Another Tragic WW Meeting

24 Jan

I was really hoping to come back here today with an awesomely positive post about my experience this week at Weight Watchers. No such luck.

Let’s start off with waiting in line to get weighed in. We heard the leader speak loud enough that we knew the weights of several of the members, and we know which ones stayed the same this week.

Then, I get up to a different lady to get weighed in. I see she writes down that I lost 0.2 this week. She then follows it up with “what did you do?” as if she thought I messed up. I responded with “everything right”. And she asked if I ate today, as if I should treat weigh-in day any differently than other days in order to see a loss. I’m sorry, but that’s not healthy.

Today’s meeting was about activity. The leader explained what you need to do before exercising including talking with your doctor, warming up, and stretching. If she’s saying you should talk to your doctor, then she should also not be giving out advice about stretching since it’s become known that stretching before exercise causes more harm than good.

I’m so over this leader. I sat in the Jeep and tried to call the 800 number to report her, but the wait time was long, and I was hungry! I’ll call later. You can bet your buttons!

Moving on. No more negativity!

So, the good news is… I lost! It may just be 0.2, but it’s something. But I weighed myself this morning on my own scale, and I lost 1.8 according to that. I’m happy with that. I will continue going to WW meetings for the next two weeks and at another location. After that, I’ll re-evaluate.

And now to add a smile to your face…

 

That is all.

14 Responses to “Another Tragic WW Meeting”

  1. Anne P January 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Stay positive, girl! You rock 🙂

  2. Devon (Run Sleep Rinse Repeat) January 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    I feel like WW is weight loss for beginners. I don’t think they understand that they have ATHLETIC, EDUCATED members. I almost feel like they need to market a separate set of meetings!

  3. Kelly January 24, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Keep up the good work Andrea! I had a really negative experience with weight watchers and quit, which was a big mistake. Report that leader and good luck with your new meeting location :-).

  4. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) January 24, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    I’m glad to hear you lost! She is just ridiculous and you don’t need her to do great things…obviously.

  5. Lisa January 24, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    I am so glad you are going to call and complain! That’s just uncalled for. Who needs that negativity? Find a new meeting location!

  6. Yokasta January 25, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    I’ve had a wonderful experience with WW. I lost 37 lbs on it and still counting. I’m glad you’re trying a different location. You mentioned she “wrote” down your weight. It sounds as though this is not a place where this the permanent WW Center. I personally prefer these. I have been to ones where they hold meetings at a Church basement; not a fan of those. But absolutely love my permanent WW Center. The place is computerized. The weight labels are printed each week, so there is no writing of your weight. But then again, I’m gadgety, so I’m sold on techy things 🙂 I would say you’re doing the right thing by checking out a new location. Just hang in there!!!

  7. Sarah January 25, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    GREAT JOB on your loss! That is awesome! Especially for your first week and getting adjusted to the program. My first few weeks were really difficult for me. Once I got into the routine, it became so much easier for me.
    Im not sure where you are going (obviously) but since they wrote down your loss, I am going to assume its not the actual center. I will also agree with Yokasta. I go to meetings at an actual WW center and I think that makes all the difference in the world. I tried going to the Y meetings, and the church meetings, and they were total crap to me. The ones I have been to at the actual center even with all the different leaders are a million times better.

  8. runeatreality January 26, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    i love your answer that you did “everything right!” i went to weight watchers with my stepmother in high school. i didn’t really like the program, although i know its changed a lot since then. i could not get over the weekly weigh-ins and i felt the women were judging me. now i am not concerned with a number on the scale but how my clothes are fitting.

  9. Barbara January 26, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Great job on the .2 lbs. Hope you can find a better experience at another meeting!

  10. Uttoran Sen January 30, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    am sorry to hear your bad experience with the leaders, the problem is that they start to talk things that does not support their qualifications. am just a blogger, but before i go into anything medical, i always try to consult it with my qualified friends to get the facts right. Also, it is quite disappointing to know that the weight measurement leader did not appreciate your .2 loss as anything good. If there is progress, a motivational smile helps, but rather if you are asked, “what did you do”… that is just lame.

    about people giving poor medical advice when they are not qualified to do so, and yes i have written quite a lot about it lately… and yet, your so-called leader is just another example of why we should keep at it.

    Am sure you will do good, and remember, every thing counts and adds up.

  11. Kelley January 30, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh boy, WW is making this difficult for you. But really it is just that rotten location and not the program. Don’t you love 0 point fruits and veggies? Great job on your weight loss. You are going in the direction you want.

  12. Stacie @ Imperfectly Healthy February 1, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I can’t believe the lady who weighed you! She must be slightly crazy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 310 Days « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - March 4, 2011

    […] Watchers was a huge let-down. I lost a few pounds, but I’ve gained it back. I really need to focus on eating better. I went […]

  2. Week One on Weight Watchers « Run, Eat, Date, Sleep - January 12, 2012

    […] despite my harsh criticism of Weight Watchers last year, I’m back on Weight Watchers, and I am loving it! The people in the meeting are extremely […]

Leave a Reply

