310 Days

4 Mar

That’s right. There are 310 days until the 2012 WDW Marathon!

I can’t believe it’s been 40 days since I wrote my “350 Days” post claiming I was going to lose 40 pounds at Weight Watchers, sell my soul to the Y, plan my meals and workouts, and rebuild my speed and endurance from the very beginning.

Weight Watchers was a huge let-down. I lost a few pounds, but I’ve gained it back. I really need to focus on eating better. I went back to my journals from when I lost 25 pounds, and I’m trying to mimic my eating habits from then. I’ve given up my high calorie breakfast of peanut butter and jam on toast and am now drinking Green Monsters instead.

(picture from last February)

And I’m trying to eat less carbs for lunch and dinner, and I’ve limited eating out.

The Y has seen much more of me as I’ve been completing Couch to 5K. I’m on Week 5 already, and I’ve gained so much speed! I’m now running at a 9:20-10:00 pace! That’s totally out of my comfort zone. I feel a sub-30 minute 5K coming this summer!!! I’ve also started incorporating a full-body weight lifting workout. I can tell the leg exercises have made my legs so much stronger to run! And I’m now getting my membership for me since I’m now working there part-time!

I’ve been really good about packing my lunches and packing my workout clothes so I can go straight to the gym after work.

Ok, I must start studying for a test I have to take early tomorrow morning for my job. I just thought I’d give you an update on my training plan! It’s going well!!! 🙂

6 Responses to “310 Days”

  1. Ash Bear March 4, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    I’m sorry Weight Watchers didn’t work out but hopefully you can lose it on your own! Good luck!

  2. Emily March 4, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    I’m really intruiged about the Couch to 5K program – I’ve heard several people doing it and liking it. That is awesome you’ve gained so much speed!!

  3. Melissa March 5, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Still lots of time before the Disney Marathon. But great that you’re already focused on the race. Running Disney is one of my favorite things to do. I want to run the Wine and Dine race again this fall.

  4. Cassie March 6, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    I’m glad it’s going well! Keep up the hard work!

  5. Krista March 6, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    I could make my breakfast so much lower-cal if I cut out the stupid peanut butter; I can’t eat my oatmeal with out it! It just tastes soo good….

  6. Alison March 8, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    Andrea,

    I have been obsessively reading your blog since discovering it a few days ago — you rock! I am SO glad you are going to tackle the WDW Marathon next year, you have a great plan and a great attitude. I was super impressed (and inspired!) by your recap of this year’s marathon, and I’m looking forward to following along through this year’s training.

    I am totally new at this racing thing, but I hope to do the Wine and Dine in October and *maybe* trying to run the full Disney Marathon in October. Disney races are the best!

Leave a Reply

