Recap of a Great Weekend

7 Feb

As you might already know, I went house hunting on Saturday. As much as I want to tell you all which one I’ve picked, I can’t tell you just yet. I saw four houses, and I narrowed it down to one. Now, I just need to get the commitment letter from the lender before making the offer.

On Sunday, Ellen and I had big plans!

We started off at the gym to run. She’s on week 3 of Couch to 5k, and I’m on week 2. I finished 2.32 miles in 29:30, a pace of 12:42. I didn’t drop below a 10 minute mile while running. Woohoo! Week 2 is 90 seconds of running with 2 minute walking intervals. The program calls for 20 minutes, but I did 30 minutes with a 5 minute warm-up and 5 minute cool-down.

treadmill

After running, Ellen taught me her 20-minute full-body weight lifting routine. It was awesome, and I’m feeling that “good sore” today.

We made our way to Starbucks for lunch where I got a tall iced raspberry no-fat latte and a roasted vegetable panini. Mmmmm!

starbucks lunch

We made it to the theater just in time for Black Swan!

black swan

Psychological thriller? They weren’t kidding! Natalie Portman did an amazing job, and she will certainly earn that Oscar! I was surprised to see Winona Ryder in the movie. I just didn’t picture her as the washed-up ballerina type. And I knew there would be some sort of lesbian scene, but I wasn’t expecting THAT!

After dinner, we had happy hour at Stingray, our all-time favorite sushi place. We started off with steamed edamame.

edamame

The Happy Hour special is buy one, get one free on select sushi rolls, so I got 2 rolls of Hairy Mexican, which is fried shrimp, avocado and spicy sauce inside topped with crab stick and eel sauce. Delicious! I added a third roll of Philly just to have leftovers.

hairymexican

Everything was delicious, and the service was outstanding as usual!

I didn’t have any desire to watch the Superbowl, so I caught up with Young and the Restless and Criminal Minds on the DVR. But I did read all about how people thought Christina and the Black Eyed Peas sucked. In regards to Christina botching up the lyrics, the girl is HUMAN! No one can be perfect all the time. I am certain she knows the words by heart, and the pressure got to her. I caught the clip of it this morning on The Today Show, and I really didn’t notice her mistake. I really have no opinion on the half-time show because I didn’t catch any of it.

(Sorry for the poor picture quality. I only had my iPhone.)

If you saw Black Swan, what were your thoughts?

4 Responses to “Recap of a Great Weekend”

  1. Krista February 8, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Hey, I just found your blog! Congratulations on your weight loss and good luck with your training! I look forward to reading more 🙂

    – Krista

  2. FruitFly February 8, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I LOVED Black Swan!! I will definitely own it when it comes out. Natalie is always a fabulous actress, but this one takes the cake. I left that movie wanting to be a skinny mini ballerina!

  3. silence182 February 8, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    I’m a little scared to see Black Swan, but I think I will see it eventually! I didn’t know you watched Y&R. I’m obsessed with that show!

  4. Anne P February 11, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Black Swan was SOOO intense. That’s the only word I can think of to describe it!

Leave a Reply

