDW Marathon Recap that I’m not giving up after such a disappointing first marathon. I’ve become incredibly motivated to rock the pants off the next one! I WILL knock off at least an hour off of my time… and Daniel, the fitness director at the Y, thinks I can too!

So with this ambitious goal, I’ve come up with some ways to ensure I will obtain my goal.

 

I joined Weight Watchers in an attempt to lose about 40 pounds, which undoubtedly will make me faster.

ww logo

 

I’m giving my soul away to the gym.

ymca new logo

The people at the Y will begin seeing me a lot more often. For example, this week I went there four times (I normally go twice a week):

Tuesday– 9.04 miles on the stationary bike in 30 minutes. I let out all of my marathon anger out on that bike and gave it my all!

Wednesday– 30 minute walk on the treadmill at 3% incline. I believe I did 1.75 miles.

Thursday– 75 minute yoga class. It felt so good to get back to yoga after a year-long hiatus.

Saturday– 30 minute walk at 3% incline followed by Couch to 5K Week 1 Day 1.

WW meetings are on Monday evenings, but I’d like to add an at-home yoga video session on Monday evenings.

I plan to incorporate weight-lifting after my February 2 appointment with Daniel. I never took advantage of the free consultation that comes with a Y membership, so I’m finally getting it.

 

I’m completely rebuilding from the beginning. I’m starting all over with Couch to 5K. I’ll stay on each week for however long it takes me to feel comfortable. After I complete Couch to 5k, I plan on moving to Gateway to 8K. I’m concentrating on building endurance and speed. I do not want to do run/walk intervals in the next marathon. Even though I believe they are a fantastic way to complete a long race, I’m just over them now. I no longer want to say “I completed a marathon”. I want to say “I RAN a marathon!” I want to focus on running my dream race pace of 10:00-11:00/mile. I plan to run a lot of 5Ks this summer since I couldn’t last year due to injuries.

 

“Failure to plan = planning to fail”, right? Well, I’ve been packing my gym clothes and my lunch every weekday.

016

The clementines and banana are always accompanied by something more substantial, but the fruits are always my mid-morning and afternoon snacks.

018

Like the gym bag I got from the Hilton? I LOVE IT! And the fact it came with my marathon package makes it even better! It reminds me of our glorious stay at the Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek every time I see it.

Having my lunch and gym clothes packed saves so much time from not running out to the store for lunch and from not having to run home before heading to the gym and risking the desire to just stay home. Plus, it gives me so much peace of mind knowing my day is planned out.

 

P.S. I added this to my Jeep tonight! (even though I think it’s grammatically incorrect)

008

Tomorrow’s weigh-in day, so check back to see how I did. I’ve been having nightmares about gaining my first week. But even if I do, I know I’m learning to live a healthier lifestyle. And I will NOT let those grumpy old hags weighing me in berate me for gaining. (We’re going to a new meeting location next week)

Now on to a yoga session on OnDemand.

Goodnight!

10 Responses to “350 Days”

  1. runninginpinkproject January 23, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I have those exact same cups and I take them to work daily too. 🙂 You will do fine at your weigh in! No stress. 🙂

  2. Nicci (NiftyEats) January 23, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    No doubt, you’ll do great come that next marathon. And i hope the WW meeting, at a new location will be awesome…full of encouraging people.

  3. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 23, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    You are going to do amazing! You’re an inspiration! 🙂

  4. jesseybell January 23, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    I am so glad you are getting to a new location for WW and hopefully it is much better!

    Your 350 day plan sounds great – starting from the bottom – you will do great!

  5. Caroline January 24, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Hey! I’m re-doing a couch to 5k kind of plan to get faster too! I’ve kind of fallen off on the last week… I blame snow 🙂
    So, if you know how to eat healthy and the leaders at your local WW are kind of lacking… why don’t you put your money into a personal trainer instead? I have no idea how much WW costs, but I know at my old gym there are various plans with how often you meet with a trainer and therefore you have a range of price options. Just a thought.

  6. Nicole January 24, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    I have been following your blog a bit for a few weeks and I really like it. I am a huge follower of Leslie at “And her little dog, too.” and I think that may be the way that I found you? Anyway, I wanted to share with you my experience at WW the last 4 weeks…I have done WW before and have gone to the meetings and been stared at by the older crowd, I tried to fit in, and I usually gave it my all for about 3 weeks, losing evey week, only to say forget it, I’d rather do anything else than hanging out with that weird crowd on S Broad St in Philadelphia in a random WW meeting. I just couldn’t relate. I was 30 and thought I was too cool. When people would tell me about doing it online, I thought “How could you hold yourself accountable? You weight yourself??” My scale varied about 4 pounds every day. It seemed to never be accurate. So I kinda thought it was a hoax. Now, I loved the idea of WW….don’t get me wrong. I really did and I knew that it worked because it has for so many women. One day I tracked everything I ate on a random Sunday and it was like 66 points!! I knew I needed to get back on track and really eat within my healthy limits.

    BUT…over the holidays I saw a cousin of mine who is about 22 and has always struggled with her weight. She lost a lot since I saw her last summer and I asked her what she had been doing. She said Weight Watchers! She told me how they revamped the entire program and the online version was “really cool and so easy” and also that she lost 17 pounds in 6 weeks. She was really cool about it, didn’t make a big deal, almost trying not to jinx herself. She knew she had about 30 pounds or so to go. I was inspired.

    SO, I started working at a hospital here in DC (I just moved in September from Philly) and realized that OMG…SInce the move, I had gained 7 solid pounds…and I was over 170, weighing in at 171 at 5’4. !!!!!

    I was shocked and horrified and shocked and did I mention shocked? Something must have been wrong medically? I started WW that night and this is the start of my 4th week today. I have lost 7 pounds so far. Consistently losing around 1.7-2.4 every week. I track everything online and stick with the plan. My goal weight is back to my healthy weight at about 145. SO we are in this together, and there is my plug for WW online!!

    The only thing you need to do if you chose to take the online route (which was just more my style, to my huge surprise) You need to make sure that every week, you weigh in somewhere at the same time. So I have one of our med techs weigh me in every monday morning when I get to work on the scale at the hospital. I trust him, I keep a log every week on WW online and plan to make this my way of life for some time now. I feel great on the plan and I know you will too. Also, my advice is to make the 0 point WW soup. It is the secret of WW. I am telling you!!

  7. Tiffany January 24, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    You go girl! Keep up the good work and yes you will be able to do much better next year. I know you can!

  8. Emily January 26, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    I’ve been very inspired by your story. I’m dealing with a knee injury right now and following along as you battled both knee issues and the plantar fasciitis, overcoming them both to run a half and a full marathon is inspiring! Great job on the loss this week!

  9. Uttoran Sen January 30, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    This is excellent, your weekly schedule is so inspiring. I have never run a marathon or anything of that sort. Wish you best of luck for the event.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 310 Days « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 4, 2011

    […] can’t believe it’s been 40 days since I wrote my “350 Days” post claiming I was going to lose 40 pounds at Weight Watchers, sell my soul to the Y, plan my […]

Leave a Reply

